Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I was placed on 120 mg Verapamil once a day in April of 2007. For going on 8 years on the same dosage my BP remained at safe levels. I had minimal side effects and can only report excessive sweating out and in doors an issue not present before taking this Medication. I have experienced mild constipation which I remedy with yogurt Activia with live cultures, and I eat plenty of fruit.I also have an...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I now have lupus of the skin.

Shared reviews and ratings

Joel | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Prevention of Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in and out of the ER for heart palpitations for two years. I underwent two cardiac ablations but they were unable to rid me of my condition. I have a specific type of PSVT called BVT so they switched me from my previous medication to Verapamil. I am on 180 mg every day in the morning and I find that it works very well, I don't have long episodes, and the side effects are minimal for me just the occasional headache and tiredness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
welluntilnow | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Froze my large intestine so I had to use suppositories to have a bowel movement. Got off after 3 days. Never had a problem like that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retired teacher | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/11/2021
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Retired teacher. Began having vascular headaches in high school. Tried everything from eye glasses to anxiety meds. Nothing worked. My local doctor in early 70s diagnosed it as vascular headaches but had no good med for it. Only relief was strong pain meds but did not stop attacks. The headaches were very debilitating. I would have to lie down in a dark room for several hours. Often had to leave work because of the headaches. About 35 years ago another doctor diagnosed me with same as earlier doctor. Vascular headaches. These can be caused by weather changes, certain foods, stress,etc. He put me on 240 mg of verapamil. As meds kicked in the headaches went away. Later cut meds to 120 mg per day. I have been virtually free of these headaches since then. I went from several headaches per month to I cannot remember when I had my last one. I am concerned about the long term effects of this med, but this is the last med I will stop taking unless something better is out there. Cheap and effective. It gave me my life back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ed M. | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eleven years ago, a Doctor prescribed verapamil to control my blood pressure. After one month of daily usage, during a morning jog, I was suddenly thrown to my knees by a pounding arrhythmia that sent me to the hospital. I was immediately taken off the drug and given a battery of tests to determine what happened. Although the arrhythmia was verified during a stress test, as a runner, I've never had any heart problems before the verapamil. To this date, I suffer from arrhythmia, though at a much reduced intensity and frequency. Verapamil caused a permanent arrhythmia, for which I've just learned from another Doctor that there is no treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
semloh | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Verapamil for more than 15 years. It works. I don't have horrible side-effects that I have had from other BP meds. It is interesting to read that other people have had problems... back to every BODY is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/18/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on verapamil for over 30 years. Taken for vascular headaches. Fantastic results. No headache in years. (Unless some doctor tries to take me off and put me on newer drug.) cheap,effective,works well for me. 40 years teaching high school very high stress also keeps blood pressure at normal levels. One caveat to this med. Every insurance company or doctor thinks I have a high blood pressure problem. Have to explain why I use verapamil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blueskygal | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on verapamil for 16 years and works great and not expensive. I sometimes take an adfitional dose when i have afib and it calms my heart rate done. I take losartan and aspirin and thats it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

don't work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible terribe side effects. Weird loud noises in stomach. Bowel incontinence, constipation. It took about six months to recover and my innards were permanently changed so I have to take miralax every day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/15/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't take this drug the side effects are terrible. Constipation, dry eyes and mouth. Swelling hands and feet. Weight gain, hair loss. numbness and tingling of the hands, face and lower extremities. Terrible sinus issues. I was taking it for migraines. Chronic insomnia and then central sleep apnea - cause unknown. I believe that it is caused by this medication. The longer I took it the more symptoms appeared. 2008 to 2014

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lgcs3959 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not taking enough yet, but it helps with my depression and small heart palpitations

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
apredenfieldil | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did help cut down my migraines, but it caused a horrible mood type disorder. I was pissed off and angry all of the time, everything set me off (and I'm normally an easy going person.) I took the meds for a month and finally thought the mood issue may be related to this medication so I stopped it and the very next morning my normal easy going mood was back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
butwhat | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/30/2016
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my heart rate runs from 35 to well over 100 bpm I only take Verapamil when I have high heart rate. It is one of the few medications that I do not have an allergic reaction to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grant | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/9/2016
Condition: Cluster Headache Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe cluster headaches since about the time I turned 21. First and second major bouts were dealt with swiftly with the administration of moderate doses of Prednisone. My second most recent bout (2015), didn't respond to major doses of Prednisone and my neurologist decided to give Verapamil a try. It has kept my headaches at bay, taking 80mg 3x/day, but recently I have begun another sever bout. Upping the dose to 120 3x/day at first decreased the severity of pain from the headaches from an average of 8/10 to a 4/10. Over the last few days, I have been cluster free, just from upping the dose for a week. I think this drug is amazing. Also, shots of Sumatriptan are the only other way I've found relief, but I'd rather take a preventative drug than a responsive one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brieanna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/20/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can Lt cause edema

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Treadmillfixer | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/3/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After many echo grams and stress test to find out why I would suddenly feel like passing out. My NEW cardio doc told me to take it at night before bed. It worked, but it still doesn't bring down my blood pressure too much 178/82

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krupa444 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2015
Condition: Prevention of Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took 480 out of hospital,got pounding in my head, lowered down to 240 worked but pounding came back, lowered to 120 worked for a while pounding came back. also in addition was taking 50 metoprolol with verapmil, continue extreme pulse like sensation in head. No relief from doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
faithworks | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 240MG of this medication since 1996 when I was diagnosed with 2 Cerebral Aneurysms. It was prescribed for High Blood Pressure and to prevent a Stroke. My blood Pressure has been fine and no strokes in all these (BLESSED) years. I again was diagnosed with 1 Cerebral Aneurysm in 2007.I continue to take this medication and I am great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More