Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

I'm a veteran diagnosed with PTSD, depression, and anxiety. During a s severe period of hypervigilance and insomnia I was hospitalized at the VA and prescribed this medication to help me sleep. It worked and I slept for nearly 30 hours. I take 50mg as needed for sleep and anxiety/panic attacks. It also helps with my congestive heart failure allowing me to use less lorazepam. The only drawback for...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

This medication does not work for bipolar disorder or depression and should be look at by the FDA because to many doctors are giving this medication to treat these conditons. Hydroxyzine is a antihistamine and should be given for that condition only. Many of us are told by our doctors that this medication will help us with our depression and bipolar disorder to which this is untrue.Congress needs...

Shared reviews and ratings

Lemonparade | 55-64 | Female | Patient
10/14/2021
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taken off clonazepam and given this crap. It does nothing! Withdrawal from clonazepam has been brutal. Anxiety is off the charts, haven't slept more than an hour here and there. Doctors are idiots for prescribing this for severe anxiety and insomnia. They are so afraid of addiction to a med. so they take you off what works and give you a placebo and let you be miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elena | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/23/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for 2 years prescribed over a course of treatment by 3 Aprn's. Each one i told them that this med doesn't work for my anxiety. It doesn't even touch it. Finally I got a psychiatrist that i trusted and told him that and please don't give this to me for anxiety. He explained that it works for mild anxiety, not the extreme anxiety i experience. He had no problem prescribing 1 mg of Klonopin 2 times per day. I came back a month later and I told him how much different it made in my life. I am not addicted, but feel really functional again. His final words on Visteral was " I never prescribe that in my practice. It is not a psychotropic med and the only way he'd ever prescribe it was for itching and skin rash. He also told me that he was disappointed that so many dr's prescribe this and I swear the minute i take Klonopin I feel better. No anxiety. No matter what happens or what conflicts i have i can rely on Klonopin to bring me back to my baseline! BOOOOO Hydroxyzine! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nevinc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/22/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within an hour anxiety symptoms reduce or are completely relieved. Help me sleep and stay asleep throughout the night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PersonalPhd | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Out of all medications treating anxiety on an 'as needed' basis, this has been phenomenal. I have moderately-intense anxiety and this medication quiets things down to a manageable volume level. It is safe, non-habit forming, and fast acting. Side effects are mostly noticeable only when I go looking for them, but they are minor. I've been on the entire spectrum of psychotropic medication, and trust me, this one is worth a shot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emoly | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering do to depersonalization and my anxiety keeping me up all night. I had a major panic attack at night and that was forcing me to stay up because I was afraid it would happen again. It got to the point I went into the ER and this is what they gave me. I first took 2 pills in the hospital and they did calm my anxiety down a lot. I was a bit drowsy but I still had a hard time sleeping the first night. However it pretty much knocked me out at some point. Second night I only took one pill and was able to sleep 10 hours and felt pretty good the following day. Third night I took one pill again except this time I woke up and felt afraid to go back to sleep after something that happened in my dreams as they were very vivid. I settled myself down after a little but the dreams I had weren’t scary but just seemed very real more than usual. And depersonalization anxiety already makes you feel like your in a dream like state ??. So I might try to go without it for tonight as I just don’t love the feeling it is giving me. Or I might only take half a pill. Overall it does help with anxiety though. Just weird side effects Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E.D | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the medicine as an emergency anxiety medicine as well as for bedtime. I normally experience crippling anxiety attacks when heading to bed. While taking this medicine it calms me down and i can fall asleep faster without the rushing thoughts. I was prescribed to take this one to two times daily and i am on 50MG. Although if you take it late at night you may experience drowsiness in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yteixna | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/11/2020
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on this since middle school and would barely take it for my panic attacks due to being on Paxil but now getting older my panic attacks have been ramping up and becoming even worse sadly this medication was prescribed by my doctor and it now seems ineffective. I am on .25mg doses for my attacks which when I was younger would put me right out to sleep and make me feel well rested and tired groggy but now that Iâ??m 20 and older the effects have somewhat changed on me. Now Iâ??m having issues with heart pains stomach pains sleeplessness irritability and I even started taking two to see if upping the does might help and it seemed to make it worse even tho the first two times seemed to help now Iâ??m awake all night and canâ??t sleep. Not to mention it makes you feel like a living emotionless robot I donâ??t feel like I care anymore or have a reason on this drug like no motivation anymore and canâ??t seem to find my way almost like being continuously confused. If you get prescribed this drug I would highly advise you to switch before you have the same issues as I do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
3/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i wanted to sleep all day. laid down twice. it was trrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roby | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped me sleep. Calmed me down. Able to keep my mind from racing 24 hours a day. Able to take this as needed which I liked as I dont need anxiety RX daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
This pill made me paranoid and nervous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If there is a drug, made in hell by the devil himself it must be this one. The doctor prescribed it in order to help with the insomnia that I have been suffering with during the last 15 years. I was taking Restoril and had been doing just fine. Last night was the first night I took the Hydroxyzine Pamoate 50 mg. and one hour later I had rapid heartbeat, anxiety, tightness of the chest, could not fall asleep and when I did the nightmares were horrible. Today I have been in a brain fog all day, nonstop eating and am afraid of driving. Will never take another one these pills and do not recommend it to anybody. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helpme | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2018
Condition: Inflammation of Skin caused by an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has not helped with allergies or aniety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had similar effects to marijuana. definitely calmed me down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Worksit | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know about you, but I get twitches and itches with anxiety and this clears it up. I do not take this on a daily basis, only when I feel like I have itching or twitches. It works. I'm not sure why people give this to people as a replacement for depression or anxiety meds otherwise. But for itching it totally works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sunkissedbecca | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2017
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on clozapine for 10 years to treat anxiety and PTSD but I'm currently without it so I went to urgent care due to my withdrawal symptoms (can cause seizures) and the attending doctor put me on this 4xdaily to lessen my symptoms, I've been taking them for a week and am miserable. I still walk with an enlarged gate, very dry mouth and nose, trouble with my vision and my stomach is mad at me for taking it. If you are currently prescribed this medication to help with clozapine withdrawl in order to competly avoid taking clozapine I would strongly suggest tapering off clozapine (consult with your doctor) I have not been able to function, drive, work or be as involved with my childres school as I'd like to be. I don't feel it kicking in and calming everything down so I can sleep. But, if you are newly being treated for anxiety or PTSD I would give it a shot and avoid clozapine as it is physically addictive weather or not you have an addictive personality Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/19/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall calms my anxiety attacks down after I take it and helps stop my crying sometime doesn't work effectively if I take it so far along into my attacks.I was also prescribed it one to two times daily as needed for anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hmr | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on various depression meds for last 5 years. Lexapro made me more aggressive, was on it maybe 2 months. Went to psychiatrist for the first time, he started wellbutrin and sertraline for depression. Helped some, but side effects. Went to wellbutrin and cymbalta. Cymbalta worked pretty well, but felt a little drugged sometimes, not to mention the constant constipation. My psychiatrist then diagnosed that anxiety was also a component of my issues. He upped my cymbalta, which helped some, but got to where I didn't like the way I felt on that dosage. Finally started seeing the VA doctor after my psychiatrist was hospitalized (no, he wasn't mentally ill). The first psychiatrist I saw there put me on the hydroxyzine pamoate with the wellbutrin. I thought, yeah, right, just an antihistamine, figures, it is something cheap the government would prescribe. But, always wanting to obey the doctor, I gave it a try. No improvement immediately, but 2 or 3 months after I started, I began to feel different, more peaceful, but not drugged. AS time went on, I felt even better, and am thankful the doctor put me on it. I was able to survive a tumultuous period on my job with a new supervisor and maintain my composure, even for 6 months of hell, until things worked out. I would have exploded in the same situation on the old meds. Also, since I am less anxious, my concentration seems to have improved. I'm on 25mg twice a day. I'm not drowsy like I thought I'd be. I'm just overall happier. Still have some anxiety and depression, but I don't feel so hopeless anymore. Anyway, for what it's worth, hope this helps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

going off kolopin due to hospital test this is no help for my anxiety what is the point in this drug for me going crazy no help at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tlb | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think doctors need to quit giving patients an "Antihistamine" to treat Anxiety. This is just absolutely wrong!! So, you want to DRY Our Sinuses out in order to effectively treat Our Anxiety?? This is misuse I would say!! USE the Antianxiety medications... it is not fair for those of us who need medication... do too Junkies Misusing Medications!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relaxed | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it for nausia. It soothes my stomache and I feel relaxed. 25mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dick lesh | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. gave me this to replace Lorazepam. It works ok but not as well a little dry mouth and after reading some of these reviews I think my vision is a little blurry, and I am short of breath.only been on it for a month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More