Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Had very high b/p and needed to take meds. Worked closely with dr. until we figured out what was effective. That's the secret! Been on 80-12.5 plus metoproplol/tart50mg. and have gotten it under control. Take control of your health people! Do some homework! If you need to, get a new dr.!

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

caused severe cough and sore throat

Shared reviews and ratings

Jackie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/31/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been just over a week since taking and I have had headaches, lightheadedness, and not much energy. Prior I felt stronger but Med. for B.P was failing. Dr. switched me to this and I feel worse. I don't do well on meds. It dosen't take much to upset my functions, I tend to be allergic to many things.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moemoney | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication seems to work well with the other drugs that I am taking with very little side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/18/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med. has been recalled for containing a cancer causing ingredient. it was o.k. until made in china.causes joint pain and aches all over body..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/24/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been recalled.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kricker | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/18/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The diuretic adds a few more trips to the bathroom per day. That inconvenience is more than offset by the consistently good blood pressure control (115-110 over 80-70) each measurement) I'm getting. Absolutely no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NO side effects at all, had bad heart palpitations on Lisinopril so they switched me to Valsartan. No issues since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WMK0877 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This wasn't the first drug they tried me out on, but it was the first one that worked well and didn't give me any side effects. I have an extensive family history of hypertension, and so far this drug has been wonderful for controlling mine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Russ H. | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/17/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had very high b/p and needed to take meds. Worked closely with dr. until we figured out what was effective. That's the secret! Been on 80-12.5 plus metoproplol/tart50mg. and have gotten it under control. Take control of your health people! Do some homework! If you need to, get a new dr.!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
valsartan/hctz 160mg/12.5mg | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High pitch ringing in my ears also light headed and constant pressure feeling in my ears.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lfine2 | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/12/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually take my BP medication right before I go to bed, but this generic version of Diovan causes my mouth to go so dry that my tongue feels swollen and my mouth so cotton dry I can't sleep. I have irregular heart beats and palpation's, I can't take it anymore, it is awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/21/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use the valsatan-HTZ80/12.5. watch the manufacturer. cigina switched, was feeling honorably for two months. realized what is was. I had to find somewhere hoe had the right manufacturer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from 160 mg of Diovan to generic Valsartan, same dosage. Within a couple of weeks, bp spikes increased and was sick with nausea for over a week. My doctor switched me back to the brand name and the nausea stopped and bp leveled out. Valsartan does not work for me. I'm paying an extra $500 a year for the brand name but I'm lucky that I have that option.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nor Cal | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/6/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heart palpations, extreme weakness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
farm girl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/21/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Insurance switched me from Diovan to Valsartan, I experienced heart palpatations, headaches, hearing my heartbeat in my ears, and dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately, I did not discover the switch from Diovan to this generic for quite some time; during which I have suffered from erratic and very high bp, not to mention other symptoms such as nausea, stiff joints, muscle pains, fatigue, etc. This generic drug has caused me enormous grief, physically and emotionally! I am trying to get back on Diovan asap!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
french48 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/17/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood pressure has gone way up. I didn't realize my pharmacy switched this until I went to doc with coughing and chest issues. I have also noticed dizziness and nausea. Switching back. You can get a card for $4 through Diovan. Do not take these meds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
valsartan hctz 160/25 | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having coughs about 3 to 4 times a day sometimes about 3 4 hours apart, cough two/three times then ok. Is coughing associated with Valsartan??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Branny | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/22/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have decreased urination,itching a lot, drymouth. I asked the dr to change the medication, but she says you are doing fine on it. I drink a lot of fluids counting milk, water and tea (one cup). At times, ihave palpitations and have taken 250mg. Of magnesium. Blood work showed low onmagnesium. Going to have it checked agai . One GP Dr told me not to drink a lot of water when my Ankles were swollen

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/12/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't know why my legs twitch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lulularson1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to change from DiovanHCT TO GENERIC valsartan HTC as my insurance refused to pay for Diovan. GENERIC caused BP 15 points higher, water retention, migraines increased from once a month to almost everyday. Report to FDA!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More