Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

Crazy people. Aspartame has not been found to cause any health effects. It is a low calorie sweetener 200 times sweeter than sugar and therefore is used in extremely small amounts. The acceptable daily intake is only 50 milligrams per kilogram. That's about 20 cans of diet soda a day for a 165 pound adult. The ADI is set way below what is actually thought to cause harm so I'd like to know who i...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Is it safe to use aspartame in peach tea? It is used in "Great Value", at Walmart stored, and is also used in Crystal Lite, in other stores. I just want to know if it is safe?

Shared reviews and ratings

bunnihouse | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
9/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I tried aspartame was when Crystal Light switched from whatever sweetener they had been using to aspartame. I became extremely dizzy, and this continued any time I ate or drank something with aspartame. Alka-Seltzer Cold Plus switched to aspartame, I not only became dizzy but threw up. Needless to say, I do not consume anything with aspartame now. If you are a fan of it, I highly suggest you look up the original study on it done at Arizona State University. (I've read it.) Aspartame was not going to be approved by the FDA because of so many bad side effect, but someone had to have paid money under the table to get it approved. A friend's mom used to drink diet soda like there was no tomorrow, and now she has dementia. We have no doubt that it is from the excessive aspartame consumption. My dad also used to drink diet soda when he was borderline diabetic, and he has dementia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Txtraveler | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aspartame assisted me greatly in losing over 50 pounds of excess weight during a 6 month diet, by letting me use soft drinks or similar fluids to suppress my appetite and reduce my calorie intake. I did experience headaches when drinking large amounts (over 3 quarts) of aspartame sweetened drinks on hot days. Lesser amounts didn't cause any side-effects. On the other hand, the information available on the WedMD site concerning aspartame is less that useless...it's amazing to me that they even bother to name it on this page.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ASPARTAME is found in THOUSANDS of different foods.you don't know that because there are many different names for it. I started taking Aspartame alittle more then I was already and the problems I had increased big time. what I thought was fibromyalgia was just to much intake of this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
christoph | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been trying to cut back on sugar. I started using aspartame for a month. It caused mouth watering, increased headaches, acid build up, increased knee pain. I felt sick all the time and could sleep because of the side effects. This is a very unsafe sugar sub. I found a Harvard study that listed more side effect; such as blood cancer and strokes, also depression, etc... So if you do some digging you will find more studies the prove aspartame to be very toxic... Other stubies that claim it to be safe are payed by corporate companies That down play the drug because it is cheaper and puts more money in their pocket...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Crazy people. Aspartame has not been found to cause any health effects. It is a low calorie sweetener 200 times sweeter than sugar and therefore is used in extremely small amounts. The acceptable daily intake is only 50 milligrams per kilogram. That's about 20 cans of diet soda a day for a 165 pound adult. The ADI is set way below what is actually thought to cause harm so I'd like to know who is consuming truckloads of raw aspartame daily. I have (rather unhealthily) been drinking about 5 cans of diet soda a day. I do not have any health effects that cannot be linked to others causes. The only harm that diet soda has caused me is an urinary tract infection I got from the caffeine and carbonation in the soda. I have consumed such large amounts of caffeine that is causes me to have insomnia, fatigue, and headaches. Aspartame is completely safe for consumption and the amino acids that compose it, such as phenylalanine, are commonly found in meats, vegetables, and dairy products. The FDA, JECFA, WHO, FAO, and all the other organizations that have approved aspartame know what they're talking about. (I've done a ton of research on this so trust me.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wonder what monies are being paid out by the Aspartame industry to keep the FDA's, and certain Aspartame cheerleader's, mouths shut. It is CLEAR that this ingredient causes adverse side effects in a lot of people. For me, I bought some suger-free gum out of a whim (I usually don't buy it), chewed some daily for about a week, noticing over the course of the week I was experiencing nausea and headaches. I finally remembered I had read articles a couple years ago of the drug's possible side effects, and promptly stopped chewing the gum. Within a day my headaches and nausea stopped. Also, my girlfriend had some unexplained gastrointestinal problems a couple years ago and we finally realized the diet drinks she was consuming contained Aspartame, after finding a warning on the label. Just as an experiment, she stopped drinking the drinks to see what, if anything, improved. Her symptoms stopped within days! No matter what the pro-Aspartame pundits say, STAY AWAY FROM ASPARTAME! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used instead of sugar due to diabets

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Silver | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from a myriad of symptoms over the years that included but not limited to, slurred speech, migraine headaches, fatigue, pain in the joints, fibromialgia, back pain and panic attacks. I used to chew mint flavored gum at least three times a day and a friend of mine had listened to the troubles I was having back in 2001. She asked to look at the package and informed me about the risks associated with aspartame. I decided to talk to my doctor about the issues I was having and he suggested that I refrain from taking the product. Under his advice, I did so and I felt an improvement within a day with the migraines gone in about a week. Ever since I had avoided taking the product, I am no longer in need of my panic attack medication and I no longer need a sleep aid. After about a year of not using the product and I had confirmed for myself that aspartame is not recommended, I noticed that a friend who was drinking diet sodas often was suffering from the same issues. I asked her to refrain from using it for a week and see if her symptoms improved. She confirmed this as well and therefore I am willing to place money that aspartame is linked to neurological deficiencies that could result in further complications later in life with prolonged use. The same goes with monosodium glutamate which is still being used in restaurants. The FDA should be regulated to keep chemicals marked as flavor enhancers out of the consumer's reach. Out of personal experience, I do not recommend this product. Period. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Panic Attack | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/29/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aspartame caused me panic attacks, tremor, insomnia. It is truly unbelievable how this artificial sweetener is allowed by the FDA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/22/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using aspartame in my ice tea. I was having problems getting dizzy and passing out. After many tests including a 72 hour fast in the hospital where nothing was found because I was not using aspartame. My local doctor found I was having a reaction to the aspartame. It was causing my pancreas to pump out to much insulin. I was going into hypoglycemia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marla | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/11/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using aspartame to lose some weight 5 yrs ago. I drink about 2 gallons of sweetened w/ aspartane tea per day. Use aspartame to sweet tart fruit, coffee and any other cold items. In the last 3 yrs have had health lots of new health issues that are getting worse. Heard about a lawsuit against aspartame & looked it up. All the health issues are listed as symptoms of aspartame poisioning. I have stopped using it. It has been 2 days without so I don't know the full extent of the chemical detox. I have a 13 yr old who has been using the aspartame and his ADHD became so bad 2.5 yrs ago that he had to begin taking medication to control it. We will see how much changes without the use of aspartame. I am really amazed that the US FDA approves chemicals like this for consumption by humans. How much are the aspartame distributors & makers contributing to the FDA? I am planning on adding my son & myself to the class action lawsuit. I have spent thousands of $$ to find out what is wrong with me and am told they can't find anything. I am lucky I saw the add on TV concerning Aspartame as one of the side effects is Death. Symptoms I have are but not limited to the following: depression, irritation, same as musclar sclerosis, fibromialgia, lupus, extreme sleepiness, fatigue, migraine headaches, weight gain, stomach pain, loss of balance, focus & memeory loss. Please do not use this chemical.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krebnitz | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using this product I have developed some physical problems, including symptoms of peripheral neuropathy. During the winter I consumed large amounts of aspartame in hot decaf coffee to keep my body warm. I suffer from Reynaud's syndrome and will lose circulation in my hands at cool temperatures (50F and below). I began to experience extreme fatigue and inability to sleep well. I had heard that aspartame might be the culprit but did not believe that. Finally after 3 months of heavy daily consumption of this I was almost too tired to work. I could barely complete my jobs. I read a book by Shane Ellison called Over the Counter Natural Cures and decided to abstain from aspartame. I immediately felt some better but by the next week I was able to complete my work without the extreme fatigue. I believe I am still suffering ill effects and would not recommend the consumption of this product to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boo | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/19/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been an unsual experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guinnypig | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In checking on the effects of Aspertame and Phenylalanine, both of which are ingredients in Red Bull. I wonder what the FDA is really doing when they review products and their contents befor giving them the ok for public consumption. Capitalism at its best. Notice this site wont give any hard information.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aton36 | 45-54 | Male | Caregiver
1/24/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAve tried diet products with aspartame and experience severe depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/3/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Is it safe to use aspartame in peach tea? It is used in "Great Value", at Walmart stored, and is also used in Crystal Lite, in other stores. I just want to know if it is safe?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More