Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

This is the first time that I have taken Fragmin. I have taken Heprin shots back in 2000 when I was pregnant. When I saw my new hemotalogist dr yesterday they stated that I sohuld have never been taken off of stronger antiquaqulants. By God help during the past 8 years I was only taking Low-Dose Aspirin. I am thankful that I did not have any blood clots really effect my life. I have had blood clot...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I am 37 years old and at age 33 my mitrol valve ruptured. My valve was replaced with a mechanical st. jude. I have been and will always be on coumadin for the rest of my life except now because I am pregnant. I have switched over to Fragmin injections in place of the coumadin and now take daily injections to insure the safety of my baby. My concern is how the Fragmin is monitored, how the doct...

Shared reviews and ratings

RR | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/5/2013
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had DVT and pulmonary embolism. I tried warafin but had allergic reaction which included my hands swelling and symmetrical hives up and down my body. Went to coumadin and still had hives so Dr. put me on the Fragmin injectables. My wife gives them to me as I hate giving myself shots. They caused a lot of bruising in the abdomen. We have found a place in the buttocks where the leg and buttocks meet that is less painful for me and causes very little bruising. The shots have been effective and I have had no side effects. Don't like the idea of daily shots but it's better then the reactions I had to the pills. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Vein Thrombosis in Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have metastatic cancer and had pulmonary embolism. Started on Fragmin over 2 years ago with no side effects and no further clots. It is easy to use and has worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2010
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fragmin has been very effective in precenting blood clots and strokes. The injection can be painful at times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chaosaxiom | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/25/2010
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As someone who has had well over 100 DVT's, a multitude of superficial clots, and 8 PE's, with a History of various medications including Coumadin (Warfarin), Heparin, and Lovenox, I am thankful for this Medicine. As with Coumadin I had a gradual progression over 10yrs. until I was taking an average dose of 35mg daily, with certain periods where My dose went as high as 50mg daily. I had a vicious cycle of clotting and bleeding, once having an occluded accute DVT and an elevated 14.9 INR simultaneously. Heparin didn't have the required effect unless via IV and I was allergic to Lovenox, suffering severe hematomas and bleeding at the injection sites, so Fragmin has been a blessing. The 1 downside is the hematomas from the 14,000 unit injections every 12 hours.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimberjoy65 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had emergency surgery to repair a triple fracture in the ankle bone after a dislocation from the tibula. I have been taking the Fragmin for 19 days so far, and have no adverse reactions or difficulties. I am required to refrain from putting any weight on the ankle until it has healed enough for that step... and then I can stop taking the Fragmin. The surgeon may recommend that I stop the Fragmin when I see him for follow-up next Tuesday at the outpatient clinic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
menagerie | 65-74 | Male | Patient
8/4/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male UK citizen. 69 years young. Retired. Non-smoker, non-drinker, no drugs, exceptionally healthy outdoor lifestle. Normally very fit (several marathons). On my boat visitng Liverpool when I noticed extreme shortness of breath over 2 days. Woke morning of 3rd day with excessive chest/lung pain on left side. To excellent main hospital. Analgesic for pain then emergency treatment analysed it was pulmonory embolism in both lungs! Immedaitely given Fragmin (LMWH) 18,000IU. Subcutaneous in stomach wall. Pain decreasing within 6 hours. Injection was painful and caused subq bleeding in stomach wall. Analysis and injections continued for 3 more days. [Important note: Do NOT give/take injection in previously used spot! VERY painful (but 5 mins only) and extends subq bleeding.] By morning of 4th day clots were breaking up and pain reduced to low passive level. [Definitely try NOT to cough or sneeze!!] Final injection on 4th day followed by initial low level Warfarin. Effects of that yet to be examined!? Reasons for embolism still a mystery to everyone even after extensive scanning and tests. Possibly due to thrombosis resulting from long car (3-hour) journeys without breaks? Overall efficacy = Excellent/recommend More care with injection recommended. Effects with Warfarin still to be seen?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aalex72 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first time that I have taken Fragmin. I have taken Heprin shots back in 2000 when I was pregnant. When I saw my new hemotalogist dr yesterday they stated that I sohuld have never been taken off of stronger antiquaqulants. By God help during the past 8 years I was only taking Low-Dose Aspirin. I am thankful that I did not have any blood clots really effect my life. I have had blood clots in the veins of my left eye back in summer of 2001. I didn't really like the idea of going back on shots or warafin but I am needing to do this form because I am getting ready to have major surgery (Lung Biopsy). After the biopsy I am to go on the pill form warafin. So even if you think you can't do the shots now, in the long run it is well worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2008
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 27 I was in a motorcycle acident and lost my left leg and severly damaged my right leg my right leg has ben in a cast for two months and I have ben taking these shots since then and my belly is getting rilley brused can i put the shots in anywhare else

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tlsugar | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 37 years old and at age 33 my mitrol valve ruptured. My valve was replaced with a mechanical st. jude. I have been and will always be on coumadin for the rest of my life except now because I am pregnant. I have switched over to Fragmin injections in place of the coumadin and now take daily injections to insure the safety of my baby. My concern is how the Fragmin is monitored, how the doctors know when to increase or decrease the dose? My doctors here in NJ are not very confident to me. Now I am experiencing some sort of rash reaction and want to know if this is common? This entire process during pregnancy is very scary.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolyn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on the liver transplant list and have a st.judes heart valve. My liver is not processing coumadin and am now taking fragmin to keep bloodclots from forming I take numerous meds including digoxin . Should I be taking digoxin with fragmin? My liver is in endstge. I was given a blood transfusion when i was 17 (some 35 years ago) and was given blood with hep-c and need a new liver. I had the valve put in because of regurgitation on my heart valve. Any advice on the bloodthinner is appreciated. I will be taking fragmin until after the transplant and then back to coumadin as then i will have a liver that will process the meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More