Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

Dr had me on multiple meds from Ace Inhibirors to Calcium Channel etc. Nothing worked. Finally, put on Maxide and BP returned to normal within 3 weeks. Has been controlled with no perceptible side-effects for 8 years. I recommend this drug over any other. Also controls swelling. PS: It is generic, so some Dr's try to get you to take specific other ones, if you know what I mean.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Maxzide does lower my BP but not enough. Also, I experience severe fatigue and dizziness less than an hour after taking this med.

Shared reviews and ratings

maxide | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
10/16/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only problems and it is what it is suppose to,make me urinate frequently

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for Ménière's disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nana Susan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/30/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is a small tablet, easy to swallow. I've had no major side effects and my HTN is under control. The only issue seems to be a need to urinate for the first 3-4hrs after taking it, but if one plans their waking times accordingly, it is not a major issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rae | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to stop taking it because i started having terrible lower back pai which i could only link to taking this one medication. I felt a lot of pain and pressure. Also, I have lupus which could be affecting my body more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mtlmstr | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this to try for Meniere's Disease and have only taken one pill so far but that day I was dizzy ALL day, had a terrible headache and on the verge of nausea most of the day and really tired. I am scared to take it again. Maybe a half pill....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/31/2013
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trial and Error | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maxzide does lower my BP but not enough. Also, I experience severe fatigue and dizziness less than an hour after taking this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/6/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using maxzide for many years and have had excellent results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimyzee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/21/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been using for a long time, very satisfied but lost my ins carrier, now, out of meds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missinggary | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2012
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked great to reduce the swelling in my feet and ankles. I have had fewer problems with kidneystones since I started taking it and have lost 28 pounds since I started taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking for about 5 yrs. Recently BP was 200/120. Went to ER. Found out I was in kidney failure due to Maxzide. Beware if taking this drug....check renal function often!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/7/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

causes cold fingers and toes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judo3254 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/10/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
webmd.com | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/16/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tobian | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2011
Condition: Visible Water Retention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taken off this medication because Giant Eagle Pharmacy could not fill my prescription because they did not have the medicines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/11/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Maxzide for between 5 and 10 years. It was prescribed for high blood pressure but it has been wonderful drug in controlling my ankles and feet swelling. BUT the drug store has been trying to get it back in stock, it is on back order for the last 4 weeks. Something to do with the manufacturer. W/O having access to Maxzide my legs swell terribly from the knees down. Dr. put me on Bumex and it is awful!!! I've never been so dizzy in my life. Sure hope the drug store and get the Maxzide back in. PS: I had NO side effects using the Maxzide. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHSSCNATIVE | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't eat in the morning when I started taking this. I was really sick for a week. I finally figured out that I had to either start eating breakfast or take after I ate lunch. I was not overweight before, but I lost 15 lbs from fluids & changing my diet (very low sodium). I have been taking for 3 years and I usually stay within 5-8 pounds of my weight. No side effects at all since I eat before taking now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mietzekatze | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got horribly dizzy and drowsy like never before! I stopped taking it and I am fine. My usual drug -- triamterene HCTZ Cap 37.5/25MG is "on backorder from all drug manufacturers" -- whatever that means!!!! Meanwhile, I have gained 5 pounds: pure water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More