Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

Without Detrol, I wake up at least 6-7 times during the night. With Detrol, I may get up twice. The only drawback is that there is no generic and insurance either does not pay for it or the co-pay is high.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

When I first started it, it gave me Vertigo, but controlled the urination. Now, the Vertigo has stopped, and the affect of the Detrol has stopped the OAB is the same, if not worse than it was.

Shared reviews and ratings

gabillhaol.com | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2017
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one dose about 6pm and by midnight I thought I would have to go to the ER...as I had a burning desire to urinate but couldn't...finally, after standing over the toilet for about 10 minutes I began to slowly urinate...for the next 4-5 hours I had to release myself about every 10-15 minutes....and it took a very long time each and every time...I will never again take this Medication...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Old Lady Who | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2017
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it one time. I took 1/4 of the dose prescribed by my Doctor and it stopped my kidneys from working for 16 hours. Too scary for me. I do not want to harm my kidneys.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pegasus | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/5/2015
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Detrol for about 6 months. Within a week I was back to normal. It is a tier 2 prescription but worth the $. BTW. I had to suggest it to my doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flochappy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been a blessing to work without worry of iincontinence. But, this year 2014 medicare no longer covers this medication it's cost is $90.00. I am retired and living on a sm. income. I have tried the Generic brand only to have it almost shut down my kidneys leaving in great pain and with difficulty to walk. Medication stopped. After 12 hours pain much better - back to having great incontinence. Please Please can you assist me with the cost so I can again use Detrol 2mg. And go back to work. Than I will be able to pay for medication myself. Thank you Florence chapmanRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth409 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been very helpful for treatment of MS symptoms. When I saw a Urologist for urinary retention, he attempted to switch me to another medication but is made me very sleepy, even after 3 weeks on the medication. I went back to detrol and it continues to work well for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2012
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Detrol has not helped the burning sensation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2012
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Detrol has allowed me to urinate within normal time ranges of 3 - 4 hours. It has almost eliminated all leakage, accidents and embarrassing situations. No real side effects to report. My quality of life has definitely improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
madam butterfly | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/4/2012
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking detrol 2mg. for my oab for many years now but it hasn't helped much I have to wear a incontinence pad 24-7 and when I cough or sneeze or stand from a sitting or laying position I leak urine sometimes to the point my underware and pants are soaked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
In a Quandry | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2011
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I continue to urinate. I sometimes urinate 10-15 times (at least) per day. Then, the urge will cease for a while. I am 57 y-o woman. I have not been able to entirely stop black tea and sweeteners but even when I do stop, it continues. Have also been making some other dietary changes. The Detrol may work a little...also find I crash when it wears off and feel weepy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smiley | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/29/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got better benefits.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
george pakis | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2010
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

frequent urination at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luckygrandma6 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2010
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor put me on this drug as I have all the symptoms that go along with it. There are nights when I'm up every hour on the hour and always feel like I have to go. I'm on the third package of samples and so far I don't see this working but he also said he wouldn't guarantee it becasue sometimes women who have ahd children makes their bladder drop when they get older and so they have to have surgery to fix the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/29/2010
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still want to urinate all the time. It seems that there has been no change in my problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marge | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2010
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps but the dry mouth problem is awful. I have been taking it in the evening and wonder if it would be better to take it first thing in the morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2010
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My use of Poise pads has been reduced dramatically. I can now make it to the bathroom without wetting my pants!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jak | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2010
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced an OAB as a result of my MS. I was prescribed Detrol LA one year ago due to frequent urination, especially at night. The medicine worked for the first three months, then not at all. I am VERY disappointed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2009
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication didn't help me at all!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wwlsbrad | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2009
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started so I'm still withholding judgement, but had to comment. This drug DOES have a generic, and can be bought at Walmart for $6 for 3 months! I think unless you have really bad side effect it take at least 3 months to see if something is going to work. But $6 for 3 months WOW!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mercos | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2009
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my problem was frequent urges without relief. after taking detrol, i have full urination about every two hours, too much. i am taking other medication that doesn't interact well, causing general malaise so i'm quitting the detrol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle Welch | 3-6 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/14/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is on 2mg 2x a day and it has stoped him from overnight wetting and day leakage

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More