Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

This pain medication worked very well..my 16 yr old dtr had MONO with this she had an enlarged spleen and excruciating pain..this medication almost worked immediately... also i noticed some comments related to tylenol with codeine this is not the same thing this is Codeine Sulfate..just something to keep in mind when reviewing this medication..

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I'm not sure if it was Codeine sulfate, but I was prescribed Codeine with Acetaminophen for pain after having a tonsillectomy. The medicine was in a syrup form which seemed to be very acidic and caused my teeth to hurt for about 10 minutes each time I took it just from coming into contact with them. It furthermore proved inadequate at relieving pain - an Aspirin combined with Ibuprofen was approx...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from chronic joint pain, and when the pain spikes I take 30 mg of codeine and 500mg of paracetamol as an effervescent tablet. It offers great pain relief, but to me it's a bit tough on the stomach. Other side effects I've experienced are drowsiness, lightheadedness and nausea. I sometimes get so tired that I fall asleep in the middle of the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drofidnas56 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/5/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used Codeine Sulfate for well over 5 years, 30mg.2x day for diabetic neuropathy, I've not had to up my dosage and it works very well when combined with 300mg. Gabapentin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oxycodone40mg | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/9/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SO FAR NOTHING IS HELPING EASE THE PAIN FROM BREATHING AND THE COUGH FOR A SO CALLED DIAGNOSIS OF PERTUSSIS (WHOOPING COUGH)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ramsey156 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a history of Crohn's disease with many surgeries. 6 bowel resections and diarrhea took me from 180 lbs to 115 lbs in less than 30 days. Doctors tries numerous meds and none worked, until codeine sulfate. Wiith my short bowel I have had to take 2 60 mg tabs 4 times a day. My weight went up to 170 and diarrhea went from 30 times a day to 4.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blewis1009 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects I have experienced-itching, dizziness, blurred vision, fast heartbeat, lightheadedness, facial swelling/burning, sweating. One positive thing, my headache is gone!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
3/9/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No relief from back pain with 30mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bloodsugardaddy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/7/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The need to take higher doses for it to be effective, or to give it a break occasionally, makes it somewhat unpredictable. It doesn't make me sleepy as it apparently does some other people. It actually perks me up a little. At my dosage (30 mg.)I don't feel (good buzz) medicated. Even when drinking. Renewals for this must be mailed, not faxed to the pharmacy or hand delivered by you. Not surprisingly, I have found that the mailed prescriptions for this have often mysteriously disappeared between the doctor's office and the drugstore. I've never had that happen with any other drug. Not as addictive as some other opiates. I stop taking it for a week or so once in a while and don't have any cravings or withdrawal symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pattycakes101 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had this chronic cough for over 12 years before we found that I have a hypersensative Larynx. This calms the tregger in my throat and calms the cough. It worked so well that I was able to slack off to 1/4 every 4 days. But due to the sever allergy season this Spring 2010 and a remodel job in my home, I have started coughing again. I now take 1/4 morning & night. Still coughing badly at night. As of today I am going to 1/2 at night. I have a headache when I wake up but it calms my throat. I am also going to use my nasal spray again. If you have a cough that is just too much for you to handle....night and day....go to your Neurologist and he will perscribe it after he talks to you. His first suggestion was to quit my secertarial job and answering phones, second was this medication. Praise the Lord it WORKS!!! Now it is time again to up the dosage until I get it under control. Beginning today. 9/1/2010 Good Luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiki | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/28/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sleepy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevei | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having part of my small intestine removed, I had severe diarrhea. My weight dropped from my normal 145 to less than 110. I have gained at least 15 pounds back and it does control the diarrhea very well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not getting much relief from 30mg oral tablet was given to me for pain after surgury on my testicles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donnaray | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bloodsugardaddy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using for diabectic Diarhea . Have found that it is useful at the 30 mg x 4 times daily dose that I take. Hopefully I can soon stop taking the expensive suplements. I am worried about the potentially addictive properties of this medication, but I have had other opiate based medication in the past, for about a year perscription, and not had a problem. I suppose the trick is to not exceed the dosage subscribed to you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
n59 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used to offset side effects from bowel resection for colon cancer to slow down the bowel.While it heals and gets use to food agan

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/2/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pain medication worked very well..my 16 yr old dtr had MONO with this she had an enlarged spleen and excruciating pain..this medication almost worked immediately... also i noticed some comments related to tylenol with codeine this is not the same thing this is Codeine Sulfate..just something to keep in mind when reviewing this medication..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
popper | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sweet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure if it was Codeine sulfate, but I was prescribed Codeine with Acetaminophen for pain after having a tonsillectomy. The medicine was in a syrup form which seemed to be very acidic and caused my teeth to hurt for about 10 minutes each time I took it just from coming into contact with them. It furthermore proved inadequate at relieving pain - an Aspirin combined with Ibuprofen was approximately just as effective for me. I would avoid this medication. Either take some OTC painkillers or get something stronger in pill form; this syruppy herb isn't effective at anything but causing some pretty severe tooth pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More