Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I used Trivora for 6 mos. as a generic for Triphasil. This generic caused me to have yeast infections every month, and I was very moody while taking it. I asked my doctor for another generic for Triphasil and am now very pleased with that...Enpresse.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

causes cystic acne

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from my previous birth control to this one due to having extreme pain in my breasts while on my period. Trivoria made me extremely nauseous while taking it. My period became super heavy and lasted 2 weeks. Instantly went back to have it switched back to my old one

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdh89 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I absolutely love this birth control!! It cleared up skin which I'm probably most excited about. I have a nice glow now :) I get a few spots during my period but that's it! Periods are only 3ish days which is nice. It's also helped a LOT with regulating my mood! No weight gain or other symptoms as far as I can tell. Would definitely recommend!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Springchild29 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/13/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am switching back to this pill ASAP! It was my first ever brand of birth control and I switched to a different one after taking it for about almost a year (Stupid choice) I switched to Kariva. Kariva made me bleed abnormally. So I just recently switched to azurette and it gives me HORRIBLE cramps! My period is almost over for the month and I'm still experiencing severe cramps. I want to switch back to Trivora now because I had no complications and no period pain while on Trivora. Right now I am really missing it and can't wait to switch back. I would definitely recommend Trivora to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Norma | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/8/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for over 2 years. At first I experienced a bit on nausea but my doctor said it was completely normal and to try taking it at night to help( it did) . After my body got used to the medication i haven't had a single problem. I take it every day at the same time, and i get my period on the same day for the exact same number of days (4). I never gained any weight with this birth control, and although i didn't go on the pill for my skin, it has made my skin soo pretty! Overall I'm incredibly happy with it and i don't plan on changing anytime soon. Some have said that they don't carry it anymore but i have not had any issues refilling my prescription. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RachelW | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every birth control pill is going to have side effects, so it's a matter of trial and error and determining what's best for you. That being said, Trivora has been great for me (personally) and I've been taking it every day for well over 8 years. I originally began taking birth control at 15 to help with my cystic acne (Orthotricylen), something else in my early 20s, then Yazmin (HORRIBLE side effects including rapid heart rate, random sweating, mood swings and more) and finally Trivora. My periods aren't heavy, last about 3-4 days, very little cramping (usually none), no headaches, moodiness weight gain or acne. I always get my period on the same day every month because I'm religious about taking my b/c pill at the same time every day. I've never been pregnant and don't plan to be. My only complaint (perhaps this is happening because I'm getting older; I'm really not sure) is that I experience extreme breast soreness/tenderness/pain and swelling every other cycle about 2 weeks before my period is supposed to start. Pain to the point that it hurts to lay on my chest and my boobs literally look an entire cup size bigger. Vaginal discharge also seems to be high to me, but my Dr. assured me that I'm producing a 'normal' amount. My Dr. also gave me samples of Minastrin 28 Fe to sample for 3 months (to see if that alleviates my breast pain), but I'm not sure that it's worth switching after all these years for only one symptom that occurs every other cycle and lasts for a week. Regardless, I recommend this brand (not ENPRESSE)I hated ENPRESSE (even though this is the 'generic' for Trivora it is not similar at all). If your pharmacist fills the generic insist on the name brand, or call your Dr. for another refill and name brand only. Also, some comments have mentioned that they no longer make this product (2012ish), but I've never had a problem refilling my Trivora in the 8 years I've been taking it---now 2014.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scratch13 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2013
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lately, I've been experiencing migraines during my menstrual cycle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

causes cystic acne

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ashbabe | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just switched back to a triphasil birth control. I have been on just about every birth control there is. I remembered taking tri-levlen, I think it was, years ago and having no side effects also, weight loss, but they stopped making it, so after numerous types of birth control and horrible side effects, I searched for it again. I found that Tri-levlen was no longer in production but had several generic brands. I read about the different generics and stumbled upon lutera. Rite-Aid tried to give me enpresse, which is a generic, but I stressed that I wanted this drug and would not budge. They order it for me every month now. It is awesome! I feel like me for the first time in years. I have my sex drive back and my appetite is back to normal. Do not let pharmecies try to sell you what you don't want. They still make trivora and not all generics are the same, believe me I have tried them all. This is the only one for me that works.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
arw316 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2012
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Trivora 5 months ago. I have gained 13 lbs, I have mood swings, and severe headaches at least 4 days out of the week. I'm bloated for 2 wks out of the month and start having cramps 2 wks before my period. It did clear up my acne though and I have not gotten pregnant while on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennib | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Long story short - I've been having a period every single day since I started this pill (over a month ago). Not happy at all. Calling the doctor tomorrow to switch to something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

LOVE TRIVORA! UNFORTUNTELY THEY ARE NO LONGER MAKING TRIVORA, AND CHANGING EVERYTHING OVER TO ENPRESSE, I TOOK ENPRESSE FOR 2 MONTHS AND HAD THE WORST MOOD SWINGS EVER, BUT WHEN I TOOK THE TRIVORA I WAS FINE, MY MD NOW CHANGED ME TO TRI SPRINTEC, IDK HOW IT WILL BE BUT WE WILL SEE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KarenO | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/10/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Trivora for most of (perhaps) the last five years. I didn't really think about it. It did the trick, preventing pregnancy, moderating periods, and preventing cramps without side effects. Then, I moved and my pharmacist switched me to the generic Enpresse without asking or telling me -- claiming it's no longer manufactured -- and I realized how good I had it. Enpresse resulted in either longer periods or spotting for me, irritability/ increased sensitivity to sounds and otherwise, and generally seems to result in me feeling worse during my period. I've also gained a few additional pounds after having had my weight in the same two-pound range for more than 5 years. Anyway, Trivora was good and I want it back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Necole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/8/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Trivora for 8 months now. During the first two weeks I experienced some nausea, after that no negative side effects whatsoever. I gained a little weight during the first 2 months, less than 10 lbs. My weight has remained steady since then. My breasts have enlarged from barely a B cup to a full B or even a C. This is a very welcome side effect! Most importantly, I have not become pregnant, and I do have a very active sex life. I have not experienced reduced libido, if anything an increase. My periods come at the same time each month and with much less discomfort. Overall I am extremely pleased with my experience thus far and plan to continue using Trivora. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P.E. 2012 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/5/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking trivora for sometime. I loved it, never got pregnant, always knew when my period was coming, and never got cramps, or acne. The downfall, I am 27 years old and developed blood clots in my lungs from using this birth control. I spent 8 days in the hospital and was on the worst pain of my life. I want to say that I loved this perscription, until that. I was also told that I would have died if I didn't go in. I would advise not taking this birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
monegirl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/23/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other than having to remember to take this every day it has been great! I haven't had any issues ont even side effects listed! Love it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/7/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking trivora four months ago, my health insurance changed and I had to switch from ortho-lo (which I loved.) I am very unhappy with this drug. I have gained a bit of weight, my periods are significantly heavier, my breasts are swollen and sore all the time, and I have had heavy vaginal discharge since I've been taking trivora.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
texasheatwave | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take bc pills for high testosterone from PCOS. I just had to post my review of this drug. My GYNO has tried 3 other pills and this one is by far the best!! She had me on Loestrin Fe 1/20 which caused awful mood swings, breakthrough bleeding and messed with my mental well-being. She then switched me to Loestrin Fe 1.5/30 which again caused the same issues as stated previously. After being on that crap for too long she put me on Low Ovral, but the pharmacy filled it with Low Ogestrel (generic). I felt okay on this pill, not great, just okay. I would get very moody the week before my period, I always had cramps during week two of the pack. I never felt great on this pill. My doctor finally switched me to Trivora and oh my lord I feel fabulous!! I was hesitant to take it because the reviews have been awful, but I went ahead and started taking it. I have more energy and I don't feel grumpy all the time. I tracked any changes according to the phase of the pack and I noticed during phase 2 (the white pills) I got 3 pimples on my face and I was little more sensitive to stupid stuff, but it wasn't anything crazy. Overall this pill is just fabulous. Remember ladies, everybody is different so be patient. I know that's easier sad that done, and lord knows the men in our lives don't totally understand our mood changes, but work with your doctor to get the best pill for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iLOVEtrivora | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yaz and LoEstrin made me gain weight, have extremely sore breasts,extreme mood swings, spotting, hair loss,and cramping and cost me a lot of $$$. Trivora has been amazing! In the 11 months of taking Trivora I've lost over 15 lbs, no breast soreness,and no hair loss! My only complaint is the mood swings but they're controllable, nothing out of the ordinary. HIGHLY RECOMEND TRIVORA! (plus its only $25 a pack, even without insurance)Trivora doesn't help much with acne though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Na'Tasha | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2011
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for a while now and I get very irritable and moody, I can't eat, sleep. I get constant headaches, very nauseous, but I was prescribed this medication for Dysfunctional Uterine Bleeding because of a hormone imbalance but it's making the imbalance even worse...I just want the hysterectomy and get it over with! I'm tired of being in pain!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raenbow | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/20/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Trivora for about 1 and a half years now. I get very bloated right before I get my period. I have at least 1 migraine every month about a week before my period and it has lowered my sex drive dramatically. I hope the new pill I start taking tomorrow reduces the migraines and brings back my sex drive.I don't want to be on Trivora anymore..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More