Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

What a wonderful drug!!! 7 years ago I was diagnosed with adrenal inauffeciency and as a result of that I have also been diagnosed with hypocalcemia, hypoparathyroidism and hypokalemia, but I no longer have adrenal insuffeciency but will always have the other 3...without this drug I would be hospitalized numerous times to get IV calcium. If Insurance don't cover it because they say it is a "Vitami...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

HAVE NOT BEEN TAKING IT THAT LONG

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/27/2019
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AL | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/24/2016
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had hyperplasia primary hyperparathyroidism. I had 3 1/2 glands removed. I then became hypo and had hungry bone syndrome, I had an extremely difficult time keeping calcium levels stable. Calcitrol has been a lifesaver. Ive been on it for about 1 year now and it had helped me so much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dobee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/11/2013
Condition: Hyperparathyroidism caused by Chronic Kidney Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had renal cell carcinoma and my left kidney was removed. I relocated to a different state to be near family. I moved my medical records to a new GP and she arranged for me to get established with a new Nephrologist. My first visit he ordered lab which included a PTH. My calcium was very elevated. He arranged for me to see a surgeon. After tests, he removed 3 of the 4 parathyroid glands. The first and quite costly medication did not help my hormone and calcium levels so he prescribed Calcitriol. While my hormone levels remain elevated my calcium levels are normal. With the surgery, medication and diet, I have seen an overall improvement in my health. Less fatigue, a clearer thought process and fewer mood swings. These and other symptoms had been dismissed as stress, fibromyalgia and aging by my old physicians. So, I learned the importance of a second opinion. It can be life changingRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beckyboo1951 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2012
Condition: Hyperparathyroidism caused by Chronic Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2012
Condition: Prevention of Vitamin D Deficiency
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
syncor | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2011
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iam taking calcitriol to help my calcium level because. I have thyroid cancer i been taking calcitiol about two and i likewise it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
concerned caregiver | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
8/7/2011
Condition: Prevention of Vitamin D Deficiency
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kevinmicheal | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2011
Condition: Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive hypoprathyroidism as a result of my surgeon removining them during a lcitrol does nothing for methyroidectomy, i am constantly in an out of hospital for iv calcium ca

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2011
Condition: Hyperparathyroidism caused by Chronic Kidney Failure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told to take this pill as a source of Active Vitamin D. A month later I was told to stop taking it due to high calcium levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2011
Condition: Prevention of Vitamin D Deficiency
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribded for problems with my kidneys

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/29/2010
Condition: Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just wanted to let you all know that it cost me $1,000.00 to find out my yorkie had hyperparathryodism. I give her a dose of calcitrol every day and have for a year and it works great. without it she has seizures and it takes a visit to the vet for liquid calcium by IV and cost about 800.00 dollars a visit. Hope this will help anyone that may have or know of a dog that has the same symptoms as a human.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2010
Condition: Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

15 years ago i had radioactive iodone given to me to kill my thyroid. We have never been able to control my levels.Thyroid Storm, cardiac arrest and now morbidly obese.I had a complete throidectomy.only for the dorctor to find my parathyroid glands were damaged from the radioactive iodine.3 days after surgery I was taken to hospital by ambulance.My face,neck,arms legs were going numb, with musclespasms and loss of coordination and the ability to speak. I thought I was having a stroke!!! At the hospital they find my calcium level became dangerously low. 5 days later, 16 bags os calcium IV my levels would not come up; Sooo... on day 2 of my stay they started giving me 4 calcium pills 4 times a day and 1 mcg of CALCITRIOL. by day 5 i came home. it has been 16 days and I am home doing much better thanks to this medicine. With out this medication i would still be hospitalized. There are NO SIDE EFFECTS!! YEE HAW Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/4/2010
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What a wonderful drug!!! 7 years ago I was diagnosed with adrenal inauffeciency and as a result of that I have also been diagnosed with hypocalcemia, hypoparathyroidism and hypokalemia, but I no longer have adrenal insuffeciency but will always have the other 3...without this drug I would be hospitalized numerous times to get IV calcium. If Insurance don't cover it because they say it is a "Vitamin" talk to them, mine was the same way but now they cover it I just need a DR note every year saying why I need to be on this specific drug...I agree it is very expensive but I am only paying $15.00 for mine each month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KristinaMoutrey | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2010
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

wow I cant believe there is actually someone with hypoparathyroidism....This is such a rare condition that I never know anyone that can understand what its like. I love this med becuase I notice such a huge difference when I take it. Before I was diagnosed I was in the hospital 1-2 times a week to have a calcium i.v. and now as long as my stress levels are low and im taking my meds I rarely see those friendly people with the wonderful food they serve to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take calcitriol for hypoparathyroidism to help absorb my calcium supplements. I really hate to take it three times a day, but can really tell when I don't take it with my calcium.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/1/2009
Condition: Low Amount of Calcium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have scleroderma which has affected my Vitamin D absorbancy. After blood tests, my rhematalogist prescribed Calcitriol for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/19/2009
Condition: Condition caused by Low Levels of Parathyroid Hormone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has been a lifesaver. W/O this med I experience muscle & joint pain. I know it is something I will have to take all my life. I wish it was cheaper & unfortunately there is no patient asst.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More