Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

The medical personal gave it to me before I had a colonoscopy. I remember none of it. I was out like a light after the injection. No after-effects.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

this drug is TERRIBLE. it caused nausea, vomiting and loss of equilibrium for three days after it was administered. it is also known as the 'date rape' drug. Stay away from this stuff.....far away if you're smart!!!!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

JC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given IV injection to relax me before a painful procedure. It had zero effect on me. No relaxation or sedation. I had tears running down my face during the whole procedure, which was supposed to be just “slightly uncomfortable.”

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2021
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been given Versed at the local hospital for several Upper and Lower GIs with varying results..I often remembered parts of the procedure. Our local hospital then went to Propofol and it worked perfectly. This time, in an Erie hospital, they gave me Versed and Fentenyl, which I found out during IV prep. I told the nurse about prior experiences, but no changes were made. I was getting stents put in my leg for Peripheral Artery Disease. I remember the entire procedure including the 2 hours staff took turns trying to close off the artery when clotting wasn't happening. Each time they changed their finger positioning to stop the bleeding, it felt like they were twisting a shard of glass into an open wound...for two hours without moving!! So....level 10 pain. Remembered AND felt. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient Joe Smith | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2019
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first experience with Versed wasn't a good one. The doc didn't give me enough and it wore off before the procedure was done. I about came off the table when I realized what was going on. Last experience - a good one. I whined to the periodontist that the Halcion I took wasn't enough. He finally decided to add Versed, and I only remember about 5 seconds after he uttered the word "Versed." The rest of my memory for the day is gone. I'm told it shut me up too. lol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeannemc | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2018
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel a need to start with a disclaimer. I experienced a side effect so rare that my medical team was not aware that what was happening was a side effect. I had to contact the drug company. I am one of less then a tenth of a percent to experiment SEVERE agitation, rage, aggression and related. The protocol to counteract this is Haldol. Since my team had never seen this reaction I did not benefit from this. I will not be able to take Versed I. The future. Be your own advocate. Know what medsyou will be given. Looking at some of these reviews it is obvious that many people simply do not pay attention. The medical team will always tell you that you may feel affects for up to 24 hours and that is why you canâ??t drive or sign legall documents. This medication has a very high effective and safety rating. If you do experience a bad side effect let your doctor, pharmacist, etc know as soon as possible. Also report it. The FDA cannot track what they do not know. I hope this helps. I also want to note that this adverse reaction did not occur the first time I was given the drug. It was the third time. That is normal. If they donâ??t want to offer an alternative, find someone who will.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
emsfree | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2014
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible! This medication had zero effect on me. If anything, it had an opposite effect given I was totally alert and lucid during the entire 50 minutes of major back surgery. I'm 165lbs and was given the maximum dose along with fentanyl in my IV, which would "put a 300lbd man to sleep". Now I am traumatized and can't imagine ever having another surgery again. I'm also very upset due to the fact the anesthesiologist didn't stop the surgery and use another medication. She was completely aware I was fully awake and held my arms down as I was in tears and moaning the entire time. Please be carefulRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hipponet | 35-44 | Male | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2014
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given to sedation for a port (to be used for chemo) implanted in right shoulder. Drug had absolutely no effect and I could have driven myself home afterward. Due to no sedation the procedure was painful and traumatic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
0806bglove | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2013
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WOW! NOT ONLY DID I NOT FEEL A THING WHEN MY SPINAL INJECTIONS WERE ADMINISTERED, BUT I ALSO HAD NO RECOLLECTION WHATEVER DURING THE ENTIRE SPINAL INJECTION PROCEDURE. A GREAT DRUG FOR THE USAGE MY DOCTOR RECOMMENDED!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother is writing this: My son is a 44-yr old man with Downs Syndrome. Surgery was to place a tube in right ear which was supposed to take 10 min, then he was supposed to take 1 hr to wake up. The surgery did take about 10 min, but it took him 7 hours to wake up and then only after he was given a shot. Two hours later he had fever of almost 103, and was admitted to the hospital where he stayed for 2 weeks with aspiration pneumonia in both lungs. He then was sent to rehab for 5 weeks because he couldn't walk. He was learning how to walk with a walker, and then aspiration pneumonia hit again, and he was in ICU for 10 days, plus had a feeding tube put in his stomach (which was removed a little over 5 months later). Now he is in a long-term care facility and can't walk and is confined to a Broda wheelchair; his speech is affected; he jerks and shakes so he can't feed himself (Now he has to eat only pureed foods and thickened liquids.), nor even hold a pencil, has seizures plus other medical issues. Before all of this happened, he graduated from high school with a regular diploma, worked in a food bank for 10 years and at Pizza Hut for almost 20 years. He could accomplish anything he wanted to do. I (his mother) feel like he was given way too much of this medication. Our son will never be the same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/3/2013
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
granny | 75 or over | Female | Patient
8/19/2012
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time I was not able to wake up after outpatient procedure and was transferred to mail hospital until I finally woke up more than 12 hours after injection. More than 5 years later I was given the same drug and do not remember talking to doctor or leaving the hospital or anything else for more than 24 hours after injection. Thankful to my husband for taking care of me and trying to keep me awake. I am making sure that I have a card with all my reactions listed, with me at all times. There was no record at the hospital and I did not remember the name of the drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cstmsbkr | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2012
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get colonoscopies every 3 years due to family history & had been given this drug before along with Demerol, had no problems, & it worked as it was supposed to do. Was given these 2 drugs again for the most recent colonscopsy,but something went horribly wrong. Going into the recovery room, I flatlined & they had a hard time getting me back. I was not aware of my surroundings & have no memory of that day or the following 3 days. Apparently I was able to function & communicate but remember NOTHING! Went back to the hospital a week later to find out what went wrong & all they would say is that I had a bad reaction to the drugs & they had to administer drugs that were supposed to counteract the effects but they didn't work (these additional drugs are what they give people on a drug overdose). I believe that I was given an overdose which would suppress breathing, etc. & wanted to sue but couldn't get a lawyer that wanted to take the case. Since then, I've had problems with memory & have seen a neurologist who did an EEG & he says that I have small seizures which results in temporary memory losses. I will never have these drugs again or use that hospital. Beware!! Talk with the doctor & make sure that they are using a dose appropriate with your weight, etc.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charlie me 3 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2012
Condition: Anxiety associated with an Operation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had the oppposite result, instead of sedation, I responded like that of a stimulant instead.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
picklette | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2011
Condition: Anxiety associated with an Operation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 injections, this drug did not work at all to relax me for a hospital procedure. Made me sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2011
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been reading some of the reviews, and it seems that people have (on average) either a very good experience or very bad... I know that every person reacts to a drug differently, and also that the experience and skill of administering doctor seems to be very important. Having said that, my experience was excellent. I had it for a bone marrow biopsy. The doctor had done many, many of these procedures (he was a hemotoligist). My experience that time, was that I was so relaxed and euphoric, that I would gladly have any procedure with this drug (and this doctor). I was able to communicate, and semi-aware of what was happening, but had no pain, no anxiety. Frankly, for me, with this doctor and dose, what so good, that it is good that it is not available except in controlled environments. I commented after the procedure that the doctor could have told that he was going to cut off my head, and I would be happy about it. I did not have any bad reaction, no nausea, etc, and woke up feeling great. I remember getting somewhat philosophical and commenting on my ability to think clearly after the procedure and when recovering and standing up. Of course I can't speak for other people, but for me, this sis THE drug of choice for procedures of this type. I don't know if I also had fentenyl (sp?) with it as others have noted. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2011
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

felt an ease into nirvana before an operation that lasted an hour, no side effects for me. very nice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Didi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2011
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug when I went in for injections in my lower back. I was told it would put me temporarily asleep, but I was awake the whole time, but feeling absolutely no pain from the injections. I've broken out in a rash with itching, but not sure if the Versed is the reason or one of the other medications given; i.e., fentenyl or marcaine. Hopefully it'll go away soon. Had no problems afterwards, stopped and got something to eat afterwards, went home and relaxed rest of day and went back to work next day. Except for the rash and itching...everything is fine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sings57 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time was completely ineffective, did not help the pain at all and remembered everything. Just had the second for RNC(killing the nerve in spine for the facets. and I felt the first shot of Versed(little dizzy) then I felt the whole procedure. I talked the whole time of the procedure. Would not want this used again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
melme | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2011
Condition: Induce Temporary Amnesia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given versed through IV for injections in my spine. I was placed face down on table and versed line was attached. I was given a dose of versed. I complained of hand pain. Then complained that my iv site was leaking. It was checked and I was told it wasn't. I complained again that my hand hurt. I heard a nurse say release her pressure cuff. I remember little about my experience after that! I am on day 2 now still wondering what the heck happened other than, my guess: Given several does of versed before them noticing my pressure cuff was blocking the medication in my hand. Just posting this so no one else has the iv and cuff on the same arm! My aunt who was there said they kept me for a very long time becuase every time I fell asleep my blood ox level went down to 90 and I would quit breathing. I'm so glad my aunt was with me who had prior medical training as a nurse for over 30 years. She got me home safe and my daughter sat with me the whole day into the night! What I don't understand is how this happened? I'm sure they do hundreds of these if not thousands a week....why did they not figure it out prior to giving me the versed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gwen | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2011
Condition: Sedation with Ability to Respond to Stimulation or Speech
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a CT guided biopsy of the left adrenal gland in May 2011 at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville. It was excruciatingly painful. First, the area on my left back near the spine was deadened with Lidocaine, then I was literally STABBED five times. First when a tube was inserted then four additional times through the tube with a needle with grips or something on the ends to collect specimens. As I begged and pleaded for something for the pain I was assured that I had been given three hits of Versed in my IV. Finally, screaming and crying, I was just going to get off the table ( lying on my stomach) and was forcibly held down. Furious when they finally let me up, I went back to the recovery room and immediately dressed myself but they would not let me leave for one hour. Too bad. I was leaving but I had to sign a paper. NEVER!!! again with this drug. I have an appointment again very soon at the Mayo and fully expect a lung biopsy be suggested. I will take two or three milligrams of Xanax before I go and tell them so when I meet my oncologist, radiologist and endocrinologist consultations before hand. I would very much like to be on the clinical trial with the drug that will shrink the thyroid cancer tumors in my lungs, adrenal glands and liver but not at the expense of all that horrible pain. This drug was worthless and I would have fared better with Ibuprofen. Then they had the audacity to offer me a turkey sandwich, I hate turkey. My husband ate it. Now I know to take my own sandwich in my purse along with a Diet Coke.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More