Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I have cluster headaches, which are considered a type of migraine. I'm 77, and have had them for 10 years, almost one a day. I take a combination of verapamil, lithium carbonate and gabapentin as preventives, but all they do is limit the severity (say 4,instead of 8 on 1 to 10 scale). I take Excedrine Migraine as my first abortive medicine; it works within 1 to 2 hours maybe 4 out of five times. W...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Don't be fooled by the packaging. It is NO DIFFERENT then regular Excedrin. It is Aspirin, Caffeine, and the same stuff that is in Tylenol. It barely touched my headaches, made my stomach hurt, and then I couldn't fall asleep, which would at least keep me from feeling the pain. Plus, it costs more then the regular Excedrin!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/15/2020
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For years I have had great results with this product until 2019 when there was a shortage. When Excedrin migraine returned to shields in 2020, they are totally ineffective. Not sure what they changed but I am very disappointed because I have been using for many, many years. Now u am having to deal with my headaches while my doctor tries to find something that works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shirley | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/12/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sabreanah | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A miracle! I was taking rizatriptan for my 2 day day migraines but it made my blood pressure skyrocket, and even then it only worked 50% of the time. Decided to try Excederine Extra strength (2 tablets) being very skeptical it would work (but desperate). It's worked twice now for me, completely nipping my migraine in the bud! I usually wake up with headache that turns into migraine within 2 hrs. I took it it right away both times, so make sure you take it right away! I'm hoping this is not just a fluke because the fear of migraine is very depressing! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madeline | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I has tried migraine meds Imitrex nasal injection and tablets but The side effects are terrible to me. This is an excellent OTC product that pat�­n and discomfort be tweet 15-20 Minutes. As well al los me to work and contin�ºe with other activities unable to performed under Imitrex. Thank you very much. ;)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ebonee711 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The excedrin migraine worked for me. I purchased the excedrin months ago but was skeptical about taking it. Usually when I have migraine headaches, I have to lay in darkness, use the bathroom and apply an ice pack to my head to relieve discomfort. I decided to take a chance and try the excedrin. After taking it, go somewhere dark and quiet, and close your eyes. It does take some time to work. My migraine went from pain level 8-9 to 1-2. Prior to taking the medication, I could not function at work. Now I'm able to go about my day normally. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Satochan | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/1/2016
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Acetomeniphin just 3 X a week can cause rebound headache. Then, you're up the creek without a paddle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jensen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/6/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has honestly changed my life. I have been suffering from migraines since I was 9 years old and nothing helped. I tried everything. Advil, aleve, tylonel, weed, basically every drug in the book as well as napping. At best, it would relieve some of the pain temporarily but nothing cured it. I would have migraines for days at a time completely debilitating my life. A few months ago, I was lucky enough to discover migraine excederin and it is absolutely outstanding. No matter how severe the migraine, it has never failed to cure it completely and quickly (I always feel better within about 20 minutes). Migraines no longer have an impact on my life because of this stuff. It also instantly cures my hangovers. I only have to take 2.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/9/2015
Condition: Mild Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication always caused me to have blurry vision, however it was the only thing that helped with my migraines. Recently I discovered that I have developed an allergy to aspirin, so I can no longer take this medication. I had no other noticeable side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WitchyWoman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/17/2015
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication as well as the Excedrin Extra Strength and found the ingredients are EXACTLY the same! I only bought the Migraine bottle because the store was out of the extra strength brand. Upon looking at the ingredients of both bottles, all ingredients are exactly the same, no difference. But, it works for my Intracranial Hypertension just the same as the Excedrin Extra Strength.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bad side effects | 25-34 | Male | Patient
6/10/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dangerous side effect such as, i am experiencing a severe recurring back pain after taking the Excedrin migraine tablet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bruden | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/29/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will dread the day this medication doesn't help my migraines. It's nice having an over-the-counter med that works this well!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/9/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is the first time I write a review for any product but I think this one really deserve it. I have been suffering from migraines since I was a teenager. Tried many prescribe medicines with horrible side effects until " I meet" Excedrin, it worked wonders with little to none side effects. The only thing I will recommend is not to take it with an empty stomach as it will cause nausea. It acts fairly quick. I normally laid down for 30 mins or so and my headache is gone! God bless this medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
workingwifey11 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is helpful when taken as soon as the onset of a migraine but not so much it take after a full blown migraine has hit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cluster headaches, which are considered a type of migraine. I'm 77, and have had them for 10 years, almost one a day. I take a combination of verapamil, lithium carbonate and gabapentin as preventives, but all they do is limit the severity (say 4,instead of 8 on 1 to 10 scale). I take Excedrine Migraine as my first abortive medicine; it works within 1 to 2 hours maybe 4 out of five times. When it doesn't work, I have to go to Triptans ( Maxalt), which work all the time. Sometimes the headache relieved by Excedrine Migraine will come back in 4 to 6 hours; then I have to go to Maxalt because one is limited to 2 Excedrine Migraines in a 24 hr period, to avoid liver damage. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/2/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the only medication that worked for my migraine's. When they took it off of the market I was devistated! I was so happy when it came back to only find out that it is not as effective as it used to be! Please bring the original "formula" back!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've never had a migraine before a few days ago. I am a nursing student and was in the library and when I looked at the computer screen it looked like I was "seeing stars", (those black dots you see if a flash goes off in your eyes) very faintly. This lasted about a half an hour and then I had the worst headache of my life. My left temple kept throbbing and I had sharp pains when I looked around or moved my head. I looked it up online and it sounded like a migraine. I tried excedrin migraine and it worked really well for me. Within about a half an hour after taking it the throbbing in my head had decreased and I felt ok for the rest of the night, aside from the occasional sharp pain. The same thing happened the following day and I took the medicine and again, it relieved my pain. Some people mention on here there was a recall and after it wasn't as effective for some them. I looked into the matter and the recall had to do with broken and stray tablets. The ingredients remains the same, 250mg acetaminophen, 250mg aspirin, and 65 mg of caffeine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/2/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before the recall, Excedrine Migraine worked quickly and effectively on my headaches. I was thrilled when it finally came back on the market, only to find that the formula must have been changed. I have to take 2 pills for even a modest reduction of pain. I never had to take more than one of the original formula. The company blew it when they dropped their QuickTabs a few years ago. They were a sublingual form and could get rid of the worst headaches within 2-3 minutes with no stomach upset. I wish I had horded them when they were available! Now I have to find something else again...I don't like having to take 2 tablets. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hkmark23 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/13/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excedrin is the only medication available to me for migraines. It works great for 3-4 hours and then the migraine comes back. On top of that, the Excedrin and other like OTC's shred my stomach up and I end up having a painful stomach, trying to coat with yogurt. Sometimes the caffeine is a bit too much and I have to counter it's effects with diphenhydramine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kdouglas | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think it is making me constipated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigyani | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/18/2013
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been waiting for others to post - and I see we are mostly in agreement. The "new" Excedrin must have been changed. It does not work like the "old" Excedrin did. My headaches were gone in 10 minutes... now they linger for about an hour, IF they go away. I, too, must look for another pain reliever for headaches, after 40 years with this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More