Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I have been using this product for about 4 weeks, you have use a very very thin film of it on your face, if you slather it on like moisturizer, the side effects are worsen. Please use a very thin film of it, very thin that is all you need. Its been working for me, clearing up very nicely and it does sting and itch, but mildly. Nothing in life is easy and sometimes, its worth the mild to moderate s...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

BEWARE! Finacea gel and ALL other Rosacea face creams carry warnings of wheezing, tightness of breath but they are not shown high enough on the side effects listings. I have had a bad year with unexplained wheezing. My doctor had no knowledge of this side effect and had me investigated for old age onset of asthma. The test was negative. Web searches revealed this side effect and I tested myself w...

Shared reviews and ratings

pinkface | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dizziness! I'm in my 60's and it worked to reduce redness after the first application. On the third application when I woke up and went down the hall I had to lean against the wall I was so dizzy. I literally could not stand up without leaning on it. I knew immediately it was from the finacea as it was a very heavy drugged feeling. I immediately washed it off and only after two hours did the dizziness go away. It also caused tinnitus in one ear. I regret I ever tried this. My face was also unnaturally white after applying it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pinkycheeks | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got results after the first application. I put this on at night and looked at my face the following morning and saw someone I almost didn't recognize. My skin was all the same color on my face instead of red cheeks and a melasma patch on my cheekbones. I looked like I was wearing foundation. My skin did seem a lot more pale than I've ever seen it and I see that this might cause hypopigmentation, so I'm wondering if it's going to sap all the color from my skin completely. The transformation was remarkable but as a very white skinned person to begin with, I'm a little concerned it might make me even whiter. Otherwise at least I'm no longer red.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jak | 65-74 | Male | Patient
8/27/2019
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used for almost 10 years. I am happy with the results and ease of use. I use intermittently as my flare ups dictate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oregon | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/19/2019
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The gel or cream are great products. I would stay away from the foam, you cannot control how much comes out and it will not spread evenly on your skin, and there is a strong tendency for it to get in your eyes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/18/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started using for a week or so and had a severe breakout. Never could see any improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tuscatl | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/11/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent product .. I have mild rosacea acne that usually flares in the late Fall and Winter..My skin is beautiful now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mamoo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/12/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finacea has kept my Rosacea in control for quite sometime now. I highly recommend the product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on it for 5 days and the difference in my skin is incredible. The pustules are almost gone, my skin is so smooth and the angry red is disappearing. I also got pimples regularly but now my skin is clear and bright. The itchiness is bothersome but I anticipate that abating as time goes on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to use, dont need to apply much. Acne gets much better when applied right before bedtime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dede2fun | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have adult acne, never had acne before in my life. I tried everything over the counter, no luck at all, and now I was getting worse breakouts. Finally I went to the doctor and was given a prescription for Finacea 15% Foam, Luckily my Health Insurance paid most of the fee, I only had to pay $20 for it. Some people say that it burns when you apply it, but mine didn't burn at all. I use this every morning and it's a miracle drug, in 3 days my acne was under control and it got rid of the redness and scars also, I saw big results in 3 days. The foam has no smell at all and it's not sticky. Also you can still wear your make-up over it, if you choose to. I hope everyone with acne use this and get great results, try it!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlabute | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've not tried Finacea until Jan 11, 2017. After almost two weeks, 100% of the bumps and 90% of the redness is gone. I found it better than metrocream. There is an initial sensation of a gentle pins-and-needles feeling for the first week which subsides. My skin now feels smoother (started with low to moderate severity rosacea). If I were to couple this with laser, I could probably expect close to 100% clear results(?) I was too busy to care for my skin until recently now that family was concerned. I researched and found Finacea sounded like a good first shot. I never learned what my triggers were so I have not changed diet or habits yet.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrsmack | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works the best of any I have found, the metronidazole just didn't do it. Wow it is expensive, even with insurance it is over $100 a tube. I am of the age that the hot flashes have made the rosacea much worse so I look like I have a sunburn even in the winter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not one to write reviews on products but this med is great!!! I have been suffering from the effects of Rosacea for 3 years. This is the first time since being diagnosed that I feel pretty again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Burned Up | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't have the prescription filled after hearing the cost AFTER insurance co-pay was going to be $190!! Highway robbery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nashvillechick | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My skin cleared up beautifully, but I developed a very unpleasant taste in my mouth shortly after each application of the gel. It strongly effected how food tasted. I actually lost weight because I just didn't want to eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ejc123 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/15/2016
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been struggling with rosacea for about 3 years now. Finacea is the fix I've been looking for. I do experience tingling, itching, and dryness. At first this was a struggle because all moisturizers I've tried burn when applied. I've been using coconut oil as a moisturizer for the last 2 weeks and it has been wonderful for me. No more dryness and peeling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJVA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/29/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this product for 10 years. It iis very eff time in controlling my acne rosacea. I use it twice a day, morning and evening. My redness has greatly reduced and I am able to control the spots/breakouts. Because it can be drying and sting my doctor directed me to use this after applying my moisturizer. In the morning I apply thin layer over all of my face after my moisturizer, let it dry and then a light cover of foundation. In the evening, I apply a layer all over my face with extra on areas/spots when needed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flustered | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since 9/2/16 I have been using this. For 2 weeks, at night only, then tried morning and night for 2 week. Recently, I have developed more red scaly spots over nose and between nose and upper lip. My nose swelled up and breathing became labored, and face looked sunburned. I have gone back to just nightly dose, and the swelling went away, but redness and peeling continue. I actually have more flushing on this product than I did prior to my first dose. Stopping application for 1 week, to see if my face improves. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MHCounselor | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/22/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Metro-gel was prescribed by my PCP and horrendous for me, i.e., burning profusely, stinging, redness, and nothing else worked. A dermatologist prescribed Finacea and it was miraculous. It did sting initially but I saw improvement within a week and continued at bedtime only and stinging resided. My Rosacea cleared up completely after a few months. Now I use Finacea only when I can feel a flare-up about to start.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Camogirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2015
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Acne and Rosecea. I like to call my type of Rosecea, Emotional Rosecea. My cheeks stay a little pink all the time but if I get hot, embarrassed, mad or pretty much any other emotion except happy, my face and neck get BRIGHT red. I didn't get acne or rosecea until I was probably 24 but now that I am 30 it is awful, I can't do a presentation at work without panicking because I know my face and throat will get bright red. I have tried Orecea, Doryx, Photo laser beam treatments and Mirvaso with no success. (the Mirvaso actually made it worse after helping for about weeks) I finally went to a new dermatologist and he prescribed me Finacea...and I LOVE IT!!! My face is MUCH less red and a the acne is almost gone! Some reviewers said they experience burning but I didn't except a little tingle when my face is dry. I use it in the morning under my Cerave Sunscreen lotion and at night. When I put my Origins face powder on I don't look pink at all. You will probably need lotion with it. This is the only prescription so far that I can find that works at all. It is a little expensive but honestly, if it works at this point i will pay! Try it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More