Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

its help sometimes

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

my son had an accident. he had to have brain surgery. he has been taking this medicine for about 18 months. he has gained about 80 pounds. is this a normal side effect of long term use?

Shared reviews and ratings

Blimp | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/8/2013
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife has been on 2mg x twice daily for two weeks now. After 3 days on the caps, she exhibited zombie-like characteristics. She could eat or sleep and slobbered like a St. Bernard coupled with muscle spasms and slow motion movements if that. Can I advise others to use this drug? fat chance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dav | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/6/2013
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was put on it when i was in car accident in 2001 i went from 135 pounds to 243pounds started developing breast like a female would have and when i was told about it causing problems they said because i was not you young boy they couldn't help me i have been in the er for heart attack systoms and even takin by abumlance did stress test showed my heart was fine so talked my doctor to take me off them which now i'm starting to lose weight it has been misable and i had low self esteem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Caregiver
1/2/2012
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/22/2011
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from being uncontrollable to being able to have a manageable day. Life saver! Only gained a little weight but keeps you hungry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amanda mckinney | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/3/2011
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its help sometimes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roger1Glenn2Hill3 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A misdiagnosis of symtoms of chronic cardiovascular insufficiency combined with an experimental drug that not even the chemists who designed the drug can say why the drug has so many fatal side effects nor can they explain whether it has any benificicial therapeutic value at all. I just know that in my case and tens of thousands of other unsuspecting patients even a short period of use nearly killed me by damaging my heart further are ther and produced almost uncontrollible palsied like movements and loss of motor function similar to Parkinsons disease. This drug is the most dangerous drug produced anywhhere in the entire world. A permanent ban on both the manufacturing and sales of this drug should be put into effect immediately world wide. I just know that Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. S | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/5/2010
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on drug regimen that worked for my bi-polar then traumatic life event suddenly occurred and my meds seem to stop working overnight. I began rapid cycling with extreme fluctuations and of course the problems that go with the deep depression and mania states I was in. I was hospitalized in March 2010 and placed on resperdal 2mg at bedtime. I am careful about my weight as I take other medications that cause fluctuations. Until today (12/5/10) I was unaware this medication caused weight gain. In the last 4 months I've gained over 20 lbs even though I've been trying to control my weight. I'm heavier than I've ever been and I also suffer from Fibromyalgia and am small framed. My body can't take the extra weight as its too hard on my joints. I am now considering having my meds changed. I've been through that too alot thru the years and don't like to mess with a good regimen but I really am having a hard time with my added weight and wonder if the risperdal has contributed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melody | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/10/2010
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been receiving treatment for panic attacks and anxiety for a long time. Zoloft and Xanax work very well for me. But there are times when I get so frustrated and feel agitated that even I know there's no reason for feeling like that. My doctor included Risperdal M-Tab 0.5 to be taken ONLY when I get very frustrated. They worked very well even though I rarely ever take one. I'm 56 years old and the possible side effect of sudden death or stroke from use of these tabs creeps me out. Otherwise, I think it's very helpful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
godsman | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/2/2009
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jean | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/29/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kristin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/9/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my son had an accident. he had to have brain surgery. he has been taking this medicine for about 18 months. he has gained about 80 pounds. is this a normal side effect of long term use?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2009
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/19/2008
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very Sad for my Son | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
9/30/2008
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is Autistic with ADHD and is Epileptic as well. Risperdal is one of the medications that he takes and he has worked for 2 years now, but I am now seeing that he is protraying alot of aggressive behaviors, perfanity and is very irratible after he is administered the medication and my son is only 11 years old. He still acts aggresively even if he doesn't take it and he's never been so disruptive in this manner before. I do not recommend anyone taking this for an extended period of time if you are taking other medications as well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fun_loving321 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2008
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just now started (less than 1 week) on a very small dosage (0.5 mg once a day) together with Lamictal (10 mg once daily) I am exercising more than I have in the past and cutting out caffeine, refined sugars & refined carbohydrates -- this regiment seems to have an initial beneficial impact on my moods -- both the manic and the depressive. It is still early & I plan to give it a full month before I re-evaluate this medication & regiment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beautiesrevenge | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
12/25/2007
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

our daughter has been on resperdal for over two years and was doing fairly well; now she has just been released again from hospital, not compliant with her meds and is experiencing psychotic episodes. everyone is frightened of her behavior. what to do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thatmohawkguy | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2007
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started taking this medication it made me more depressed than I was in the first place but now it seems to be working better but would not reccommend it to someone more depressive than I am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More