Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

Ladies, we are all different. For one, I have tried Losestrin and Seasonique (UNFORTUNATLY). Necon has cleared up my skin (mind you, i did not have terrible acne before using it)...I have VERY light periods with slight cramps...it has not made me gain weight but i also watch my salt intake (as every woman should do when taking birth control, as it will make you retain more water)...i dont really g...

Shared reviews and ratings

MissSwint | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/27/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience may be helpful as I have been on this pill for 20+ years with GREAT success. I starting reading reviews this morning and see while some are great others are not. My 21 year old daughter will be starting these pills next week after having horrible experiences with 2 to 3 others. Thought I would see what others are saying as everyone is different. I have barely had a period in 20 years. Usually 3-4 days where only a panty shield is necessary. It is not red which used to concern me as did the lack of period. I stopped twice to make sure I was ok & after one full period went right back on these pills. To summarize in an effort to be brief. NO CRAMPS NO PERIOD but light flow 3-4 days OVERALL healthy Still taking well into my 40's After my daughter struggling I insisted they put her on these to try. My OBGYN said the hormones were higher than some others was why she didn't start on them. GREAT SUCCESS for me Everyone is different. Hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for years and never have had any issues with it. My periods are light and very consistent in flow. I am on this medication for many reasons these include; endometriosis, hormonal migraines and everyday contraception. On these pills I am able to walk and not curl up in the ball due to it treating my endometriosis. I also have cut my migraines down to one a month with this medication. My only complaint about this medication is one side effect which is Edema (swelling) due to water retention, I tend to get foot cramps a bit here and there. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anj87 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this brand after failed attempts with 3 other brands that made me so nauseous I could barely function. During the first 2 months I noticed a little nausea and mood swings but after that all was well. I have VERY light periods now with a little breast tenderness beforehand. Overall it's the best pill I've taken with the least amount of side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mirafreyja | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bcnightmare | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After starting on Necon 7/7/7 I had a two week yeast infection. After the infection was finally over i started having mood swings and absolutely no sex drive. It made me very depressed and irritable. Not worth the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 19 and have been on this birth control for 4 months now. This was one of the three new drugs I was given. I can't naturally produce any progesterone or thyroid hormones so I will always have to take supplements. I had very painful, long and irregular periods and also normal, hormonal and cystic acne. My face has almost completely cleared up. My periods are lighter and right on schedule now. I am so happy I started this birth control. Note: my dime-sized cystic type acne was cleared up by also taking Minocycline.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
3/19/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Ortho Tri Cyclone Lo for a year before my insurance decided not to cover it.It was absolutely great. Its been 4 days since I've been taking Necon 777 and now I've been getting headaches nearly everyday, nausea every morning, and now stomach pain; So my apetite is out the window. At this point I'm thinking of switching to another form of Birth Control in order to avoid these painful side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karura | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the most amazing birth control! This is the first and only birth control I have ever taken. I have been taking it for about three months now, I have had no side effects at all! Taking the pill is such a breeze, they are so small you hardly notice them. I used to be afraid of taking pills! My periods are now regular, and much lighter compared to the heavy, irregular, and painful periods I had before. I'm also using it for birth control purposes, and it works very well. Another thing is, My breasts have grown a full cup size, and it really made me feel good about myself. I couldn't be happier with my birth control!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karura | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this birth control for about 2 months now, and I'm really amazed! Being an emetophobic, I have always been afraid of medications of all kinds. I was always afraid of side effects. I had NO side effects while taking this pill! On the first few pills I had a minimal appetite, and that was okay, I could deal with that. It went away quickly. My periods are very light, a few days long, no more bad cramps! My acne actually cleared up. My breasts grew a little too, no problem there. I have been overall satisfied while taking Necon 7/7/7. It has helped me a lot. I went from long, heavy, irregular periods to short,light, painless periods. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2013
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked wonders for me! I suffered from irregular and painfiul periods before taking Necon 7/7/7. Not only have they become "regular", but also have become lighter. Suprising Side effects: For the first two months, I suffered from uncontrolable mood swings and flu-like symptoms. I have noticed that these symptoms only return if I miss a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Songbird26 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/7/2013
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Necon 777 this past Sunday. I have experience headaches and my appetite has increased. I try to eat a salad or fruit instead of snacks so I want gain weight. I haven't had any major side effects as I'd yet and I pray to God that I don't. I'm on this medication because I do not have menstrual cycles every month and I'm looking fwd to having one more baby for my fiancé after marriage! If there is anyone who has or is taken this medicine for this particular reason please respond... Thanks :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/1/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Periods are short (2-3 days) and I only need to use light tampons. Mild cramping with each period but that is tolerable compared to severe cramping I'd get without BCP. Acne improved greatly. However, I have developed a troublesome amount of cellulite on my thighs and buttocks despite the fact that I work out daily and eat fairly well. Did not have this cellulite before I started this medication. I also have trouble with anxiety and depression that I have not noted in the past.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
777BCuser | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control about 3 months ago. While on it I got a flu bug that stayed for a month. So after I got better and still felt feverish and bad, I finally realized it was my BC (Ortho-Novum or the generic brand Necor 777)Please don't take!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Regrets | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from the name brand to this pill and within 2 months developed a massive blood clot that required emergency treatment. I am not a smoker, not overweight and I exercise regularly. After multiple tests came back negative, the pill was the only culprit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JKP | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/17/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 29 year old woman, and I took Necon 777 as a method of birth control. I only remained on this formulation for two months, because during that I had several strange side effects during the third week of pills (highest dose). I had a dramatic increase in anxiety and got yeast infections both times. It was pretty awful. These symptoms drove me crazy until we figured out it was my BCP and so I hope this helps any woman who is having the same troubles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
packersbadgers12 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first it made my mood uncontrollable but after a few months it calmed down. I gained a little weight but it's not noticeable and my boobs grew almost a cup size so i can't complain. Spotting, cramps, and acne breakouts were pretty bad at first also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nicole | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/1/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained weight and have high blood pressure sometimes cramping is not always bad. Had some chest pain recently not sure what the reason was for that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/8/2012
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the only one that I have tried that has regulated my periods. And of course kept me from getting pregnant. However, its made me sweat more than I used to. I also never had a yeast infection before this, but I don't know for sure if that is related.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nothappy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a month and a half and have gained 12 pounds. No change in diet or physical activity. Just this med. I am not happy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More