Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

Strangely enough this medication started working imediately. Just one spray in each side before bed each night did the trick. I was able to breath through my nose all night and in the morning I didnt have a big build-up of snot to blow out. What a relief.

Shared reviews and ratings

Freedom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/7/2019
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fall allergies have always been awful for 60 years! First time I hardly knew it was fall, except for beautiful leaves, 2018. No swollen eyes, a little running nose which was no big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edkaye66 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insurance stopped paying for my fluticasone propionate which worked great. Then I get this flunisolide made by Bauch and Laumb. What a huge disappointment. It Stings the inside of my nose every time. I would put up with the stinging. but the stuff doesn't even work well. I'm still stuffed up at bedtime. Stick with the optics products Bauch and Lomb!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patrick S | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really like flunisolide! May sound crazy but I like the burn. (My wife has used flunisolide & says for her it's very effective but doesn't like the burn or taste in back of mouth but uses it anyway.) I'm being switched from this to Flonase & personally hate the weird taste / smell when using it & I don't feel it's nearly effective as the one I was using for a couple years. I had used Flonase about 5 years ago & felt the same about it back then. Seems Flonase takes frequent use to be effective but I swear the flunisolide works right away the first time. I started searching the comparisons/contrasts and am finding each sound to be effective with certain people & certain conditions. At least I don't feel as much like my doc/ provider were merely moving me to an el cheapo with no proper evidence of effectiveness. Thanks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BR | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2015
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Nose Not due to Allergies
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with the other reviews that this spray is painful to use - it burns...... Much better relief and satisfaction with Nasacort - triamcinolone (which is no longer available by prescription - but over the counter) or Nasonex. Flonase has a strange smell to it which caused me to stop using.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
San Diego | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for more than 15 years. It keeps my sinuses from being irritated. I have had far fewer colds since I started using Flunisolide. I tried a few substitutes over the years but for me, this works best by far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My new insurance (coventry) would not let me get the same nasal spray I have been using for years, said I must try this, thanks Obama! This spray is so so very painful to use. I have never been able to get 2 squirts in each nose, one time sends me through the roof. I have suffered all summer with allergies when for years I had it under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leetleleenda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We have 4 cats and I'm allergic to them. We love our babies and would never get rid of them...I'm grateful to be able to love them close up now...Thanks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Firefox | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find Flunisolide Nasal to be quite effective. After many years, I am now able to breathe through my nose. However, a major drawback to this nasal spray is the burning sensation when sprayed. Unfortunate but severe enough to make a change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leerose503 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/1/2013
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Nose Not due to Allergies
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was diagnosed with sleep apnea.. it literally was required to use this nose spray although I did not think I had any sinus problems. I used it for a year straight and concluded the serious stinging after each use was due to the added alcohol in the new cheaper generic brand and my nose was raw due to extended use. I stopped using since the sting was so unbearable and I cant decide if it reduced my sleep apnea or not. Its been over a year now and I've started use again due to chronic dry mucus and crusty eyes every morning. I hope it works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
finlaybernal | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fluticasone was supplied as a sub for flunisolde & it was not effective at all. Question, Why was it considered a generic sub for Flonase?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 26 and have suffered with year-round allergies my entire life. I have taken many nasal sprays and switched to Flunisolide due to insurance coverage. This is the most painful nasal spray. I have never had a problem with Nasonex or Flonase, but this burns so bad I am not able to take my full dosage (two squirts per nostril, twice a day). I can only do one squirt/nostril because it burns. The taste is also so bad! There are much better products that are way more effective and without the pain!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trt | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

for 40 years I have fought allergies. This nasal spray helps with the inflamation and pain year round. I do not like the weird taste I get, but it goes away quickly. Am going to a specialist to discuss long term effects of this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2011
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find that most of this medication runs back out of the nose. It also burns when sprayed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/11/2010
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/4/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Strangely enough this medication started working imediately. Just one spray in each side before bed each night did the trick. I was able to breath through my nose all night and in the morning I didnt have a big build-up of snot to blow out. What a relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
USAFSGT | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2009
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Nose Not due to Allergies
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with chronic, bilateral, maxillary, sinusitis with the accompanying severe congestion for over 30 years. I have had 3 sinus operations in the past. Have lived on some medication or another. While not a big fan of inhaled steroids I will confess that it works. It is better than the old inhaler filled with Beconase.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/10/2008
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came from using Flonase which worked well. That only needs to be used once a day. 2-3 times is a hassle. Plus, I have had a cough ever since I started using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2008
Condition: Allergic Rhinitis Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this works for me whne nothing else does and stops sinus headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More