Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

Sensodyne Repair and Protect uses this and has worked wonders for my sensitivity.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

This drug should have never been approved by the F.D.A. it dissolves the skin on the lips and the gums in Crest Pro Health. We have before and after pics for proof. Do not use this product

Shared reviews and ratings

Patrick Lambert | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
2/16/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had issues with irritation with Crest detox, SF but found it excellent at preventing gum bleeding, inflammation and tooth ache/sensitivity. Tried the cheaper Equate brand,"Gum Purify" and had excellent results without the strong crest taste & irritation! Found Sensydyne version of SF acceptable as well but cost and an gum infection (suppose to prevent) had me switch to Crest. Equate Gum Purify = best of all, lowest cost, mild flavor without significant irritation and most importantly, healthy gums and teeth past 14 months on it. Do use Crest whitening mouthwash to offset any yellowing that can crop up with Stanous Fluoride (SF) toothpaste use for some folks, but my tooth health out weighs my vanity! Haven't tried Colgate Complete SF toothpaste yet but may if the Equate ever lets me down. Until I switched to SF toothpaste, at least once a day before bedtime, I was getting chronic periodontal disease and lost a tooth to it (about my 55th BD). The past 5 years since SF Q-day before bed and problem solved - I do a thorough rinse with Crest brilliant white mouth wash after meals or coffee etc. As well. Hope this helps someone, it works for me, Patrick Lambert, Lewiston Idaho. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kcc |
10/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It burns my gums, the behind of my lips and my tongue. First time to experience this.. It caused inflammation all over my mouth, I don’t know what ingredient it has that was so strong to irritate the mouth like this. They need to further review their product before selling this to the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine H | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2021
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Crest Pro Active Defense has .454% of Stannous fluoride as it's main ingrediant. I used it to control plaque. Within a week of using this product my teeth were turning brown in between them and by the gums. My teeth looked horrible. I couldn't remove the browning with flossing or mouthwash. I went to my dentist who said this product causes staining. She was able to remove the brown with intense polishing, ultrasonic tool, and dental tool scraping. Over an hour later my teeth were white again. This product didn't do anything it claimed on the package.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I brushed my teeth with regular toothpaste first as needed to. Then I used the stannous flouride toothpaste, a small amount, but it began to feel like it was burning my mouth. Later I had a severe headache that caused vomiting. Waited a few days before trying again, with an even smaller amount, but same side effects except didn't vomit but got close. Is this supposed to give you such bad headaches? I refuse to use this ever again. My regular toothpaste doesn't cause any issues. Guess I'll just have to keep to my toothpaste and floss.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ColdSensitive | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2016
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sensodyne Repair and Protect uses this and has worked wonders for my sensitivity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bugaboo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2015
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stannous Flouride(active ingredient in crest Pro Health Toothpaste) is a much better solution for the prevention of cavities than other flourides. My experience has been very good using this product. Will definitely buy again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sensodyne Pronamel Repair & Protect has stannous fluoride. I started using it for sensitivity and it addressed that issue but within two weeks of using it I began getting a grayish film (like plaque) all around the areas closest to the gums as well as the area in between my teeth. I'm guessing this is the staining they warn can occur. The only way it would come off was if I vigorously scraped it with my fingernail or a dental tool, Brushing and flossing did nothing. At first I was really afraid my teeth were decaying since it looked horrible and my teeth became a dingy yellow. I had just visited a dentist 2 months prior and received an overall good bill of health and have always flossed & brushed several times, daily and do not drink coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. So after vehemently searching the web- I am deducing that this is the reason. I stooped using it last night and will get back to a dentist for a another thorough cleaning.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TurntLoke | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the ingredient in Sensodyne Repair & Protect and worked GREAT for Sensitivity as my front teeth were hurting from air & cold drinks. Never had any issues w/ allergic reactions like everyone else is saying but that's for a different brand

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peeler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2014
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't have some of the problems others mention BUT I always have a lot of PEELING immediately upon use. Do have to say my checkup was fine BUT do not recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JK | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get the feeling that whatever is the normal treatment of this toothpaste, that you should rinse after using this than using it. If not spit this much gobs of skin since I had braces, I will rinse it out from now on. It's probably a side effect of the chemical that is why it reduces pain, it also removes sensitivity of tasters on tongue, everything feels smooth afterward.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momof2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/6/2013
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I purchased mine from HEB and got it O.T.C but from the pharmacy (not off the isle and it's not a CREST brand but more expensive brand. I have used it off/on for cavity protection and tooth sensitivety. I reading about it again b/c Im going to use it more due to more cavity prevention and Id like to use a whitener on my teeth. I recommend going to the pharmacy and asking for the "teeth staneous fluride gel".Mine is cleat & flavored like cinnamin. The products do work when used correctly also and by good brands not CHEAP brands.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2012
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also had that thick whiteness form on my teeth an hour or so after using Crest Pro Health. I had to stop using it after a couple of days as I felt that whatever that stuff was that formed on my teeth, gums and lips was also starting to clog my throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2011
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used crest pro health care. Did not experience any of the peeling reactions others have had, but it was gritty even after rinsing and, even worse, it made everything I ate taste absolutely terrible. Even water! Emailed crest they said the grit was normal and the taste side effects were the stannous flouride. Sent me a coupon for free crest toothpaste... Much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joy from Kissimmee, FL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2011
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Crest Pro Health only ONE TIME. Please do not use this product. For 2 hours immediately after using this product, I had excessive areas of a white thickness substance which formed on my tongue (especially) and lips and I had to keep pulling it off. Also, between all of my teeth at the gumline was the same which I had to floss off. It was horrible. I called Crest and although non-sympathetic, I was offered a coupon in the mail for any sized product I wanted for compensation. Crest told me that all my complaints were normal, including the "gritty" taste in my mouth after brushing. I was also told that this product has only been on the market a couple months. There are other ways to aid in gum health, like flossing, and without side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2011
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Crest Pro-Health toothpaste has caused an allergic reaction that is very annoying. Tiny blisters have formed on my bottom lip and chin, followed by peeling of all the skin affected. After three separate bouts, I have narrowed down this reaction to using Stannous Flouride in this toothpaste. I will report this to the FDA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elkrunrockies | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2011
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Crest Pro Health toothpaste has in it stannous fluoride - irritated my mouth and lips - lost a layer or two of skin - do not use Crest Pro Health

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrsroche | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2009
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug should have never been approved by the F.D.A. it dissolves the skin on the lips and the gums in Crest Pro Health. We have before and after pics for proof. Do not use this product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2008
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dosage for children is difficult to monitor. I have discontinued use due to a small child in the house overdosing and vomiting. I would NOT recommend use of this in a home with young children.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More