Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I made the mistake of reading these reviews when I recently prescribed Junel and almost called my doctor to switch before even trying. I decided to stick it out given that my experiences with Ortho and Cyclessa were horrendous anyway. I AM SO HAPPY I DID. Bottom line- you have to try it to know if it works for you or not. I haven't had a single side effect. If anything, my mood has improved drasti...

Shared reviews and ratings

N | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gynecologist recommended this as I was having severe depression the last week of active pills of another brand that I'd been on for years. However, Junel 1/20 was even worse. I've never bloated as bad as I did on Junel. My stomach was huge and I couldn't even wear my rings. My moods were erratic. I felt out of control. The only good things that came out of using this birth control was my periods were practically nonexistent and my breasts were not sore and tender the week before my period. I called my gynecologist expressing my concerns about my horrible mood swings. He wanted me to give it three months but I had to go back to my old bc after two months. Junel 1/20 just didn't work for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
loopydoop | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bad side effects from this unfortunately: extremely moody, irregular bleeding, no libido, headaches, slight weight gain and hair loss. I only lasted 6 months on this. I was hoping my body and hormones would adjust by 6 months but nothing. I was so miserable that I had to stop. Read the reviews. If you don’t have negative side effects, you’re one of the lucky ones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elise | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried three different combo birth control pills and this one is by far my favorite. I switched to junel 1/20 from setlakin and my skin improved a lot and my moods are SO much better. On the higher dose of estrogen I was on before I would get so exhausted all the time and I felt depressed a lot of the time. Junel has made being on birth control so much more comfortable for me. The bad reviews scared me at first but you really have to just try a medication to see if it works with you. I love this formulation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela M. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While using this medication, I had the worse period of my life. It was very heavy and I had "HUGE" blood clots. Sorry to be descriptive but it scared me. No pain medication took the pains away. I was unable to walk for a week until I stopped taking the pill. I had to even take days off work. The day I stopped taking the pill, my period stopped and the pains went away. I changed to this medication to help with the little acne and it made me break out so bad. I had big bumps around my chin and jaw line, my chest and neck. I have never had a pimple in any of those areas. I hope this helps someone. It sure helped me to read the reviews to know that my issue was this med not my body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to Junel after taking another brand (can’t remember the name) and I love Junel. Before I was experiencing moodiness, no sex drive, acne, etc. and after being switched to Junel I have no side effects! Love this medication and will never take any other!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from LoLoestrine for the price to Junel. The first 2 months were okay, but I think I just still had Loestrine in my system but I've switched back to Loestrine because I have been bleeding brown for 2 months straight going on 3. Although it has been restricted to a pantyliner, so it isn't heavy, Loestrine worked so much better for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glad I switched | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second kind of birth control that I have been on. The first one I was on, a progestin only pill, resulted in irregular bleeding and mood swings; however, after switching, everything has improved. I no longer have the mood swings, and there is no irregular bleeding. I have no noticeable side effects from this medication. Also, aside from acting as birth control, the pill has also greatly helped with my periods. Before, mine were very heavy, painful, and irregular. Now they are easily managed and predictable. For as long as I need birth control, this is the one I will be taking. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Choirchick16 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Junel 1/20 was my first BC. I had nausea when I first started taking it, but that went away after a week. I've had always fairly clear skin, but this somehow cleared it up even more! I was fairly moody for the first several months, but that started to even out. I was skipping the placebos, but I was having a lot of spotting, some of it getting quite heavy for spotting. It was just starting to get more manageable at the start of month 5, and I would have stuck it out for a bit longer, but... My sex drive tanked. Had I been single, I probably would have stuck it out for a while, but... I'm switching to something else to see if my body reacts/adjusts better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This review is solely for the girl, like me, who FREAKED OUT, before starting the pill. A little back story- I am 27, never have taken birth control before, and have a regular cycle which is 4 days a month (not super light, but not heavy at all.) I was nervous that I was going to 1: get sick, 2: be an emotional wreck, 3: absolutely hate it, 4: have spotting. While I am only at the end of my first week, I have had absolutely no symptoms other than my back being sore. My period lasted its normal 4 days and is gone with no spotting. While symptoms may eventually come, for the girl who is nervous just like I was, you really need to give it a try and see how your body reacts. The negative reviews scared me endlessly, but so far so good!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/3/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been great! I’ve been on Junel for 4 years. My periods are basically nonexistent, cramps are gone, acne reduced, and I stopped gaining weight. I’ve only had 1 issue in the 4 years I’ve been on it, being I started my period a week and a half early without having missed any pills. Other than that, I have absolutely no complaints.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jemmy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/13/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on multiple forms of birth control over 15 years and this drug made me a complete lunatic. I cried at everything- like uncontrollable tantrums (at 30 yrs old). I was extremely moody and started to have terribly depressed thoughts and even suicidal dreams. I stopped taking it after the first pack. My fiance immediately told me I wasn't myself and to go off it. I've never experienced side effects like that on birth control!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Col | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only been taking this pill for about a month but so far I am very happy with the results. I was very nervous to start this bc based off the other reviews but I’ve have a fairly positive experience. Before taking Junel I would get terrible cramps that’s would cause me to cancel plans and resposiblies and extremely heavy periods. I now only have very minor if any cramping at all during my period and a significantly lighter flow. The only semi problem I’ve experienced is a little acne but I’m sure this is because my body is normalizing to the hormones and hope this begin to go away.. I hope this helps and reduces some of your nerves about this pill :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happily Not Pregnant | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using Junel for over 3 years with no issues. Lighter and extremely regular periods, no pregnancy scares, no spotting, no weight gain or increase of acne. I'll be staying on Junel until honey gets snipped!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ange | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2017
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this to battle osteoporosis and start my period again after 10 yrs of secondary amenorrhea. Overall, I'm very happy. However the first month was rough; my stomach and intestines felt awful and a lot of bloating. Only experienced those side effects that first month. I'm now 4 months into using Junel 1/20 and the only side effect is breast tenderness. No mood changes, no weight gain, period starts right on schedule.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angie | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2017
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been ignoring my amennorhea for 10yrs, finally went to the doctor and was given junel 1/20. I only experienced gastrointestinal side effects and bloating for the first month. Period came on schedule. 2nd and 3rd month the side effects were minimal. Overall very happy with junel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from Lo loestrin to this because of the price and I will definitely be switching back to Lo loestrin despite the price. It's been 3 months and I've been breaking out, multiple yeast infections, irregular period, constant spotting. It's horrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2016
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hell, was on this medication for a grand total of 10 days, started with extreme iritability and depression (on an antidepressant which was counter acted by this) extreme sensitivity to light, constepation, headaches, stomach cramps, and then extremely painful leg cramps. Stopped taking had to be checked out for deep vein thrombosis (which i did not have that god) going back to an old birth control only reason went on this is because the pharmacyst switched my generic. I was on this for PCOS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/18/2016
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Junel for over four years now. I started because of painful periods accompanied by mood swings and acne. Since starting Junel, my acne has cleared and I only get spotting at the most during my periods. I have had no adverse side effects are recommend to all my friends that struggle with painful periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bailey | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 18 and have used this birth control since I was 16. I originally got it to help with my periods and oily skin, which had really helped! My periods are lighter and I rarely get acne. However the only problem I have with this pill is my vagina dryness. I was in a relationship and often had trouble having second because I couldn't get wet enough. It's really frustrating for me, and was also frustrating for my boyfriend. I love this pill but I'm more concerned with my natural lubrication so I may need to switch in order to be more comfortable with myself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jules | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Janel for the last 3 months due to endometriosis. Before starting the med my first day of my period was horrible. I would have severe cramping pain in close to 10, I would have to take a vicodin and a Norco to help with the pain. My doctors started me on the med to help with the pain that it has. I am finishing up my 3rd month and about to start my 4th month at the end of the week. I have noticed and that I feel run down more tired than normal, I don't sleep very well and sometimes I am very emotional, I also feel like I am gaining a lot of weight. The last 3weeks I have noticed that I have started bleeding I have since contacted my doctor since this is a severe side effect and was told to hold on and continue on with my 4th month. I am unable to get in to the gyn doctor for another 3 weeks. I am not sure what I should do I am totally frustrated. This med did help with the pain during my periods but with the other effects that I am having I rather take the one day pain compared to 3 weeks of bleeding with no end in sight and no help from my doctor. Thank you for sharing your experiences it has helped answer some of my questions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More