Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

3 People found this comment helpful

I have had no problems with this pill. A headache now and then but that's normal for me. I have spotting sometimes depending on if I remembered to take the pill on time. I used to take tricyclin and I was emotional as ever. With this, I am not emotional just around my period. I've been taking it for 4 months now, and so far so good.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

After one week of taking Hummel I got my period. And it continued until I finished the pack. I decided to stop taking it. I continued my period for an additional 2 weeks. It's been a little over 2 weeks since the bleeding stopped. I haven't had my regular cycle yet. I also broke out like a teenager. This pill was definitely not for me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bfeld | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lo Losterin for years until my insurance stopped covering it. I absolutely loved Losterin. Since I started Junel 3 months ago, I am absolutely miserable. I have gained weight, my boobs are huge and tender, I’m Hormonal, moody and have night sweats. I also have never gotten migraines in my entire life until Junel. This pill is NOT for me. Getting off ASAP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a year of Paragard, these periods are like actual vacations. I don't like going a week without taking any pills, because that's harder for me to remember to start taking them again, and my face is like a teenage boy's at the moment. However, my PMS was very tame after I began taking these pills, my cramps are minor and my flow is VERY light. After bleeding constantly for a year and having debilitating cramps with that stupid IUD, I will deal with the minor inconvenience of breakouts at period time and having to set a reminder on my phone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jojo24 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First packet it was cool, nothing abnormal or anything. I'm on the second packet with spitting or breakthrough, really hoping it's the second one, but otherwise a good product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ry | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/30/2017
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Junel for almost 5 years now. I started it when I was quite young (painful periods), and never really noticed any side effects with it at the beginning. I now use it for birth control as well, and so far so good. After about a year of taking it, however, I randomly lost around 10-15 pounds, and I canâ??t gain it back no matter how hard I try. I have always been very petite and small, so not being able to gain the weight back is frustrating. Other than the weight change, I would highly recommend this birth control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(I gave the ease to use three stars because I have to be reminded to take it) I was prescribed this birth control after taking Microgestion for awhile and it helped me put my body back on track. I was able to lose the weight I gained on microgestion, get my sex drive back, and also not be moody! I would recommend this to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Weewoo | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2015
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Guys, my doctor first perscribed me Loestrin fe and I had horrible breakthrough bleeding. I went through 3 birth controls before my doctor gave me this one. If you are bleeding through your birth control, you need a different/higher dosage! I am 18 and all my gyn's tried to start me off at low dosage and i told them that I couldnt take those because they wouldnt work for me. nonetheless id try them, lo and behold, breakthrough periods! Needed a higher dosage. This bc has helped me tons with slowing down my facial hair (I was diagnosed with PCOS) and controlling my period. I have the all active, 21 day pills. Some will not work for your body but if you are spotting that badly, you might just need a higher dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Yazmin for years but started spotting. My dr switched me to Junel and it was awful. I was on it for five months and had two periods a month, was moody, emotional, and constantly picking fights with my boyfriend. I also felt depressed. Horrible. I have switched back to my previous medicine and my mental state is much better, no fights, no spotting. I must admit thought, the Junel cleared my skin up nicely. Now that I'm back on ocella, I've started to break out. Hopefully that will subside in time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started junel the sunday after my period stopped. i am now into the second month. i have had 2 weeks of spotting and 1 week in between of what i consider to have been my period (although 5 days earlier than last month). i have also developed a heavy amount of breakouts, even in places i don't usually get blemishes. i don't care for junel at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mr | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/7/2014
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No spotting, I like being able to control my periods, no moodyness, or depression or any other crazy symptoms. I love this product except, my sex drive is really low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
e_w659 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Junel for bad cramps, irregular and heavy periods, and just as birth control in general. I had no side effects, but the first time I got my period after I started I had horrible cramps to the point that I couldn't move. I decided to give it another month and I had bad cramps, but they weren't as bad as the ones the time before. I will give it another month, but if the cramps don't get better I will probably switch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
junelhater | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on birth control for about a decade now and this is by far the worst. I have been moody, no energy (taking naps for the majority of the day), basically I am either crying, sleeping, or screaming. I am going back to Jolessa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insurance stopped covering the BeYaz that I used to take (loved it). My doctor switched me to this and I hate it. My period was supposed to be over a week ago and I still have very dark discharge. I'm calling my doctor asap to get it changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2013
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor switched me to Junel because my insurance stopped covering my Nuvaring (which I loved by the way). I am miserable on Junel! I am moody ALL the time, which isn't normal; low energy; ZERO sex drive; gained weight,it makes me feel hungry constantly; and lets not forget the spotting and dark discharge a week and half out of the three then followed by a full blown period. I stuck it out for 4 months as recommended by the doctor, she is now switching me, but I have been truely miserable on this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmarie89 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started my second month on this pill 2 days ago. First month I experienced headaches which are uncommon for me as well as a lot of mood swings, low sex drive, and an increase in breast size, which for me I'm not happy with especially since they feel swollen and tender. I decided to stick with it because this was the first pill I tried that didn't make me nauseous all the time. My period came on the 3rd day during the week with no pills, was much lighter and less painful then usual and only lasted 3 days. Severe cramps were one of the main reasons I started taking this so this was a plus along with the fact that all the initial side effects disappeared during the no pill week. Now that I started the second pack it's starting to make me nauseous along with all the other side effects I had with the first pack. Going to try and stick it out for one more month to see if the side effects go away and if it starts to clear up my moderate acne. I haven't noticed any improvement or worsening of my acne since I started. May write another review with my progress.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
China | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After one week of taking Hummel I got my period. And it continued until I finished the pack. I decided to stop taking it. I continued my period for an additional 2 weeks. It's been a little over 2 weeks since the bleeding stopped. I haven't had my regular cycle yet. I also broke out like a teenager. This pill was definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HopeHAK | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/6/2013
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on this drug for a little over a year and i get urinary track infections all the time, the are unpleasent and hurt . this product keeps my face clear and i NEVER get my period <3

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mfdgdg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost done with my first pack, and so far it doesn't seem as bad as i have been reading from others. I was taking lo estrin for 4 years befor and switched to this as its the generic. So mabey that is why? I had a few headachs, but that is normal for me, i wasn't getting my period on loestrin either, so we will see how this goes. No extreme moodyness or depression, all seams well there. I did take a pregnacy test as i was a lil nauseous for the first week. But all is well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tshem | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no problems with this pill. A headache now and then but that's normal for me. I have spotting sometimes depending on if I remembered to take the pill on time. I used to take tricyclin and I was emotional as ever. With this, I am not emotional just around my period. I've been taking it for 4 months now, and so far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was first put on Junel I had the 20mg dosage, it caused a very dark discharge for me, I was immediately taken off it. Then my family doctor referred me to a GYN, who thought maybe the dosage is two low so he up-ed it to 30mg dosage, I continue to have this dark discharge and recently, I've developed cysts on my ovaries, one complex cyst on my left, and a hemmorhagic cyst on my right, this was a complete shock to my GYN, because Junel is supposed to stop me from ovulating, which it didn't because I wouldn't have cysts if it did, now I'm scheduled for surgery and I'm still having the dark discharges, my GYN is going to put me on another brand because Junel does not work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More