Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Have been on Reyataz in combination with Truvada for the almost three years now. This is my first protease inhibitor and have to say that it has agreed extremely well with me. No problems whatsoever! After 6 1/2 years on my previous combination therapy, Reyataz in combination with Truvada feels like I have gained a new lease on life! I have my blood counts done every quarter, and there have b...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sam | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2020
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 300mg Atazanavir with Ritonavir and Truvada for 2.5 months. It kept me undetectable but Atazanavir turned out to be the most inflammatory HIV drug that I have taken and I've tried quite a few. On day 2 severe itchiness in arms, legs, and knees appeared, which I suppressed with 10mg loratadine. The following days I had repeating symptoms: I got stuffy nose 2 hours after I took Atazanavir/R/T in the evening, I woke up every morning with a slight headache, my knees and ankles often got swollen, my calve muscles ached without exerting them, my leg joints hurt after only 10 000 steps/day as if I was an 80 years old with arthritis, some days I didn't even have the energy to walk 10 000 steps. I could partially suppress all these symptoms with anti-inflammatory ibuprofen OR Milk Thistle Extract OR 10g/day L-Glutamine (the best of all). Lab values were normal: LDL was not elevated at all, only the fasting glucose was slightly outside normal range 100 mg/dL. Bilirubin was increased way outside the normal range but that was expected - it didn't make my skin or the white of my eyes too yellow so that concern did not realize. The only positive thing is that I slept better, with actual dreams, than on most other HIV drugs. At the end I switched to Tivicay and Truvada. No more weird inflammatory leg symptoms. If you must be on a Protease Inhibitor, Darunavir (Prezista) is way more tolerable than Atazanavir, at least for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bscottmatt | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/9/2013
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other than some mild diarrhea (which is no longer an issue) I never noticed any ill effects from this combo. However over the last year and a half to two years I've been battling bad moods and severe depression and insomnia. Not sure if it's the medicine or the HIV itself or a combination of the two, as well as situational factors, i.e. finances, etc. Decided to stick with the combo though and try adding Remeron. I feel much better. After a stint in the psych ward I was prescribed Seroquel (HORRIBLE!) and Wellbutrin (HORRIBLE!) but am now off both of these medicines. The Remeron helps me sleep and is an atypical anti-depressant. I also take Neurontin and 5HTP for sleep. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rigo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2013
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Truvada+Reyataz+Norvir and had terrible awful depressive moods, suicidal thoughts and had to stop this treatment. My doctor was aghast for there are no records of such deep depressions as far as Reyataz is concerned. I cant go near to it. Its really crazy to find out some people do great on it, and I am one in a million to experience such negative results. Reyataz gave me the sensation of total hopelessness as if being traped in an airless cement cage! Norvir was terrible too. Now i will be put into another combo to see how I do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ratluvr | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/2/2013
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken just Reyataz with Epzicom for four years (no Norvir boost). I take nightly with dinner. Excellent results and no noticeable side effects. Have remained undetectable, and my T's have steadily increased...about 480 when I started, last counts have been around 1000. Other measures (lipids, etc) have also remained good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/29/2011
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started my first HART therapy with reyataz, truvada and norvir 2 yrs ago. 1st diagnosed HIV+ in 1988. This is 1st go at treating the HIV. CD4, <100 before and now is >200. Viral load vanished to undetectable. Happy with the results, however have had some minor overall health changes, i.e., mood changes, muscle weakness, trouble sleeping, frequent thirst/urination and more tired than before therapy started. Overall though I am able to live with these minor changes. As stated in previous reviews..YOU MUST be proactive with this disease and your HIV Doc. Best to all of you with HIV.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2elhha | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/21/2011
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication has been most effective in my reatment program

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/12/2010
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i find myself tired all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2010
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 4 1/2 years on Reyataz in combination with Truvada I have to report that I am changing regiment. Reyataz has served me very very well and I am very very happy. However these last six months my bilirubin levels continue to be very, very high although my other liver functions continue to be normal. I don't know what it all means, but I stronly recommend Reyataz and continue to recommend that you be proactive in your treatment and learn as much as you can about your medications and the effect they have on your wellness.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/19/2009
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 5 years. At first had a lot of vomitting and diarhea (about 3 weeks). No complaints now. Viral load undetectable and CD4 count 1500.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tommy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2009
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from Trizivir/Kaletra to Reyataz/Epzicom. Liver enzymes quadrupled (negative for Hep A,B,C, no alcohol) in first month and a different type of fatigue set in. Two months into into new regimen and it seems to be only a nominal improvement over old. Regimen choices seem to be either high cholesterol or liver damage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2009
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects are worst than they explian

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glory | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2009
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects, all is well and very happy with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elaine461985 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2009
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's good for u to take your HIV med's so u can stay healthy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rino | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/30/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Reyataz in combination with Truvada for the almost three years now. This is my first protease inhibitor and have to say that it has agreed extremely well with me. No problems whatsoever! After 6 1/2 years on my previous combination therapy, Reyataz in combination with Truvada feels like I have gained a new lease on life! I have my blood counts done every quarter, and there have been no liver abnormalities since I began taking this medication. Be proactive in your health care!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
manuel | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/2/2008
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

easy to take .no side effects except for fat deposits in the neck and abdominal areas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/26/2007
Condition: HIV
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched from Viracept in an attempt to stop the eternal diahrrea. I was not warned by my hiv doc and when I was tested several months later my liver enzymes were all elevated over 300. I am now treating my liver with diet, obviously a change to another drug and my enzymes are dropping rapidly. However, thje jury is still out on my chances. We as yet, have not done a biopsy and I am feeling better. Please keep your fingers crossedd for me. I am a68 year old man hiv+ over 113 years with excellent CD 4's and undetectable viral load. BEWARE OF THIS DRUG. TELL YOUR PROVIDER YOU WANT A COMPREHENSIVE LIVER PANEL WITHIN 10 DAYS OF STARTING IT PLEASE. As you can see I am not a happy camper with this drug or with my doc.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/25/2007
Condition: Prevention of HIV Infection after Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nothing that troubled me . My tolerance rate was extremely high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More