Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

I have been on many different eye-pressure lowering eyedrops for both eyes over the past 10 years; the most recent, Lumigan, for about three years now. I think my eyes become resistant to each medication because eventually my pressure would always go back up and it became necessary to try something else. Two months ago, after seeing my opthomologist for follow-up, the pressure in my right eye was ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

ok

Shared reviews and ratings

Steph1952 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking Azopt for 6 months and developed severe tinnitus. After searching for a cause for three weeks discovered that tinnitus is a known but rare side effect. Stopped using Azopt and tinnitus started fading. Now three weeks later it is so quiet , most days, I don’t even notice it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have tried many drugs, they all had bad side effects, mouth sores, deja vu, Lumigan made me feel like I had the flu. Been using Azopt for about 10 years straight twice a day. Now have muscles were there were none for 50 years. No roid rage though. Drug lowered pressures from 25 to 17.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zimoy2020 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2017
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't cause grogginess.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vatrekker | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/27/2015
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this for over a year, I did experience side effects like stuffy nose, and drainage. Until I got off this med, I did not realize the side effects as taking 2 other prescribed eye drops

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaryAnn | 55-64 | Female | Patient
10/27/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every other glaucoma drug caused my eyes to be extremely red and in terrible pain. Then I tried Azopt and it successfully lowers my pressure without any pain or redness whatsoever to my eyes. I have used this drug for four years. Don't give up if you are having a problem with your eye med, just obtain samples from your opthamologist until you find the one that agrees with you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vatrekker | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using over a year. Doctor had to add combigan to lower pressure further. I also use dry eye drops. After using it for 6 months has been no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stephapede | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me, I have not experienced the negative side effects many other reviewers have stated. Yes, my vision becomes blurry after use, but only for a few minutes. There is also a bad taste in my mouth which goes away. These are much better than Lumigan for me. They have also lowered my pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rbta6a | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/11/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug caused my eyes to burn and become very irritated. I developed blurred vision and had to use preservative free lucbricating eye drops frequently. I had to stop using the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
4/5/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THESE BOTTLES ARE SO SMALL AND DIFFICULT TO USE THAT MY 88 YEAR OLD WIFE CANNOT JUST GET ONLY ONE DROP OUT BY ITSELF. WE THEREFORE HAVE TO BUY EXTRA DROPS AND THE INSURANCE DOES NOT COVER THESE EXTRA DROPS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oldtarr | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/31/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

feels like it is full of sand! Leaves acinder-like residue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The Rickster | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2013
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Burning, cloudy vision for five minutes or longer. Plan NOT to drive for at least that period of time. Other side effects I've experienced are occasional dizziness and headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roselulu | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/1/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel this med stings my eye.. I feel like my eyes are blurry since I also use another eye drop in right. I insisted my dr. Test my eyes again because I thought the drops were hurting my eyesight. I go back in July

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
superdutyx1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/12/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ok

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MawMaw | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thomasleeevans | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blurred vision that lasts 12 hours or more. Headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wxyzp | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every one who use Azopt: Did you shake before you use? Did you Look DOWNWARD and gently close your eyes for 1 to 2 minutes? I just find it out after I used it for a year. Please try that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mundy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced problems with the side effects from my previous drops. My eye DR decided it would be better for me to come off beta blockers and put me on Lumigan once a day and Azopt twice a day. At first I was very pleased because the side effects weren't so bad. Just Nausea, bad taste, dripping at back of throat, sore eyes and headache. But after 3 months I started to develop breathlessness and uncomfortable tight feeling in my chest. I came off all drops when I had the flu about 3 weeks ago as I couldn't breath. Found after a week that my blood pressure returned to normal (it had started to get a bit high) and I felt comfortable with my breathing and I also noticed I felt happier so i must have been a bit depressed too. I started up the medication again 3 days ago. Very tight choking feeling, pain in my left arm, cramps, upset stomach, sleepy as well as the dry feeling in my throat. I also feel aprehensive. So I think it's definately the meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gaylemom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/15/2012
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has caused kidney stones and now it appears I have gout. Since gout is related to the kidney function and comes on often after kidney stones, i assume the medication is causing the gout also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My eyes get very red and have been having dizzy spells

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
azopt | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been using this medication for a couple of weeks. My eyes are blurry

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More