Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking Benicar HCT for a few months now. My blood pressure before taking it was around 148/95. Now, after a few months it stays around 90/70 and when I drink alcohol, it shoots up to about 138/80, then back down the next day. This drug is easy to take (orally), only one a day. I'm on the 20/12.5. I don't like taking medicines because of side effects. However, this one had no side effec...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Blood clot

Shared reviews and ratings

Joann | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked to keep my BP in check, but I should mention that I developed squamous cell cancer and have just learned that hydrochlorothiazide is the reason. Patients should be cautioned to avoid sunlight while taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/3/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DR put me on Benicar 20/12.5 HCTZ which was effective at controlling my BP. A year ago switched to generic olmesartan. Six months ago BP started to rise again. Apparently there is a range of effectiveness depending on the manufacturer. BP spiked again to 145/100 range, topping out at 165/118. Started new dose of generic Olmesartan HCTZ 40/12.5 today. We'll see how that works out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/8/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Benicar became too expensive, so I changed to Olmesartan. The transition was easy and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/19/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on benicar hct but doctor had to change to generic olmesartain. Not sure if this medicine is making be have dizzy fainting spells. Has anyone else had these issues?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood clot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
syd44 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Massive hair loss from this stupid drug! Was on Benicar with no side effects and doctor decided to give me the generic. Wow! This same thing happened when I took Atenolol and I had to fight to get another drug. Doctor kept saying it was probably hereditary and I argued until I got the Benicar. Then they went and changed it. Going back on Benicar now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OLMAT- H | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor advised to the drug for controlling high blood pressure.urine released frequently.There is no side effect seen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2009
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/27/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lyoung1101 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Benicar HCT for a few months now. My blood pressure before taking it was around 148/95. Now, after a few months it stays around 90/70 and when I drink alcohol, it shoots up to about 138/80, then back down the next day. This drug is easy to take (orally), only one a day. I'm on the 20/12.5. I don't like taking medicines because of side effects. However, this one had no side effects on me. I highly recommend for high blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/28/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects are now showing up, kidney failure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the real reason I asked my doctor for help was my swallen feet. After taking this medication my feet went back to normal. thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sweetblkf25 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/29/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this pill (20mg/12.5mg) for high blood pressure and w/in a few days the headaches I was having ceased and my blood pressure finally was in the "normal" range. Prior this taking this medication my average blood pressure was high (180/145, 170/160, 150/120 ... ect). The only thing I dislike about it is that I am only 28 yrs old and want to have start a family, which means I will have to switch and pray that the next pill works as good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2007
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor told me to take one quarter of 1 pill to start and even with that small of a dose my heartrate went up to 110 beats per minute-not good!!! Will discontinue use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More