Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

Started on an ACE about 3-1/2 years ago. Started having a cough, and my BP was not controlled. Was switched to Benicar, and the cough was gone in a little over a week. I read the posts on this drug, and had to respond. This drug did what it was suppose to do, lower my blood pressure. I have not had any side effects and I have been on it for over three years, no kidney issues, fatigue, etc. I...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

fatigue,much sweating when exercise and dizziness

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/29/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effective, no side effects, affordable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/12/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nader | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am, overall, a healthy person. In two different occasions due to some toxins and Steroid shot combined with stress, my blood pressure went to the roof (220/120). Doctors prescribed various medications and none could lower the blood pressure to my normal values (~125/80). This medication (Benicar/HCT) brought it down within a day. That was about a year ago. Since then, I started with a pill a day (40/12.5) and within few months reduced it to 1/3 of a pill daily. My average blood pressure has remained 116/73, based on 3 readings each day. This medication works very well with no side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
equinox | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/28/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used this for a year or two. worked at lowering my blood pressure from the 155/100 range to the 120/80 range. however...it cause immediate pain/bloated/burning in my stomach so much i hated taking it n wanted to get off of it, which i did at a later time changing prescriptions. i would not recommend or take again di to side effects from taking it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASTROBOY | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribe Benicar HCT 20-12.5 for H.blood pressure and my BP have been 120 or lower/by around 70 I'm 62 years old and very active this medication works grate,the only side effect that I notice is My weight went down from 174 to 163. my guess is that my body flushes by going to the bathroom often....I'm very satisfy with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
garcia1774 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Benicar 40 HTC. It works great for me! However, since the summer is now here, I have been out in the sun. Now I am covered in bumps and rashes through out my body, especially my arms and legs. Anyone else have this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rayv0728 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/22/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced weakness when I first started taking it, especially lightheadedness when getting up too fats from a crouching position. My doctor cut the medication in half, and I have had no problems since then. I have been taking it with no side effects for approx. 9 months. My BP is under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ktheodore | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/20/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 6years, works ok...downside, frequent urination, if in sun for a while,takes several months for tan to go away, eyesight has gotten worse with each year. Now wearing prescription glasses after taking for 2nd yr. Weight gain and hard to get rid of.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking med for 3wks. Extremely dizzy, lightheaded, pain in my neck and pressure in the back of my head, blurred vision. Right arm numb. frequent headache's Dr. gv me 3wks of samples. I do think this is right for me. going to Dr. tomorrow

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rama | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am taking this medicine since last fifteen days. I have developed dry cough which is very annoying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/6/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good, not great med. it does it's job but does have chronic side effects, ie frequent urination for a few hours after taking each day due to the HCT compound. Some hair loss, mild but annoying.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kipporah2000 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/25/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 mos I experienced the following: ringing of ears, rash, weight gain, eye issues. After stopping use 24 hours I started urinating again, eye symptoms stopped, itching stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa2000 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/25/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It lowered by blood pressure but it caused diarrhea and a mild nausea. A lot of urinating I was starting to feel dehydrated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TDR | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/18/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood pressure has been exceptionally stable without side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
welock | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/29/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mtbgirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Benicar caused the fewest side effects compared to several other hypertension ARB meds. No coughing!!! Libido, while nowadays mostly dormant, is not completely dead unlike other meds where libido was zero.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bill | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after just 3 pills, developed extreme head pressure and headache. So much head pain I discontinued w/o doctor's ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DAB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has my blood pressure under control

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication a for a week. Starting having loose stools.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More