Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

I started this medicine yesterday. Oddly from the rest of the post I read, my doctor ordered me to take this medication in one dose--4 pills at once. He's very good in his field and has 3 GYN offices he works in every week. He also advised me to abstain from sex for a week and no alcohol and ...that I vaginosis is SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED in the form of traditional, anal and oral sex (if your partner ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I was on 400mg 3 times a day and experienced most of the side effects. On the last day I had stomach pain and diarrhea so I decided not to continue with it. Not sure if the bad bacteria was gone. I would never take this medicine again.

Shared reviews and ratings

KahunaMax | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had parasites from a recent surf trip to Mexico. This medication got rid of them. I don't understand all complaints about the taste of the pill (?) or the small discomfort it causes. It's medicine that works. Do they think chemotherapy is fun? Take your medicine and get healthy. I'm sure glad my doc prescribed this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nosh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Infection Around a Tooth
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my second time being prescribed this antibiotic. I don’t recall any issues previously but this time round has been horrendous. I’ve had all the listed side effects from palpitations to stomach issues, feeling queasy and horrible headaches. I’ve not found the taste of the tablet to be an issue but noticed it has just made me feel very nauseous after having a dosage. I’ve been very tired and having to nap during the day due to low energy and earlier today had an awful experience where I felt my chest pains were so painful and my body felt it was just shutting down. Had to lay in bed with a hot water bottle and just wait for it to pass. Was on the verge of calling for an ambulance. It’s been an awful week and I’ve had to throw the towel in. After 5 and a half days. I was supposed to take them for 7 days but don’t think I can continue any more. Not sure why it affects some people more than others but I’ve really struggled with it this time. Strangely don’t recall any issues like this last time I was on them so confused Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Clostridium Difficile Bacteria Related Colitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I literally just took my last pill today! 15 days, 4 times a day. (2000 mg) per day! This medicine is AWFUL! The taste is unbearable and never leaves your taste buds, which made me not want to eat a lot of the time and the taste of certain foods was nasty! Headaches! Nausea, Sleepy, CRAZY! I told y husband I was gonna go outside and beat my head on the brick wall a couple times because I didn't want to take it. That's how frustrating this medicine is. GROSS! This can't be good for you? I'm with others here too, why can't they just coat it? I hope it worked for my issue and I never EVER have to take it again, because I may have to deny it! it's that gross, but I powered through it. My poor husband had to hear about it and deal with me daily on this! He is a trooper! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Imani | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for a month or two and since I didn’t do my research I trusted my PCP with their recommendations on using this for a longer period of time. This medication ended up destroying the bad bacteria and the good bacteria in my gut. So of course even more sinister bacteria showed up with no good guys to protect my gut and I got C. DIFF… TWICE!! By far the worst thing I’ve ever experienced in my life. Yeah, it got rid of the BV. But I got something else in return. My gut hasn’t been the same since. I do not recommend this medication at all. Do your research and don’t end up like me…Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hr86 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pap come back BV-had no symptoms though. 2x a day for 7 days 500mg pill was prescribed. I'm currently on day 4... Day1: slight stomach cramping, no appetite. Day2: slight stomach cramping, very small headache didn't require headache medicine, no appetite. Day3: slight headache, a hour of dizziness, no appetite. Day 4: Headache, just feel ugh, nauseated, really tired for no reason. Almost like a small tummy virus feeling. I read reviews on here before hand so I'm thankful it hasn't been to bad, Just a few days left so I'll stick it out. Eat big meals before taking pill it helps to keep from being overly nasuated and swallow pill fast to avoid gross taste lol. Hope anyone reading my review gets better quickly and best wishes for a side effect free time on this medication :). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2022
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst drug on the market. Do not take it! Flagyl made my hands, wrists, arms and ankles immobile. My joints were inflamed and I was in so much pain. I wouldn't recommend this drug to my worst enemy. It does nothing but harm to your body. Do.Not.Take!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Numbness in hands and feet and stomach pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Infection caused by Trichomoniasis Protozoa
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading the reviews of other people's experiences taking this medication, I was absolutely terrified!! I had to take this for vaginosis and trichomoniasis. This was the first time I had ever had to experience something like this so I was already scared and the reviews made it even worse. If you are reading through the reviews terrified, please allow me to reassure you that you will be fine! It cured me completely and here I am months later living a happy life! Just be sure to avoid anything with ALCOHOL OR PROPYLENE GLYCOL. Like mouthwash and some toothpastes etc. I do wonder if that had something to do with some people's said side effects. Read ingredients for everything. Take it with FOOD and stay HYDRATED! You got this!! ?? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruhi | 19-24 | Female | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medicine for BV and I am noticing a huge change in my discharge and smell, they are going away??. This medicine does not taste or feel good but the outcomes are really good. Sisters please do not stop taking this medicine if you feel sick after taking it. Somethings that helped me are I am taking it with full meal, drinking lots of water and avoiding sugars and caffeine. Hopefully it works for everyone and god gives you the strength to bear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blueberry | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

11 months after stopping medication, left with nerve damage, muscle atrophy and paralysis. This antibiotic ruined my life. Do not take unless you have a life threatening issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NYRker | 75 or over | Female | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced vomiting and dizziness for a day and a half after taking one pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shela | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/8/2021
Condition: Rapid Onset of an Intestinal Infection due to Amebae
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed to take Flagyl 500mg/tablet 3 times daily. At first, I thought that the nausea was due to my vertigo. But it progressed on the third day. I had the worst headache in my entire life that I had to try every non-pharmaceutical treatment that I know and still they didn't relieved the pain. I also has GERD but not to the point that I had to vomit, the acid was too strong. Urine discoloration was fine but it the gastrointestinal side effects and the headache was too intense. I even avoided every foods that may aggravate my condition, and filed for sickness leave. The whole experience was traumatic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob- | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2021
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Several hours after taking Flagyl I became drowsy and my thought processes slowed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2021
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worse ,medicine I have ever taken. The bad taste in my mouth was to much. My stomach ached, I could not sleep. I gave up after 4th day. I would not use medicine ever again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on Amix, Clarithromycin, Omeorazole, and Flagyl for very mildly symptomatic, biopsy proven gastritis due to H. pylori. From the first dose, there was nausea and HA. Day #2 burg were worse and a horrid bitter taste appeared, along w almost anything tasting bitter. Any food or fluid made nausea even worse, to the point on inability to sleep. I tries taking the antibiotics 2 hours apart but once I took the Metronidazole (Flagyl), the symptoms started within 30 minutes. I do not consume alcohol and am in a bland diet. I am day #4 and can’t go on taking this antibiotic. I hope the treatment without it can get rid of H. pylori … awaiting GI doc’s input.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keesl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Infection of a Woman's Reproductive Organs
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medicine did it’s job in getting rid of the bv I had come up with, but made me incredibly sick with a very upset stomach until I was done with my prescription

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2020
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horrible, horrible drug. I had the worst side effects- headache, hot flashes, chest pain, fatigue, constipation, backaches. while it did suck, it got the BV to go away. it is so important to get rid of it because it can cause major damage if it doesn't go away, so try and bear thru it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ss7ywq6x | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2020
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was apprehensive taking this medicine after reading how harsh it was but I took it with food and I had zero side effects. No nausea m. No digestive issues. Nothing. One pill and itching and irritation gone! I continued to take 1 500 mg pill twice a day for 7 days as prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2020
Condition: infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

awful, horrible experience. first 3 days, mild nausea, loss of appetite and metallic taste. After 3 days progressed to full on nausea and vomiting. stopped after first dose on 4th day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElstonsGranny | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/6/2020
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with IBS over 25 years ago and about 15 years ago I was diagnosed with Diverticulitis and I have been on Cipro and Bactrim DS but I had to go to the ER and they immediately put me on Flagyl and from then on I am on the Flagyl every time I have a Diverticulosis flare-up and by God's Grace I have not had any side effects. I have SLE Lupus and I never know when I will have a Diverticulosis flare-up but I know that I had side effects from the Cipro and Bactrim DS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More