Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

Have been dealing with nausea, cramping, diarrhea for the last 5 years after my gallblader surgery. Finally my GI doctor prescribed this medication. I am a complete different person, it has changed my life as I do not wake up every morning with "morning sickness" and I do not have to be afraid of eating and going to the bathroom all the time.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Unfortunately for me this medication has not worked at all. I have a colostomy due to cancer and have had at least 15 move-ments per day. but I keep taking it until I see my doctor again but I don't think there is anything else out there to take.

Shared reviews and ratings

Allie8691 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2020
Condition: chronic diarrhea due to bile acid malabsorption
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having my gallbladder removed, I have had the worst diarrhea. I was in the hospital for tests when I was prescribed this medicine. It has worked well for me so far but I highly advise you to dissolve it in orange juice as the taste has a kick to it!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cinnie | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2020
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not working for me. diarrhea is somewhat better, very embarrassing gas, Stomach aches, bloated, loss of appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phoenix | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/22/2019
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Cholestyramine for chronic diarrhea after having my Gall Bladder removed. The medicine works well to alleviate those symptoms when I take it twice a day. However, heed the warning about the possible damage to teeth. Apparently this stuff can quickly damage the enamel and cause tooth decay. I have 6 new cavities after taking the medicine for about 6 months, and I have had no cavities in the previous five years before starting this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2015
Condition: Itching Associated with Blockage of a Bile Duct
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

unfortunately this drug did not relief the itching and it tastes very chalky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CEK | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/21/2014
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My diagnosis is microscopic colitis. This med worked for about 2 weeks, then my diarrhea returned. My doc prescribed using it 3x a day, but I found on several websites the prescribed amount is 2x a day. So on days I missed a 3rd dose, I didn't worry about it. But wonder if that is why my symptoms are returning, as I've been traveling extensively and typically only get 2 doses in, occasionally 3. I may try again to be more diligent about 3 doses a day. Any advice out there?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dani | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/22/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why are there no reviews for this medication for use with high cholesterol? I can't find any anywhere

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gigimama | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2013
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately for me this medication has not worked at all. I have a colostomy due to cancer and have had at least 15 move-ments per day. but I keep taking it until I see my doctor again but I don't think there is anything else out there to take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judster | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2012
Condition: Poisoning by the Heart Medication Digitalis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been itching since march 2011 and no one had been able to help me, no meds or shots helped,I found out I was diabetic which made it even worse. Itching constantly was horrible and I was starting to get sores from the itching that were not healing fast. Then I had an ultra sound done and they are trying to determine if I have a liver condition. Bingo! The liver problem could be causing all the itching. I had to go see a new dermatologist for a skin problem this month jan2012 and he had seen in my records that I had the itching last march and with the sores asked if I was still itching. I told him yes and also about possibly having a liver issue and that the web said that itching can be caused from a liver problem. He told me that he knew of a wonderful medication that helps people with liver problems with the itching. I told him I was game for anything. He gave me the RX for this medication and I got it filled. What a blessing. The itching has cleared up about 90% and of course the sores have almost healed and gone. I take it twice a day . The only sympton so far is constipation. It does make my sugar level go up some but my diabetic counseler says it is still fine. So the medication is a life saver, I was ready to scratch the skin off.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2011
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

chronic diarrhea post colonoscopy. would like to know the reason why after the procedure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Florida Woman | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2011
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been dealing with nausea, cramping, diarrhea for the last 5 years after my gallblader surgery. Finally my GI doctor prescribed this medication. I am a complete different person, it has changed my life as I do not wake up every morning with "morning sickness" and I do not have to be afraid of eating and going to the bathroom all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/21/2011
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I dealt with chronic diarrhea for years after my gallbladder removal. All the doctors I saw told me I just had to deal with it. Finally I went to Mayo Clinic and the gastroenterologist prescribed this medication. I am finally able to eat without fear! I drink it every morning with very cold water. I don’t mind the taste or grittiness too much, it is way better than the alternative. If I don’t take it even one day I am soon reminded of how my life used to be before Cholestyramine. Don’t wait as long as I did. I didn’t push my doctors to prescribe me something, mostly because of the embarrassing topic. If you have chronic diarrhea tell your doctor you want to try this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toby66 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
6/11/2011
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Saved my life. I was prescribed this after surgery for Crohn's Disease. Went from 8-12 bathroom visits a day to less than 4. Works very quickly, within 24 hours and I can take one or two doses per day. I get three big containers, which lasts for 3 months, verses the individual packs for less than $10. Just be sure to drink lots of water after each dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GRCEO1 | 55-64 | Male | Patient
5/24/2011
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had chronic diarrhea since my gall bladder removal 2 years ago. Nothing helped(took powder fiber,anti diarrhea meds.,etc.). After 1 week of daily usage, I have gone diarrhea free for the first time in over a year.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mad as hell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/21/2010
Condition: Poisoning by the Heart Medication Digitalis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got so constipated got megacolon and had to have a colectomy now i have a colosyomy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lucymac | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2010
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't figure out why I was in so much abdominal pain - my stomach would bulge and then I would double over in pain - then came the burping and gas. At first it was only at night time - now it strikes me almost any time I eat. It lowers the blood cholesterol - but the pain is hard to live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ellie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2010
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have irritable bowel syndrome and had really bad diarrhea, the doc gave me this medication to take twice a day,and it helped the first day, you have to drink a lot of water with it but it is worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sooze | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2010
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works well for diarrhea, but it is a bit troublesome to pull out the packet and mix it, especially if you're around others. I've been getting headaches after taking it. Has anyone else? Has anyone taken this in conjunction with imodium (though not at the same hour, of course)?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DN | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2010
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced what I am certain was food poisoning, beginning with severe diarrhea for 2 days after eating bad chicken at TooJay's Restaurant (which was infested with gnats, and addressed w/the manager who said he has been battling them for two weeks now! I am sorry we didn't leave as soon as we noticed this problem!) and I haven't felt this horrible since I had H-Pylori twice in 1999! My doctor prescribed Cholestyramine, in addition to Amoxicillin and Lomotil, and this medication definetly helped my severe diarrhea, which later became extremely frequent bowel movements, but in addition, Cholestyramine caused extremely severe and frequent urination-as if someone kept opening the flood gates, along with severe gas,and severe abdominal pain in the right lower quadrant. So, in spite of the fact that it helped my beginning diarrhea, I did not enjoy the other side effects associated with thie drug, so I stopped using it. I also followed a complete day of fluids, followed by the BRAT diet-bananas, rice, apples (without the skin) and tea. It has been two weeks since the onset of my illness, and I am still not feeling well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angieogram | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/28/2010
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so thankful for this medicine! After my gallbladder was removed, I could not cope with the constant diarrhea. I only need to take a couple times a week & feel normal. A life saver on vacations!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More