Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

This drug worked well for acne, HOWEVER I did experience all of the very severe reactions to this drug that is listed after a short while. It is very painful and scary. The worst part is that NONE of the 8 doctors I saw figured out that I was receiving reactions from the drug. I was even diagnosed with Lupus at one point. It started with severe "cold sores" and eventually ended with severe joint p...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Prescribed for acne. Worked well while i took it. But this will only work while you take it. So when you stop taking you can expect your acne to come back. Since prolonged use of antibiotics can destroy your guts microflora and also compromise you immune system, I would recomend skipping this and go straight for an effective cure such as isotretinoin. Also I got the stomach flu 2 times while takin...

Shared reviews and ratings

nicole | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for severe acne. It didn't help my acne at all, and my side effects were pretty bad. My sensitive stomach didn't tolerate Minocycline well at all. I experienced hair loss and heightened anxiety. I take Wellbutrin and Prozac and was aware of the potential interactions, but was told that ~if anything~ this drug would help my anxiety as it's sometimes used as a supplement for anti-depressants. It made my anxiety MUCH worse. Antibiotics are not good to use long term, so I don't think this drug is worth trying unless it's very short term and you know for sure it will work (which you never do). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yuyu | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on this medication a year ago but i got lazy and stopped taking it but now ive been on it again, ive only been on it for a month but its an antibiotic so its gonna take some time but it does give me hives, and it gets me high sometimes i just get this really strong feeling of happiness and i start laughing at everything i see. It also makes me pretty sensitive but i dont mind i need my acne to go away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJC | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

am i gonna die my doc said to take before bed every day AM I DEAD 0-o

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Isabela | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication destroyed my gut. I was on this medication as a teenager and had decent success with it, so I decided to go back on it as an adult when my acne began to resurface. When I took this medication as an adult I had awful gastrointestinal symptoms. I could barely keep food down most days, I was so bloated that I almost looked pregnant, and I had intense stomach cramping. I couldn't last 2 weeks on this medication. Ask you doctor about doxycycline instead of minocycline. In my experience, it is just as effective for acne with way less side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CTxB4 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on this medication without being fully informed the possible side effects. I developed MENENGITIS from this medication. I spent four days in the hospital in an isolation ward. It took a month to slowly begin to feel better as well as have the strength to care for myself. There were no positive responses to this medication in my experience as my acne was still out of control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coco | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication for the last 2 months at the suggestion of my dermatologist for scalp acne. It has not worked for the scalp acne but I have every side effect on the list. Truly not good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catnip | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Minocycline gave me hives, diarrhea, and severe abdominal pain. It did work to clear up my acne but I had to stop taking it because the side effects were intolerable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
User | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has improved my acne significantly after about 3 months on it. My skin is not perfectly clear but it has cleared up majority of it. I had no bad side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication practically killed me. I ended up with practically every side effect which resulted in a pseudo tumor and excess spinal fluid. I am not a typical candidate for these effects, 14 yrs old, under 120lb. This medication did nothing for my acne, I was only able to use it for about 3 week before I started to see the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jj | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was 14 when I started taking Minocycline. I had moderate-bad acne on my cheeks and around the mouth. I absolutely LOVED this medication and it was the first and only thing that had worked on my acne. I tried different face washes, masks, creams, everything- I was prescribed to take 2 pills a day and I was on it for about 8 months. My face was totally cleared with the exception of scars (this medication causes scaring but i didn’t mind it because it was easy to cover with makeup) so i decided to just start taking one and then eventually stopped taking it because i had no clue how long i had to take it for, i was just getting refills after refills (doctors fault?) after a while (maybe 3-4 months) i started breaking out pretty badly again and decided to start taking the medication again. I started with 2 pills and after 2 weeks of being on it again, I had TERRIBLE pain starting with my wrists for the first couple days and then went to my neck, and eventually went to my hands and feet. The weird thing was that the pain only appeared at morning and night. Once I began to get active at school i was fine. This continued for about 2 weeks and i didn’t know it could have possibly been the medication since I took it for a little less then a year before and never showed symptoms. I was blood tested for Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis and Lupus. I got the results and got a drugged- induced Lupus result. Minocycline gave me the drugged-induced Lupus and it was the scariest and most painful experience of my life.Luckly, after about a week, the drug had left my system and I was fine. I do recommend this medication but once you start showing symptoms of anything (joint pain, loss of appetite, etc) please talk to your doctor and stop taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shru | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has caused me to cry uncontrollably and become overly sensitive. All in all i don't feel happy and motivated anymore. On top of that, I got hives and a skin rash. Even though it cleared my acne to a greater extent, the side effects are severe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucy | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has legit not helped me with my acneâ??s whatsoever and on top of that it gave me an extreme allergic reaction that lasted ten days. I had hives all over my body and face and on top of that my hands and feet got so swollen I could barely move them. Benadryl didnâ??t even help get rid of the hives at all so I had to take a much stronger pill that worked a bit but the pill was so bad I kept throwing up so I had to take it by IV drip. I really donâ??t recommend this at all especially if you find yourself very sensitive to allergic reactions caused by pills.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rtora | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am at the end of my two month treatment with this medication. It has worked very well for my mild acne. Within two weeks of use the acne was completely gone. However I developed vaginal yeast infections and a genital skin rash as side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aus | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely cleared my acne up in 2 months, leaving my skin flawless and improved the texture of my skin, HOWEVER caused my existing anxiety to worsen and I developed depression and a feeling of un motivation badly. As soon as I stopped taking it my skin began to break out a little bit and my depression went away and anxiety decreased. I would not recommend this due to the side effects that affected my life .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennnnnifer | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've struggled with acne for many years since middle school, and I'm in my early 20s now. I've tried every type of skincare/acne cream, but they never seemed to be very effective at controlling my acne. Previously I've tried doxycycline but it didn't work for me. Though I also stopped taking the course halfway through and then started up again, so that might've been why :P I went to a dermatologist again and she prescribed me a ~3 month course of minocycine, 100 mg twice a day. She also prescribed me topical cleocin. The drug description says that you may not see results until 6-8 weeks in, so I was starting to feel pretty discouraged at the 8 week mark, but 10 weeks in, my face started to feel a lot smoother! It's now the beginning of my 14th week and my face is the smoothest it's ever been! Still have a few days worth of pills to take, but I'm hoping that my face will stay this way after I stop taking the pills. Also, it may be the cleocin or a combo of the minocycline and the cleocin, but I have a lot of acne scarring. Though I would 100% prefer to be acne free and deal with acne scars afterwards, so I'm not complaining.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 65 I got really bad rosecia on the cheeks and especially the forehead. Tried several creams over twelve months to no avail. Got this drug , took two the first night then one a day for just three days and it's gone completely and hasn't returned in six months!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dirty mike | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I pop one of these babies twice a day and my acne has been going down. not sure if that's a result of the other medicine (Epiduo forte) im taking or if its this one. side effects wise, my breathing isn't as smooth as usual and I constantly feel tired and lowkey out of it. overall this experience isn't worth the results and Im gonna ask my doc to try doxycycline, those reviews are much better. glad my side effects weren't as bad as other peoples tho, everything besides what I mentioned is fine... so farRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not happy user | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 22 and this was prescribed to me by a dermatologist for acne that I have struggled to get rid of for 10 years. Doctor said take once a day (100mg) at dinner. With in the first 2 days of me using it I started to feel dizzy almost as if I was experiencing vertigo. I also have some trouble breathing feeling like I can not get enough air in. I also have headaches and very tired, I could not make it though the whole day and went to bed 3 hours early one day. This is not a pleasant experience and I will be discontinuing the use of the drug and trying something else. It is not worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luna93 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My primary care doctor started me on minocycline 100mg twice a day for painful cystic acne. I had to stop taking this drug after only one week of taking it because it was causing me to get anxiety attacks and depression. I did not see any improvement in my acne in just one week of use, which I honestly didn't expect to but I will not continue to take the medication due to these side effects that make me feel like I'm going crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2018
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Deer Fly, Flea & Tick Bites
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has caused me extreme mental fatigue/brain fog, dizziness, and somewhat blurred vision. I am on it in case I developed Lyme Disease from a deer tick that I removed so it may be Lyme Disease. Can't wait until my prescription runs out and I hope there are no lasting side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More