Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

Started on flomax but didn't like side effects. Take 5mg Cialis in the morning and Alfuzosin after evening meal. Works great for BPH and minor ED. No side effects so far. No dizziness. Much better urine flow and erections. Also changed to a low oxalate diet and am drinking more fluids because I also had problem with bladder stones. So far so good.

Shared reviews and ratings

Vermknter | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/28/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Any painful erections during the night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hakan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as I take Xatral XL my heart starts to beat fast, I had short of breath and even in very low effort my heart starts to beat 150-160 or more bpm. All symptoms disappear on the day I do not take this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jeh | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/21/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used various types of this drug and seen no result and disturbing side affects. Took Tamsulosin HCL and did not see much results. Been taking this Alfuzosin drug for several months and doesn't seem to do much. Go to bathroom 4 or 5 times a night. Usually, after a disturbing dream and wake and have to pee. Doctor has increased to 20 mg and did this one night and woke up next morning sluggish with no energy level. Could be interaction with Ambien and blood pressure pills, but, I think I am going to return to taking one per night and just deal with the 4 or 5 nightly visits to the bathroom. No solution to this problem it appears or than surgery and I don't think I like that idea. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ALLMAN | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 15 years ago, I was prescribed finasteride, but the side effects scared me, so the pharmacist gave me a prescription for Tamulosin, but I had retrograde ejaculation. I treated myself successfully with Saw Palmetto 85% standardized extracts 2 times a day for a number of years but, eventually, the problem worsened. I did some research on PubMed and I found out that Alfuzosin does not produce retrograde ejaculation. My doctor had not heard of it and was very impressed. He prescribed it for me. It is excellent. I take one and in a couple of hours and for the remainder of the day, it's like pulling the drain plug: complete voiding. The severity of my problem increases and decreases, so I only use Alfuzosin on a prn (as needed) basis and the rest of the time I use Saw Palmetto.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1daynoway | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried flomax and rapaflow both with unpleasant side effects, the main one being retrograde ejaculation. Was on the fence about this one and so far had severe stomach aches and dizziness/lightheadedness like I was going to pass out when standing up. This medication is too hard on me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After on this for 45 days, I believe it has helped my urination stream somewhat. No side effects that I can tell. Have done the "Turp" procedure 5 years earlier and prostate has enlarged to same as previous. Can't tell any difference in sexual performance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/17/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good and effective.but i have been feeling erection problem.not effective in erection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on flomax but didn't like side effects. Take 5mg Cialis in the morning and Alfuzosin after evening meal. Works great for BPH and minor ED. No side effects so far. No dizziness. Much better urine flow and erections. Also changed to a low oxalate diet and am drinking more fluids because I also had problem with bladder stones. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FrankieB | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Purp | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/20/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Age 80 was on Flowmax did not help much. Been on Alfulzosin 2 years worked good till last month had a gallbladder problem I've switch to low fat diet the drug not seem to be working at all??? I'm making Dr. Appointment about problem!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spsch | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/3/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Improves weak stream although not to the point it was when I was younger, but worth taking. I have had no side effects. Tried Rapiflo prior to this one but that caused retro-ejaculation, very unpleasant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mothreload | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no change in problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jere | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking tamsulosin (0.4mg) and satisfied with performance. V A switch me to alfuzosin (10mg). Back to old symptoms: difficult to urinate, dizzy, loose stools and takes longer to empty my bladder. Very disappointed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PawPaw | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great on Flow, Normal Ejaculation - However, the mood has decreased big time however, much better than Flomax - They should change the name Flomax to Noman. It really upset me. Much happier now. Costs more than Flomax at the Drug Store.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/12/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for urination problems, and prostate. Very effective,only side effect is dizzieness or fainting after first dose or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tired of peeing to much | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med since 10/28/15 one at night at first the told to take two still urinating a lot at night and my feet and legs are swelling. Interaction with my blood pressure meds. I was not told. While receiving Cyber knife radiation Treatments. Last treatment 11/3/15. I am still up all night and feet are swelling bigger. Calling Doc for answers on 11/3/15 only took one last night. Hoping feet will go back to normal with no blood presser problem's. Tired of getting up more now than in the past. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Flomax for the past 4 month unfortunately it did not work for me now that I am using Alfusozin it works great but be careful for sudden moves it might cause dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
5/19/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One a day Works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pauly | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had bladder cancer.After radiation and chemo it was painful to urinate.Tried Flomax which worked good but made real dizzy.ALFUZOSIN works good but I do not get dizzy I have been taking it for 14 months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lcoops6 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2014
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of every other day, I have aches in joints and dull to moderate headaches and flu like symptoms. Taken as substitute for Tamsulosin(Flomax)to relieve side effects of prolonged erection, retro ejaculation, increased time to ejaculate and reduced sensation of orgasm. Initally needed something to help pass stones. Needed to increase weak stream - this doesn't work as good as flomax

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More