Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this for four years and had no problems. It is the first blood thinner that has not given me problems. I can not take coumidian because it can not be regularated.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

blood test 3.6 today last month 2.5 my dr. told me do not take pill today and halv tomoroow

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems difficult to maintain INR in acceptable range.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The aunt | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2014
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has caused constipation even though it's not on the list of side effects. Eating habits have changed as well with intolerance to grains as well as not eating as much salad due to taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jartoven | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2012
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had dizzinesss, weight gain, increase in blood flow from periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/20/2011
Condition: Heart Failure with Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

jantoven is taken to prevent the possibility of stroke from AFIB. The only side effect for me is bruising on my arms from leaking capillaries. My INR readings are stable even though I drink alcohol and take cranberry extract. I don't understand the connection with cranberry which I've been taking along with many other supplements for years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coumindin | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/15/2011
Condition: Prevention for a Blood Clot going to the Brain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication has rat poison in it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jantoven oral 10 mg. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2010
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Loud pounding in my ears.Like blood is going though my vains and I can hear it. I have a new brand I am taking now.Been on it 2 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mjomley | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/10/2010
Condition: Transient Ischemic Attack
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not like all the breakouts I have been having. I do not like being on this medication and would definitely like to get off, but also do not want to have a stroke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lowball | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2010
Condition: Blood Clot
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blood in uine why is this a side or could be cause?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken coumadin or warfin in the past and both worked fine but jantoven makes my blood too thin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2009
Condition: Prevention for a Blood Clot going to the Brain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it seems that jantoven is stroger than warfarin. I tend to disply a high inr and my concern is that I also displsy hemotomas. My fear is a potential cranial bleed which could result in coma or death. doctor doesn't relate inr #s to me in a timely manner.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2009
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blood test 3.6 today last month 2.5 my dr. told me do not take pill today and halv tomoroow

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/22/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SOME LACK OF CONTROL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ralphmargt | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2009
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on Jantoven for 10 days---have been constantly nauseated since starting it---I mentioned the nausea to my cardiologist and he didn't seem concerned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdb314 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/21/2008
Condition: Abnormal Increase in Ability of Blood to Clot
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for four years and had no problems. It is the first blood thinner that has not given me problems. I can not take coumidian because it can not be regularated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More