Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

After just the first pill ,I could feel relief,I have only taken my second pill,and feel so much better, but I know I have to finish all the medication ,and I will .

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

My doctor prescribed me this drug. This is the first I have ever taking antibiotics or any type medication. During that time i develop this indescribable itch all over my body. soon after that i developed hives, swellings and then lesions all over my body. What was worst, my doctor didn't follow-up with even after I told about my reaction. My skin is ruin, i still have lesions on my skins.

Shared reviews and ratings

ciprofloxacin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cipro for a UTI in October 2020. Before completing the medication I experienced weakness, breathlessness, off balance feeling; I couldn’t walk 10 steps without stopping to rest against a chair or wall. A year and a half later the side effects have not subsided; neurological problems, cognitive issues and increased all over pain. I’m barely functioning and even though I HAVE to work I don’t know from one hour to the next how I will feel. The exhaustion is debilitating and I’m practically disabled. Showering and getting dressed to run a quick errand is exhausting anc puts me in bed for hours afterwards. I just filed a formal complaint with the FDA. There is a BLACK BOX warning on this medication that says it should only be used as a last resort especially if you are over 60. It also states that doctors and pharmacists are required to inform the patient of the adverse side effects possible with this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Warning do not take this if you have EDS. This drug has been know to cause ligament strains. Ones with EDS have already loose ligaments and need to be on something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2022
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic sinusitis for years and had two surgeries. When things got really bad my MD prescribed amoxicillin which helped somewhat. I purchased Cipro in Europe without a prescription and it worked IMMEDIATELY. I can’t believe nobody thought of this in the US but I am glad I did my own research. No unusual side effects with 250mg 2x day. I never thought I would feel this good again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yaks | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/19/2022
Condition: Intestine Infection due to the Shigella Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug was administered to a colleague and she lost her gait, had spasms in her stomach, severe headache, fevers and chills. she barely could step her feet on the ground and was in pains. Not recommended for treatment. It is definitely a bad drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/23/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I’m split on this medication. I ended up having to go to this anitbiotic years ago as a teenager because I was allergic to the others. I’ve been taking it with no issue for as long as my UTI issues began. But this go around seems to be different. Whereas I’ve never experienced side affects before, this time I’ve been experiencing odd slight soreness/stiffness in my muscles and I have popping in my joints. I had some nausea but that quickly went away after the second day. Now the issues with my muscles and joints aren’t severe, I still have full mobility and no sudden pains or “snapping” at my joints. It’s just weird to me how things could change after so many years of taking it, and those small side affects are definitely something that had me concerned given this drugs reputation. I’ve reconsidered taking this drug after this, despite it’s effectiveness. I recommed excercising caution when taking this, it’s truly a last resort. I don’t want to strike fear into anybody, but I do want to encourage everyone to do their research. The antibiotic is an extremely powerful one, and I’ll give credit where it’s due - it’s gotten rid of every UTI I’ve ever had. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DAW | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked wonderfully to handle UTI, no side effects and cleared up my SIBO (small intestine bacterial overgrowth) symptoms as well, something much more costly antibiotics have not been able to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Orestis | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is poison. I took it for 16 days 2 pills 500 mg per day and another time after one month for 10 days. It made me have tremors, fatigue, tinitus, stiff muscles, weak limbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Typhoid Fever
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication was for typhoid which after the first time I took it was Okey but I couldn't sleep at all. When I took the second dose it was like mad scratches and rashes but I couldn't say for sure what was wrong until I was discharged from the hospital and was given same drug to complete the dosage. I took it around 8 PM and before 11 PM, I hadrrashes aall over my body itching like hell with swollen lips. I ran back to the hospital and I was given an injection that took care of the side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DMZ | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/1/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a female age 68 and by 3rd day I had relief. I drank 3 quarts of water daily and had no problems. I read everything provided. No sugar and no alcohol. Worked fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimsby | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I immediately got dizzy, nauseous, and had muscle aches. Split up dosage with Flagyl to make sure it was the Cipro. After reading Black Label warning, PCP switched me to Bactrim. I’ll review it after I take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MZGAPEACH | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once you get past 4 days the meds start working....the side effects are horrible I had chills, shakes,pain n my limbs, back ,foot I also had the stinkest pee it smelt like meds which I didnt know it could be that strong ....overall I would say if u can by past the side effects then you good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DW | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Abscess Within the Abdomen
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I.V. Ciprofloxacin was absolutely useless at treating an infection of Morganella Morganii. The only thing i got from it was swollen spine joints making it impossible to stand up straight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nike | 35-44 | Female | Patient
9/22/2020
Condition: Infection Within the Abdomen
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well for the infection but had a terrible side effect.I had pain and swelling on my wrist which I was told was due to tendon rupture-an adverse effect of ciprofloxacin i was not warned of.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elize | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an extreme uti and after using other pills like doxylyne I just got worse. The doctor prescribe this and after my 5 day course all pain is gone. I felt very tired but it's a small price to pay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Esperanza | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2020
Condition: Bladder Infection caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to be careful this medicine made me very sick I think is very bad for the liver

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tim | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/17/2020
Condition: Bladder Infection caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you have any sort of ligament history: carpal tunnel, trigger finger, tennis elbow, etc DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICATION. I took this medication in August 2018, it worked, but since then I've had hand surgery for trigger finger, developed tennis elbow and am proceeding with surgery on other hand for trigger finger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Viagara Falls | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed by ER Dr.for me a 73 yr old male and was having minor cramping but on my 5th day i had a bowel movement that was small and thick with blood and clots....went back to ER and spent the nite and I asked for new prescription of amoxicillin. My 2nd day on amox gave me vast improvement and bleeding seems to have subsided. I just read that US FDA had a 2019 warning about the side effects of Pico (google it) and they gave a warning use by seniors. BEWARE of the side effects that I agree are dangerous and would recommend a penicillin family alternative as they have less adverse reactions and less restrictions on diet........I DO NOT RECOMMEND this Product My prescription was for 7 days and longer than this can be life threatening. If you take this med I would make sure to eat 1st or during a meal....pills are too large for me to swallow.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a miracle drug! My Doctor diagnosed that I had a significant bacterial UTI and prescibed Ciprofloxacin 500mg two times per day for seven days. I was having severe burning pain when urinating. After taking just one tablet and within just 6 hours the burning pain stopped. I have had NO side effects whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebekka | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on Ciprofloxacin for 7 days and currently on my 2nd last day of using them, it feels like the infection is slowly coming back. It has helped with my right flank pain and the frequent urination. Only side effects are Lower back pain & Leg pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On day 3 of this med. Not sure if it is helping yet but it does make me very sleepy, lethargic. Haven't seen this prescribed for may diverticulitis patients here, hope it helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More