Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

Used this after being diagnosed with MRSA and nothing else worked, even in combination. This drug actually saved my life, though I was afraid of taking it due to a family history of kidney problems. Only real side fx were no appetite and now my hair is falling out (still, 4 months later), though may be from stress of illness and not med. I had a pic line for administration. Hated that the most.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I was given this medicine after been told that I had TSS. I didn't have TSS or any other infection that required this medicine. In return I had blurred vision,headaches,juandice of the eyes, itching and rash, burn of the hands and feet swelling of the face and problems still after a month of recieving this medicine. Treatment that went wrong. Very painful. I never needed the medicine in the first ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Miss.independent.3105 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bone Infection which lead to a second and third back surgery. Had a picc line for iv antibiotics and after infection wasn't responding to several different antibiotics I was put on dapto and the nurse read the instructions incorrect and was running the dapto for 30 min instead of the recommended 3 hours I am now on dialysis for kidney failure and have to be on dialysis 3x a week for the rest of my life because of the antibiotics being ran to fast and caused my kidneys to shut down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2018
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection due to Staphyloccus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medicine twice the last two years for nonunion humerus fracture hospital acquired MRSA. This medicine has caused me continual, indescribable bone and muscle pain. I struggled to get out of bed due to pain and being unable to trust my legs to hold me up. Literally moving my fingers hurt, but worst to my coccyx/sacrum. The second time they put me on it I lasted about a week before my Infectious Disease Dr put my on cefteraline instead. The pain was horrifying, but if it saves my arm and my life, it would be worth it to use as a last resort. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sad and Angry | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was treated for an infection following knee replacement. Had an adverse reaction, developed Rhabdomyolisis with CPK levels above 40,000. Went into acute kidney failure. 5 days in ICU, one month in hospital. Now, two years later, am experiencing decline in kidney function, currently at Grade 1 Chronic Kidney Disease due to kidney damage related to Rhabdomyolisis. Now forced to take active measures to prevent further decline and very anxious about what potentially lies ahead for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TaylorWilson | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2017
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection due to Staphyloccus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Daptomycin thru an IV. While it is extremely expensive per dose (even with insurance it was $200 per dose), it saved my hand! My surgeon told me MRSA had already gotten into the bone and I would possibly lose my right index finger. After 6 oral antibiotics

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Betty Mavis | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2014
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this antibiotic for 3 weeks next Monday will be 4 weeks. I have had nil problems so far. My CRP is down from 53 to 17.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sprigger | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had surgery on lower back L4 disc replacementfour stews and two rods. Healing good until about 6 wks after surgery. Started to have sever pain in surgery area. MIR found staph infection in surgery area. Gram stain after bone biopsy shoes staph. Hospital for a week and 6 wks daily treatments and one more to go and still have a reduced amount of pain. Will update this later

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/11/2013
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Zyvox, another liptopeptide drug for 9 months for a bacterial infection in my spine. I have been on Cubicin or Daptomycin for 6 months, daily infusions through Picc line. They had to remove fist Picc because I got a new infection, turns out to be Yeast infection. I take Cefepime along with Dapto. I had a massive infection in my spine that went untreated for several months after two of my Disc in my spine had crushed. I now have, Vertebral Osteomylitis, Discitis and Degenerative Disk Disease. Every day of my life is a blessing because I should probably be dead now. I see my Neurosurgeon after a MRI tomorrow. I thak God for these drugs because my infection is the MRSA infection and Vanco nor Gentomycin have failed me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2012
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
demz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of IV Vanco,for a infection in my knee following replacement surgery the doctor put me on this. The side effects are nasty, but within 3 days the incision began to heal and is doing very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After breaking my leg in a car accident, surgery was performed and a metal rod screwed to the tibia to stabilize for healing. Several weeks later, a low level infection evolved of uncertain origins. Doctors agreed that it could be a reaction to one or more metals in the rod, and started Daptomycin to "buy time" for the leg to heal. I've been on it for about three weeks. So far, no obvious problems with the meds, although I am usually tired, but some days, not so much. I have allergies to many typical antibiotics, so I was surprised and happy when the dapto seemed to work with my system okay. I have appreciated having my pic line although once in a while, the tape around it itches, but it really hasn't been a big deal. My white cell count is "under control" and my bones continue to heal. Surgery to remove the metal from my leg is imminent, and then I can go back to my normal life. :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tazrnbow | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2010
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had this infection on going for the better part of 2 years they have tried using other antibiotics this one with two days got the infect to pool and drain out of the groin area it is working good at this time.Overall the I.V PICC line has been ok but it is a pian in the neck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcmuff | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this after being diagnosed with MRSA and nothing else worked, even in combination. This drug actually saved my life, though I was afraid of taking it due to a family history of kidney problems. Only real side fx were no appetite and now my hair is falling out (still, 4 months later), though may be from stress of illness and not med. I had a pic line for administration. Hated that the most.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/7/2009
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection by Streptococcus Agalactiae
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

treatment to long

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roxanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for post-op bacterial infection in right leg. Infection cultured as ordinary skin flora and resulted in copious site drainage and an incision that would not heal. Dapto prescribed after two I%D procedures (in attempts to promote healing and kill off bacterial infection). Self-administered via IV infusion through midline port once daily. Nausea and that "sea sick" feeling only side effect. Incision finally healed after six weeks and after seven weeks of Dapto treatment, I transitioned to long-term oral antibiotic treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nyu | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2009
Condition: Blood Infection caused by Staphylococcus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely potent antibiotic. Used for six weeks, became severley anemic. Almost requiring a blood transfusion. I was very nauseous & could not eat lost 41 pounds in a 6 week period. I was also on a 3 week regiment of Zyvox prior to IV Daptomyicin. I was very allergic to Zyvox.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tigger | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2009
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection due to Staphyloccus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a serious eye infection and was started on Daptomycin in the Emergency Room and continued on it for a 10 day period. Ater getting out of the hopsial, I went to an infusion clinic daily for my dose. I must say that the antibiotic started working right away for me. I am allergic to most other common antibiotics, but had no reaction to this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2009
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection due to Staphyloccus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constantly short of breath, wheezing, hallucinations/nightmares

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLISSA77 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Misdiganosed with TOXIC SHOCK SYNDROME. SOMETHING THAT I DIDN'T HAVE. WAS GIVEN THIS MEDICATION AND I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO DIE!!!! MY HEAD AND FACE SWOLLEN RAPID HEART RATE DIZZYNESS AND I WAS LAYING IN THE HOSIPTAL BED. BURNING OF SKIN AND HANDS AND FEET. I COULDN'T SLEEP, MY EYES GOT REAL YELLOW. i HAD A RED LOOK TO MY SKIN. NOW I HAVE SWOLLEN LYMPH NODES ON THE BACK OF MY NECK AND IN MY HEAD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clissa77 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medicine after been told that I had TSS. I didn't have TSS or any other infection that required this medicine. In return I had blurred vision,headaches,juandice of the eyes, itching and rash, burn of the hands and feet swelling of the face and problems still after a month of recieving this medicine. Treatment that went wrong. Very painful. I never needed the medicine in the first place!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2008
Condition: Complicated Skin Infection due to Staphyloccus Aureus Bacteria
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was given to me after a 3 week treatment on vancomycin. I was given this as an alternative b/c the vancomycin was yielding low white blood cells. Upon administration the medicine did not show any reaction; however, within about 6 hours I began to get a rash on my chest. The rash spread over my entire torso area, back, and upper legs. In some places the rash was so bad that it just appeared solid red. My face swelled up and even the sides of my nose became blistered. The rash is itchy and uncomfortable. Even after 24 hours the swelling and rash are very evident, if not worse. It feels as though I have gotten a severe sunburn. Taking benadryl has seemed to keep the rash/swelling from getting worse, but it has not help it go away. I am not allergic to any other medications to my knowledge and this was the first reaction I have had like this. The medication was delivered via a picc line.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More