Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

My pressures were in the upper 20s while on Xalatan alone. The doctor prescribed Cosopt in addition, and after a month I am down to 18 in both eyes. The only issues I've had are mild and occasional and include eye stinging for a few moments after application and a slight bitter taste in the back of my throat.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I don't like cosopt. Not all the time but sometimes the blurred vision is really bad. It seems like if you are physically moving around and doing things the blurred vision is worst. I have taken another drop, Xlatan at night and that drop is wonderful but after a complicated eye surgery the pressure in my eyes got worst and I'm now taking tree different drops for the pressure. Cospt is my least f...

Shared reviews and ratings

Rayb | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication works well. The plastic containers are horrible! Sometimes you get all the contents in the 1st eye and nothing left for the 2nd eye. The current lot that I have, it is impossible to twist off the cap I have to cut it off. I have requested the doctor to prescribe Cosopt in the bottle but he wants to stick with pf

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madeline | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2021
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m having excessive tearing and itching. This is the second time I’ve tried it but having same side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
armonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2020
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Cosopt two times a day about 8 months ago. I also take Alphagan P and Travatan every night. Using Cosopt lowered my eye pressure by about 3 points in both eyes, which was good. But after using it for about 5 or 6 months, the hair on my head began thinning (including my eyebrows). At first, I attributed this to aging (I am 71), but soon the hair thinning became more dramatic. I hadn’t changed my diet in any way and used only these glaucoma medications, so I began to suspect Cosopt and looked it up on the Internet. I was upset to learn it does have the possible side effect of hair loss, though most studies say it is reversible once the drug is stopped. It may take 5 to 18 months for my hair to regain its former thickness. My doctor had me stop using Cosopt and I am now using Azopt (dorzolamide) instead, together with Alphagan P and Travatan. Also, I will add that Cosopt drops REALLY burned badly for 20 to 30 seconds when put in the eye. And the individual plastic applications were sometimes very stiff and hard to squeeze (let alone, incredibly wasteful).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerald | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The container is not made right. It is too hard to open. Sometimes the liquid comes out as you twist off the top. Sometimes there is not enough liquid in the container. It stings a lot when you put in the liquid. I almost think I will faint. I don't know yet how it is working on lowering my pressure readings. The packaging is definitely no good. It costs too much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ljrebel | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The individual plastic packs are difficult to use. If you squeeze too hard all liquid comes in one drop; too soft the liquid gathers into one drop. Some vials had No liquid at all. The fear of losing out an application with each use is not worth the risk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vonne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eyes burn after drops applied

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
birdman | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pressures were in the upper 20s while on Xalatan alone. The doctor prescribed Cosopt in addition, and after a month I am down to 18 in both eyes. The only issues I've had are mild and occasional and include eye stinging for a few moments after application and a slight bitter taste in the back of my throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
legman | 75 or over | Male | Patient
8/20/2011
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have leg pain that could be from this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2010
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have back pain I believe is caused by Cosorpt. stopped using it for several days and back pain imrroved.I have been taking this midicene for several years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
faze64 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2010
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

these eyedrops made me very sick- migraines, eye pain (nerve pain) high blood pressure, confusion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gil | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2010
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started taking after four operations for eye injury- i believe i wasn't putting in the eye drops right untill i looked at info on web mdHow to use Cosopt Opht Read the Patient Information Leaflet provided by your pharmacist before you start using timolol/dorzolamide and each time you get a refill. If you have any questions regarding the information, consult your doctor or pharmacist. This medication is for use in the eye(s), usually one drop in the affected eye(s) 2 times a day, or as directed by your doctor. To apply eye drops, wash your hands first. To avoid contamination, do not touch the dropper tip or let it touch your eye or any other surface. Some products contain a preservative that may be absorbed by contact lenses. If you are using a product with a preservative and you wear contact lenses, remove the lenses before using the eye drops. Wait at least 15 minutes before putting in your contact lenses. Tilt your head back, look upward and pull down the lower eyelid to make a pouch. Hold the dropper directly over your eye and place one drop in your eye. Look downward and gently close your eyes for 1 to 2 minutes. Place one finger at the corner of your eye (near the nose) and apply gentle pressure. Try not to blink and do not rub your eye. This will prevent the medication from draining out. Repeat these steps for your other eye if so directed. Do not rinse the dropper. Replace the dropper cap after each use. If you are using another kind of eye medication (e.g., drops or ointments), wait at least 10 minutes before applying other medications. Use eye drops before eye ointments to allow the eye drops to enter the eye. Use this medication regularly in order to get the most benefit from it. To help you remember, use it at the same times each day. It is important to continue using this medication even if you feel well. Most people with glaucoma or high pressure in the eyes do not feel sick. What conditions does Cosopt Opht treat? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mississippi410 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/27/2009
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been using this product for several years. Great results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jezzika | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2009
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eye poressure had increazsed from 13p-14 to 17 ansd my Opthomologist prescribed this. In about a week and a half my eye pressure was back down to 13 ans 14 again. I have continued to use this and it seems to be working satisfactorialy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smitti458wznyb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/6/2009
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blurred vision is very annoying. I spent $$$on medical testing for tia's but I feel the blurred vision was from the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/23/2008
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug has reduced my pressure from 50 to 18, so I am happy about that; however, the blurred vision is difficult. This drug combined with Pilocarpine is not fun.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
qoz38d | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2008
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems as though my eyesight has diminished using this product although it has helped decrease my eye pressure from 20-22 down to 13-15.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TinaL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2007
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't like cosopt. Not all the time but sometimes the blurred vision is really bad. It seems like if you are physically moving around and doing things the blurred vision is worst. I have taken another drop, Xlatan at night and that drop is wonderful but after a complicated eye surgery the pressure in my eyes got worst and I'm now taking tree different drops for the pressure. Cospt is my least favorite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More