Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

Switched to this in place of FOLFIRI i.v. medications. Avastin used in combo with present pills and previous FOLFIRI. Main side effects with both are extreme fatigue and nausea. Fatigue was much worse with only i.v. meds. Nausea seemed worse with the pills, but probably because you take them for 2 weeks. I prefer nausea that can be relieved with a pill than fatigue that keeps me in the bed al...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

My mother took this medication for two weeks as a precaution. She had severe diarhea, became dehydrated requiring hospitalization. I believe this medication caused her death.

Shared reviews and ratings

Dawn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sigmoid colon cancer that spread to my lymph nodes. I am on my second 21 day cycle (14 days on and 7 days off). I take 5 pills (1800mg)in the morning and 5 pills (1800 mg)at night. I have only experienced mild side effects so far. ????I have experienced fatigue, weight gain, nausea, feeling of heartburn, dry eye, and swelling. Praying the cancer is gone and I continue to do good for all 9 cycles. I try to get outdoors and walk on the beach. It helps me stay mentally and physically strong.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AUDT member | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was prescribed capectabine for his Stage 1 Bile Duct Cancer, and died after taking it for only 9 days. He was not aware that he was DPD enzyme deficient. The instructions say: "Before using this medication, tell your doctor or pharmacist your medical history, especially of: lack of a certain enzyme (dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase - DPD)." YOU ARE NOT AWARE OF A DPD ENZYME DEFICIENCY UNLESS YOU ARE TESTED OR ARE EXPOSED TO THIS CHEMO. The DPD enzymes are essential for metabolzing THIS CHEMO ONLY, so testing MUST be a part of the standard of care in the US. It is now, all over Europe and the UK. Time for the US medical system to get on board and "recommend" upfront testing, or make it mandatory.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only side effect skin issues with my hands and feet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TLT | 65-74 | Female | Patient
3/23/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some nausea initially, however, went away after a few doses. This is my fourth cancer drug and I feel better on this one than all the others. Hopefully, it will keep me alive until another cure comes along.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheemo | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2018
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I first started these meds I had some vomiting. Mostly once a day but there were days when I vomited twice. My doc lowered the dose and increased my anti nausea meds. I was best kind after that. No hand

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PCMonte | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The generic from Mylan caused severe gastric pain and bloating after two days of use. Discontinued use and returned to Xeloda, which does not have this side effect. Maybe it was an allergic reaction to an inactive ingredient, but there is no way to find out. So, I am reluctant to try other generics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vince G | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/20/2015
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my wife had bad side effects from this medication 500mg in each pill,taken as follows 2 in the morning and 2 at night. After 7 days, her body just shut down, no eating, drinking vomiting 30 minute. she only she is 4'11 and at that time was only 83 pounds.she passed away 2 months later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2015
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched to this in place of FOLFIRI i.v. medications. Avastin used in combo with present pills and previous FOLFIRI. Main side effects with both are extreme fatigue and nausea. Fatigue was much worse with only i.v. meds. Nausea seemed worse with the pills, but probably because you take them for 2 weeks. I prefer nausea that can be relieved with a pill than fatigue that keeps me in the bed all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/27/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has worked well on both my breast and liver to the point that I can no longer feel the lump on my breast or hardness in my liver.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Caregiver
3/13/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother took this medication for two weeks as a precaution. She had severe diarhea, became dehydrated requiring hospitalization. I believe this medication caused her death.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
slfgaf | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a great deal of nausea diarrhea, oral sores, required IV fluids, and had severe migraine headaches which I had never had in my life. The pills are very expensive and I was so sick that I could not complete the course of treatment with Xeloda.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/20/2009
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More