Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

I hope no one takes these reviews seriously. Everyone is going to respond differently to this pill. Just because someone has awful side effects does not mean you will. Take me for instance...the only side effects I have had is 1 day of nausea, some mild moodiness, and slight breast tenderness. I am through my first pack of pills...and you have to understand that the side effects you are having wil...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have been in Ortho Tricylin Lo for a couple of years with no problems at all. I was just recently given Trinessa lo because the pharmacy said there was no reason i couldnt get the generic. I've been on it for 10 days and i'm nothing but a bloated, tired, grumpy mess. I eat clean and do 30-60 minute intense workouts daily and i couldn't figure out why i looked so bloated and the scale was a few p...

Shared reviews and ratings

Leayor | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/18/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control for 5 years. I never had any side effects. My period decreased from 7-9days to 3-4days max. I didn’t have too many problems with acne and pretty much no weight gain at all. It did give me mood swings nothing that was too irradic. Overall, I loved this birth control. Unfortunately, my pharmacy said that they discontinued this birth control and now I’m struggling to find another one that doesn’t make me depressed (unlike this one).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 26, active, and healthy. I tried Loestin for 3 cycles and bled every single day so my OB switched me to Trinessa (Ortho Tri-Cyclen). In the 4 cycles taking Trinessa, I would start my period during the last week of active pills and it would continue through the duration of the inactive week. I gained 15 lbs, started getting acne, and became an emotional wreck. It was to the point where my boyfriend and I almost broke up. My libido definitely lessened, making the birth control relatively pointless. I didn't get pregnant in those 4 months, but that's about all I can say positive about it. After discussing options with my OBGYN, we decided I would give the Mirena IUD a shot. (Basically all the Dr.'s and health care providers I know use this themselves to begin with, I was just a scardy-cat) In the two weeks I've had it I've lost 5 lbs, and my mood is getting better by the day. I will never take a combined pill again! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KJ | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill worked in that I have been on it for several months and did not get pregnant. But - the side effects, oh my goodness, the side effects. I went from being a pretty easy going person to totally crying at any given moment. I would get depressed fro no reason at all, and would burst out into tears over nothing. I literally felt chest pains coming from anxiety after taking this devil pill. My face broke out terribly - I felt like a teenager again with pimples all over my face. My husband finally sat me down and told me my mood swings were out of control. It was him who actually suggested that the change in my birth control (by my pharmacy) more than likely had something to do with everything i had been going through. One quick call to my pharmacist got me switched back to my normal prescription (Tri-Sprintec). I am hoping better days are ahead!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor switched me from Orthotricylin without telling me. Nauseous after 3 days. What a pain! No, I shouldn't have to wait 2 years for things to go to normal!!! Ortho..had NO side effects for me. Health industry reputation can't possibly get worse. I actually don't believe the positive reviews. I think they are fake.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went on Trinessa to induce my period, after a few years of Lo-Estrogen. Terrible, terrible experience for me. I never had acne in my life, and Trinessa caused TERRIBLE breakouts. I lasted the full 4 month trial period, and then switched back to my old prescription. I am still adjusting back to my old BC, and am still suffering from acne. Very disappointing. I wish I had never tried Trinessa!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chanel | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/29/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill works really great for clearing my skin and making it less oily. Sometimes I will get some a small breakout randomly during the pill weeks, and then usually get a couple during the off week, but it's bad. This pill can cause pretty severe nausea if taken on an empty stomach. It has made me puke a couple times. Bloating during the period week. Sore breasts about two weeks before period. My biggest complaint about Trinessa is that it makes my areoles fucking huge and my nipples tender. It just bothers me because my boobs aren't very big, so it making me have massive areoles just makes me feel bad about myself lol. I haven't gotten pregnant though and I typically don't have my BF pull out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Trinessa for several years now, if I am not wrong 3 years. Growing up I had severe acne and abnormal hair growth, couple years later came to find out it was because I had PCOS. Trinessa has allowed me to regulate my periods, has tremendously controlled my acne and facial hair growth by a good 80-90% I would say. I am now 23 years old. I do get mood swings here and there, the week before my period but my body has adjusted to it over the years. The first year that I was put on Trinessa, my mood swings were a bit intense but that went away after a couple months. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Runninggirl101 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Trinessa for about two months now and have had zero issues. The first couple weeks I had slight nausea and mood swings, nothing crazy, probably my body getting used to it. I haven't gained any weight (but I am a college athlete so I do exercise quite a bit). I have noticed my hunger is more often than before but I just snack a little to relieve it. I watch what I eat so I don't gain weight. All in all everything's been perfect no complaints

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becks | 25-34 | Female |
4/29/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill overall sucks. Because if insurance reasons they put me on the generic which is the generic of orthotricyclen lo which is what i took before we tried to get pregnant. Worked ok for the first minth, then i started having the nasty side effects. To much bleeding in between and extreme mood swings. Luckily by some miracle the name brand is. Ow covered under my insurance. I have to much going on in life to worry about some pill that doesnt work properly. I say keep using what works for you if this does, great. Every woman is different and their bodies are different but just know if you have nasty side effects its more than ok to switch Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nik_kris | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I understand these negative reviews about moodiness right before your cycle... I also experienced this on my first year of taking this, but ALL birth control takes time to adjust to your body. Some just more or less than others. I have been on this BC for 2.5 years, and I promise it gets better as time goes on. I went on because of acne, my doctor recommended it. The first month or so I had zero appetite, bad/careless attitude and worse acne. Granted, I was also in my last semester of college and under a lot of stress. After about a year, I noticed better changes in my acne (I also found a face cleanser and lotion that doesn't irritate my skin). My skin still does break out around my mouth area right around my period, but I am sure that happens with a lot of birth controls. I use this pill for both acne and birth control and I don't have many complaints. I get emotional about a week before my cycle, but that also happened without birth control, the joy of hormones!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mattie.r | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug around March 2017. At first I was nauseous with headaches but nothing too bad. Then around the 2nd month half way through the active pills I started to have this heavy period like break through bleeding. I am now on month 4 and the break through through bleeding has gotten lighter but has not stopped. I tried to stop but by the 2nd day my face was covered in little zits. I quickly got back on because its amazing for your skin! I'm kind of trapped. So hopefully the bleeding stops one day. Never experienced any mood swings or depression. It sactually made me very calm and rational these days. Don't let these comments scare you everyones body handles things completely different. Good Luck! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marley | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/17/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on TriNessa for close to a year. Although it has helped regulate my periods, the side effects have started to get difficult to cope with. I have experienced intense migraines that have lasted several days, moodiness, nausea and vomiting, dizziness, bouts of depression and crying spells. My health insurance would cover this medicine at 100%, but due to a recent job switch I pay a self-pay of $28 for the medication. I've been reading reviews from other users that have experienced the same side effects, and feel I should spend a little more to find a better birth control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/7/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill definitely works, BUT it gave me major mood swings and depression. I was so sensitive and sad all the time and it was so frustrating. I had to switch

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NIGHTMARE! Same as everyone else - perfectly fine on Ortho-Tricyclen Lo and got switched by my insurance. Depression. Bursting into tears for no reason. And then there was the inexplicable headache that wouldn't go away. A headache so bad, I got a CAT scan. I remembered when I researched it about the depression that it mentioned headache so I stopped taking it for a month. Headache gradually went away over the next two weeks and now NO MORE HEADACHE. RUN! Do NOT take this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MadWI28 | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Method was effective for me like any other oral contraceptive; however, I experienced a slow onset of side effects over the course of taking this medication (6-9 months). I experienced moodiness that worsened before each cycle, fatigue and bloating, and a serious drop in libido. The last month on it I experienced irregular spotting nearly every other day. Physical exam and pap smear did not identify any other cause for this. Note: I took the pill at the same time every day and did not skip days. I had also been taking oral contraceptives for nearly 10 years at this point. My symptoms stopped immediately after switching to an IUD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/1/2016
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Trinessa for about 7 years now. Never been pregnant so it definitely works! Normally get my periods on Wednesday and they last till Saturday or Sunday and are super light. Only side effect I get is that I sometimes bleed old blood 2 weeks after my period which can be very annoying. I think they made my boobs grow considering I'm a triple D and was a C when I started lol. I recrommed this pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/7/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ladies please do not take this bc.! I started off with OrthoTriCyline Lo and the pharmacy switched me over to this one without even telling me so. Ever since my hair has gotten really thin and fallen off.. I have gotten BV (Bacterial Vaginosis) and it doesn't seem to go away. All signs lead back to this pill.. please take something else...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AshMcDash | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love this pill. Best generic I have ever tried. Strangely, the low-dose pills don't work well for me. I experience way more side effects, such as moodiness and fatigue on the low dose pills than on the regular dosage. So my doctor put me on Trinessa. The first two weeks I was a little sleepier than usual but nothing too crazy... My skin was also a little drier... But now I'm fine and those symptoms went away. I haven't gained any weight and my skin looks really clear (gotten a few compliments) so I'm sticking with Trinessa. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TrinessaHater | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking Ortho Tri Lo for about 11 yrs, then this HORRIBLE excuse for birth control Trinessa Lo got on my insurances radar as a cheaper generic and I was switched over!!! Worst experience ever. I've been using it for about 4-5 months now, the first month was ok, but after that it's been a nightmare! Exactly one week before the last week of hormone pills and up until my period is over, I've had MAJOR Issues down-south! Itching, irritation, tiny lesions even! Forget about having sec during this time! I've stopped taking them and will just have to pay for brand. TRINESSA LO IS THE WORST, DONT TAKE IT!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babyfreeladybean | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on three different birth control pills through out my life (not at the same time). Ortho Try Cyclen was the first but then Tri Nessa because of the pharmacy switch. They're the same medicine. I've also been on something called Sronyx which to me was practically the Devils poison.... Because it caused most of my hair to fall out and well anywho.. I've never had any side effects from this medicine. The only bad thing is that you HAVE to take it every day at the same time. Which is annoying.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More