Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

People reading these reviews should keep in mind that most people go on the internet to complain, and usually not to say how well something works for them. I have been using tri-sprintec for a month and really like it. My skin has cleared up and the only side effect I've experienced is breast tenderness that is starting to go away now. Please understand that birth control pills do not cause y...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

this is my first time taking this.

Shared reviews and ratings

Kristen | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this birth control for about 3 years now and I use to be 125 pounds and since being on the pill I am now 180 pounds. It has made me super moody and depressed but I never got acne from it and it regulated my period very well until I tried skipping the sugar pill to skip my period and now my period is all over the place and is just very wonky and painful. It’s probably my fault but it still is ugh lol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emmarose | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this pill for about 10 years. I had extremely regular periods every month. (Started on Wednesday during the sugar pill and ended by Saturday night). I didn’t have any weight gain, no symptoms, I wasn’t emotional or have cramps during my period. And my period was extremely light. The few days I had it every month was easy and light. I genuinely enjoyed the pill, but went off it after the 10 year mark just in case the theory of effectiveness being reduced after 10 years was true. I was sexually active throughout the 10 years and never had a pregnancy scare. I highly recommend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marena | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not sure if anyone else started to feel numb and a tingly feeling throughout their whole body I just started taking this pill yesterday and I am just now coming off my depo shot so I’m also not sure if that’s a side effect problem as well can someone please give me an answer ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in my second set of this birth control and I am feeling the side effects of my body getting used to the pill. I used to take ortho tricyclen awhile back but I am having bloating, irregular spotting, and brest tenderness. I hope this dissipates.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/28/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't like the packaging I miss when it was round that made it so much easier but by it being rectangular I accidentally keep taking the wrong week of pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/2/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The birth control itself is extremely effective, however it has caused me to get cystic acne which I have never dealt with in my life until now. The first month wasn't too bad as all I had was more frequent mood swings but as I have just finished my second pack my acne has increasingly gotten worse. I know it would take at least 4-6 months for my skin to become more clear as my body is still adjusting. However, my acne has only gotten worse destroying my confidence. I am currently on the placebo week of the 2nd pack deciding if I want to continue or find a new birth controlRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/19/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Trinessa for about 10 years and never had any side effects that I noticed. It got discontinued on 10/2018 at Walgreen's pharmacy. They gave me the generic they said "Tri Sprintec" I was a bit nervous switching, but they assured me it was the same no difference. After about 2 weeks of taking it I felt a little irritable. My Mother and sister both told me I was having big mood swings. This went away after 2 months. Since October of 2018 I have put on about 15-20 pounds. In the last year I have been eating less and activity level is the same. My bra size also went up 2 cup sizes. My stomach and breast area is always very swollen feeling. I'm not sure if it has to do with this birth control. I'm hoping because there is no reason that would explain all of this. I had read other reviews similar, I wish I would have thought about this sooner even though they say you shouldn't gain weight. We will see I'm stopping it immediately! I really hope I start losing weight and bloating! =(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teje | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/28/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this pill because birthcontrol-wise it does the deed, my periods are short-lived & I don't have any mood swings. HOWEVER, I have gained 15 lbs. around 4-5 months into using the pill, and no it's not me overeating and blaming the pill. My appetite is the same, my moods are the same, my food habits & amounts are the same, I actually have a more physically demanding job now yet I'm still the heaviest I've ever been. Aside from that, sometimes my sexual drive will disappear completely every so often. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juju1078 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on it for a month and a week only cons I have are super dry mouth and my lips in turn are dry, sex drive very high other than that I haven’t experienced anything and it’s cleared up my skin as well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashbee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PCP switched me to this bc because I was complaining of mood swings and low sex drive. It was great for the almost 4 months I was on it up until I developed blood clots in both of my lungs. I am not a smoker either. I'm not saying this is a bad BC I just want women to be aware it can happen to you even if you aren't a smoker. I have to be on blood thinners for 6 months to a year and off estrogen BC for a year. Please ladies be careful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shayybae | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/30/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking tri sprintec for about 6 years now. It has been the only birth control I’m on and have needed. I take it to prevent pregnancy but it has also cleared my acne considerably as well as reduce my week long painful periods, to 3 day barely noticeable ones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanessa7 | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking trisprintec for a while and my skin was looking much better but the last refill I got left me wondering if I got a bad batch ??? I had constipation and diaherrea and overall felt stomach issues come on out of nowhere. Towards the end of my refill hormonal acne has all of a sudden come on with full force. Last time I went back for a refill I was told trisprintec was discontinued. Iâ??m now on norgestimate ethinyl estradiol , a generic for orthotricyclen lo. Unfortunately my acne is still here :( Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ll soon be 48. I took bcpâ??s In my 20s with zero issues. Went off of them until last year. Periods were lasting forever and heavy, severe, unbearable cramping was increasing and lasting several days, and my moods were all over the place. I was very worried about all the negative talk about the pill for older women but my life was miserable and no prescription drug or natural remedy was working. I took the plunge, went back on the pill, and voila! No cramping, regular periods, and my moods, anxiety and panic attacks are nil. That hasnâ??t been the case since my 20s. Iâ??m always stunned by how much hormones affect so many aspects of a womanâ??s life. If theyâ??re out of whack, itâ??s hell. Maybe the pill doesnâ??t work on everybody, but being on Sprintec has dramatically changed my quality of life for the better! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Weight gain | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to Tri Sprintec after being told exactly same as Tri Nessa (which I had been on almost 30 years) I never had issues prior. I do notice headaches with this pill and weight gain. (Almost 15 pounds in year) I exercise twice a day and eat healthy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yami | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gynechologist found an ovarian cyst in my left ovary. He first prescribed me Lutera. Thus bc pill was a nightmare. Lutera gave me horrible headaches, nauseas, feeling tired all the time, my sex drive was awful and had horrible mood swings, anxiety and depression. I contacted my doctor and he switched me to Tri-Sprintec and noticed the difference the second day I started it. My sex drive is back, no mood swings, my depression disappeared, and no shortness of breath or palpitations. I feel normal and happy again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mamabear | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst decision I ever made was taking this bc. I took trinessa for 8 years and never once had an issue. Unfortunately trinessa is discontinued and I had to be switched to trisprintec. The first month i was alright but 3 out of the 4 months I took it were a nightmare. I became a different person. I cried everyday for no reason. My anxiety was worse than ever and I started having crazy thoughts. My acne is so bad right now. Worse than I ever had as a teen. I started getting a pain in my right breast and that was my last straw. I quit tri sprintec 3 weeks ago and I can't believe how much better I feel already. I still have horrible acne but I'm hoping it will get better after so long of not taking this bc. The pharmacy told me trinessa and tri sprintec are the exact same bc and that's a complete lie. I feel like I missed 4 months of my life because I was in such a depressed fog. Now I'm so much happier.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2019
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am just now starting this birth control it is my first time on any sort of birth control I am very nervous because I keep hearing about how it make you gain weight and the mood swings I am still pretty young I was prescribed this to regulate my period but I’m nervous to see how this goes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mackybee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst birth control I’ve ever been on (and I’ve tried four different pills). They discontinued Trinessa (the best BC) and I was given tri sprintec as a replacement. My face broke out SO much, I gave it three months to clear up and it’s progressively gotten worse: I’ve gained weight as well. I talked to my doctor about this, and the inactive ingredients are different from trinessa (hormones are the same). Would not recommend at all. I’m going back on the generic version which I didn’t have a reaction to. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manders | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control does what it needs to which is fine. But the side effects really hit me. I had flu like symptoms the first couple days. I am on day 8 right now and have no?t had the stomach to eat anything in 3 days. I am ALWAYS nauseous. My sex drive is not the same. And the moodiness has suck in, but I am assuming it is from being sick and lack of wanting/having sex. I understand my body might have to get used to being on BC again, but overall that has been my experience. It could get better but unfortunately I am not waiting around to find out so I am trying to switch now Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HawaiiSun | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m on my third week of this birth control. Iâ??ve had really bad issues with nausea in the past with other pills to the point where I couldnâ??t eat or focus on anything else. With Tri-Sprintec Iâ??ve only had a few hours of slight nausea right after taking the pill a few times. However, the two biggest side effects for me was the interruption of my sleep schedule when I first started the pill and the dizziness. I was constantly up throughout the night and woke up really early. Luckily my schedule has gone back to normal. I do still experience dizziness. Whenever I do any kind of motion too fast I experience a strong bout of being dizzy. Other than that, my acne has cleared up. Iâ??m not sure how itâ??s affected my period pain yet since Iâ??ve only been on it for 3 weeks but the initially side affects have been much better than previous birth control experiences. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More