Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My blood pressure dropped from 145/100 to 110/65 while taking nifediac. I was also eating two grapefruits a day. Don't understand this?

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

this drug made my mom dizzy and the doctor knew my mom complaint was dizziness and she prescribes a drug that has a side effect of making her dizzy...where do these quacks come from doctor mayo ?????

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/8/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/11/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohmymeddive | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pro: my BP stays normal 120/74ish. but, as others have reported I get a light headache after each dose. I also developed a rash. Broke out in small bumps on legs and arms that I thought was scabies or flea bites. Not continuing this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug made my mom dizzy and the doctor knew my mom complaint was dizziness and she prescribes a drug that has a side effect of making her dizzy...where do these quacks come from doctor mayo ?????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/11/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clawpath | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/27/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Nifediac for several months and have been very pleased with the results. My blood pressur has gone from 166/100 to anywhere from 81/53 to 115/68. I am loving the result. But yesterday when I visited my Dr. She had to take me off the medication do to very bad swelling in both feet, toes, ankles and halfway to my knees and had gotten to the point of being painfull even to touch and I have a high threshhold for pain. I have had the swelling for a little over a month. I thought, maybe something else was causeing this untill I had my doctor see it on my regular every 3 month evaluation check-up. I had been on the meication for at least 6 months until yesterday. Needless to say I am very sorry to be taken off the meds. because it worked so well to get my blood pressure down. I will be visiting my Dr. again in a month to see how my BP is doing and the swelling as well and if need be, she will put me on another med. to help with the BP. :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I've been taking this medication i have experience severe headaches and lost of sexual drive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brownsuga | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my blood pressure was 178/101-108 strated this drug day one my BP went to 110/68...I was sick as a dog... my head was hurting and nothing I took help...very scared to take again...not sure if I want to feel that way again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aqypoz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I reported to my Dr. that the previous medication I was on gave me extreme headaches, since I been taking Nifediac the headaches have gone. I am beginning to get some numbness at the tips of my fingers and sometimes my toes, which I have not experienced before. Also for some reason since I have been taking Nifediac my hair is falling out, dull and lifeless and is not growing, however my fingers and eyebrows continue to grow quickly as usually.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for about a month; recently have begun itching all over and experiencing rashes as well as pain in my feet & ankles. Allergic reaction?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
franeepierce | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

need to know side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/11/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

swelling of ankles and severe leg crampsblury vision DISTOLIC EXSTREEMLY LOW

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reydeadavid | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my blood pressure lower but fluid retention in the legs, feet, arms ans hands. Join pain,incomplete bowel movement. head ache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wow | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel so much better. More relaxed and focused.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nifediac | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was working for past 3 years untill last 3mo now must double dose evry 6hrs to control blood pressure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caeli | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/24/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a few months my ankles began to swell, gradually up to my knees. My lower legs were hot, swollen, and it hurt to walk. Later my joints all began to ache making it painful to go about my day. My doc prescribed a diuretic which helps some, but I still feel to swollen, sore, and tired to continue my regular exercise routine (3 times per week cardio). My BP was barely elevated (140 / 85) before I started this med and I would rather take my chances on a stroke than continue with these side effects. I will discontinue this medication with or without medical supervision.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tooyoungforthis | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2008
Condition: Type of Angina Where Chest Pain Occurs at Rest
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to take this medication years ago in a higher dose and it gave me such severe migraines that i couldn't stand so i discontinued taking it until my doctor wanted to try it again but at a lower dose and the extended release kinds so i agreed and it has been very effective. I have 10 times less attacks than i normally do but i still get migraines from time to time which still isn't so great because i dont like when my head feels like it will fall off. Lol! It's worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After three months use I have developed daily swelling of ankles and feet during the past two weeks; swelling increasingly more each day by evening. (I am active and work out almost daily).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel nausea at times muscle cramp joint pain and yes flushing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathiemarie | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug now for two years and my blood pressure has dropped but I do have swelling in my ankles as a side effect which is tough while working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More