Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

79 People found this comment helpful

I take 500mg once a day for Essential thrombocytosis, I have been on it for four months and my platlets have gone from 1,200 to 404 I have sore joints but that is about it.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

none

Shared reviews and ratings

Chris | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/23/2022
Condition: Type of Leukemia - Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have hereditary hemochromatosis (compound heterozygous) and have been dealing with both Polycethemia and CML for the last 8 years. I have been on doses of hydroxyurea as high as 3500mg a day down to my current 500mg depending on what which condition is doing when. The higher the dose the worse the side effects have been though even at their worst it was nausea and some joint pain and out of breath at times. There was some hair loss but since I’m bald anyway, it is only noticeable if I wear shorts or no shirt. This medication has been a life saver for me quite literally. I have done the therapeutic phlebotomy route for the hemochromatosis and Polycethemia but my veins gave out and ports didn’t work for me so it was down to hydroxyurea and ExJade….I hate drugs and drug companies but thank God they are there when you need them. When I started on this journey my serum ferritin level was well over 3000 and my blood was so thick it took 2 1/2 hours to get a unit of blood out, the color was like graphite.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had a minor stroke 10 months ago luckily with no side affects. i am 65 yrs old and have never smoked and quit drinking 25 yrs ago. I thought i lived a pretty healthy life style. My platelets ranged from 1100- 1500. after 6 months i was diagnosed with E T. 10 months ago i started walking 2 hrs a day and i spend 1 hr. total on elyptical and treadmill. i eat a super healthy diet. I started on 1000 - 1500 mg of hydroxyurea a day 3 months ago and my platelets are at 325 and all my bloodwork is perfect. I have never felt better in my life and hope to live a long healthy life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ani Phillips | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ET bone cancer and have taken this drug for a year, beginning with 1000 mg. per day to now 500 mg./day plus 2 extra doses per week. While it has been highly effective at lowering my platelets to a normal range, it has also lowered my red blood cell counts below normal, and I have EXTREME fatigue bouts almost daily. The fatigue comes on suddenly and I am completely immobilized! Lasts only around 30 minutes to an hour, but very concerning. I realize I have no choice but to continue treatment to prevent strokes, but worry about longer term side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hydroxyurea | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for five months for high platelet count 800,000. Has lowered to 500. Loose bowels and maybe kidney pain. Unsure of my medical state at this time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mizz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/9/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Polycythemia Vera in 1985. I've been taking Hydroxyurea in the brand name or generic (it fluctuates as to which) 500 MG once a day for all these years. At the very start I was offered phlebotomy or this... I chose this. It has extended my life expectancy by many years. It makes me a little nauseated right after I take it and it effects my balance. My hair is getting very thin now, but the alternative is worse. This gave me more time on earth with my children and I'm grateful for that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sparky | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: Type of Leukemia - Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only taken hydroxyurea for about two months but the side effects for me are not so good. Shortness in breath, chest and lung soreness and tightness unable to sleep much as some of my movements are painful and debilitating. Blood work is totally screwed up now. Need new rx or doctors

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/24/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ET. Been on this medication for about 5 years and I hate taking it. Now my blood counts are messed up and I know this drug has caused it. My doctor lowered my dosage but I'm not very confident in him. Time to get a new doctor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLGII | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/7/2017
Condition: Increased Red Blood Cells
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with polycythemia vera and thrombocythemia in 1990 at the age of 21. I have been taking hydroxyurea on and off since. I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1996. I was told by a hematologist years ago that this drug over time scars the bone marrow. I suffer itching of the skin and swelling and burning of the feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R. Newcomb | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/8/2017
Condition: Increased Red Blood Cells
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time he takes a pill and eats,he gets very nauseous.Been taking 500mg twice daily for two years.Anyway to help the nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/9/2015
Condition: Having Several Acute Conditions with Sickle-Cell Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take it to reduce crises - it's very effective. they used to be very, very frequent (once a week or more) and painful. They are a lot less regular now, maybe once every two months or so, and not as bad - I haven't been hospitalized in 8 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2014
Condition: Spontaneous Hemorrhages and Increase in Blood Platelets
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: Spontaneous Hemorrhages and Increase in Blood Platelets
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2002 DIAGNOSED WITH MYELOFIBROSIS. THIS IS 2014 & I'VE BEEN TAKING HYDREA OFF & ON SINCE DIAGNOSIS. PAST 2+ YEARS I'VE BEEN TAKING CONTINUOUSLY 2000 MG DAILY FOR RAISED PLATELETS. BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS W/SKIN RASHES & CERVICAL DYSPLASIA DRS SAY MAY BE CAUSED BY HYDREA. PLATELETS ARE KEPT IN CHECK; HOWEVER I'M ANEMIC & IT LOWERS RED BLOOD CELLS AS WELL AS PLATELETS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
embeze | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking hydroxyurea for about 7 years. Just now getting severe side effect of trigger finger, especially if given a different brand of this drug. I would love to take something else, but without it, platelets are 1.5 million. Platelets have been fluctuating between 650 and 250, depending on how much exercise I'm doing, while taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/8/2013
Condition: Having Several Acute Conditions with Sickle-Cell Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am taking Hydroxyurea for sickle cell disease. It helps very much in reducing the number of painful crisis and hospitalization a year. 10yrs into it my wife for 6yrs was unable to be pregnant she went through all kinds of tests and was told nothing was wrong with her. So I started. My 1st testing was semen analysis and the result was 0 sperm in my semen. So hydrea cause my sperm count to zero. After I stop taking it for a year I was placed on blood transfusion my sperm count increase and so was the painful crises. After my wife became pregnant we have a son. Now am on Hydrea again with less painful crises.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine Martens | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2013
Condition: Increased Red Blood Cells
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced a lot of burning within my body. In the folds of my arms, the backs of my legs and burning in my ankles. The only bit of relief comes by taking Gabapentin and a cool atmosphere. Stopped taking the drug for reducing red platelets and found no change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine Martensdq | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/23/2013
Condition: Increased Red Blood Cells
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It started 5 years ago with west Nile disease. This disease through my plate counts high. They put me on this drug to bring my plate counts down. My plate counts are about 650 to 700. Recently my nerves started to burn. I can hardly take it anymore. They put me on galvapentin to stop the burning. This has not worked. When I go off the hydroxyurea the burning sensation ceases but my plate counts go way up. I am back on the drug but my nerves are burning up. The doctors keep telling me it is not the drug that is causing it. They won't change the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vadams8416 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/20/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Head or Neck
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my daughter is on this med now with brain tumor and I think it was over kill t 2 pills twice a day...and her labs were off so waiting for more labs so med can be tweeked...I believe it is going to help

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daleen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2013
Condition: Increased Red Blood Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DaveBo51 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed 11 years ago with polycythemia vera and ET. I have taken 1500 mg every day since that day. I have had my white count up to 18 and as low as 4. My hair has thinned very much. No other problems with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More