Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I HAVE USED THIS MEDICATION FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND IT DOES HELP THE ITCHING. HOWEVER THE COST HAS GONE OUT OF SIGHT AT $130/SMALL BOTTLE. MY Dr. TOLD ME TO SWITCH TO ZADITOR OPHT. IT IS OVER THE COUNTER AND DOES THE SAME THING AS ELASTAT.

Shared reviews and ratings

elizabeth | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/3/2013
Condition: Eye Itching
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Elestat for severe eye itching and redness from 50 years of allergies and it works without the stinging you get from Optivar or the little white deposits from the Patanol. I also use Elestat off-label with doctor's permission in my ears, which helps reduce their horrible itching in season that no drop made for the ears helped at all. Note while Elestat reportedly does not dry out the eyes as much as other antihistamine drops, all produce some degree of drying. So while Elestat can help eliminate itching fairly well, the drying can make allergic conjunctivitis worse (a very painful condition that feels like something's in your eye scratching the surface). I've found if I supplement the Elestat an hour or two later with OTC Optive Refresh Plus with gel in single dose form (without the normal preservatives many allergic people react to), I can prevent the allergic conjunctivitis. There is no one drop that can do it all!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jess | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

**EDIT: I meant to say, "but they can cause some itching and dryness which can really irritate your eyes if you don't use enough LUBRICATING drops". It's an antihistamine which means it's will also dry your eyes out a bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over a month ago, I developed an allergic reaction to a new eyeliner that I used and this reaction lasted for over a month. I finally went to my mother's ophthalmologist and he prescribed elestat. These drops DO work but they can cause some itching and dryness which can really irritate your eyes if you don't use enough drops. Glad that it provided relief for my allergies though. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uncle B | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/19/2011
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have an allergy which effects the right side of my head only including my right eye.I only have a sample of this drug which i was using sporadically;but I am getting some relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cocogracie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2010
Condition: Eye Itching
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works only marginally better than OTC products - not worth the expense

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DON L W | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2008
Condition: Eye Itching
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE USED THIS MEDICATION FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND IT DOES HELP THE ITCHING. HOWEVER THE COST HAS GONE OUT OF SIGHT AT $130/SMALL BOTTLE. MY Dr. TOLD ME TO SWITCH TO ZADITOR OPHT. IT IS OVER THE COUNTER AND DOES THE SAME THING AS ELASTAT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CAROLE | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2008
Condition: Eye Itching
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

USING FOR LESS THAN A MONTH FOR EYE ITCHING AND DRYNESS OF THE EYE. I AM VERY SATISIFIED WITH ELESTAT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2008
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2008
Condition: Eye Itching
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/26/2008
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works better as preventive, not treating current eye allergy reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More