Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

This is working for my child (6yrs) who had her tonsils/adenoids removed. She HATES the taste but knows that it will provide some relief. The day after surgery she was drinking and eating soft foods, but I did give her the med. every 4 hours on the nose. Just swallow it down quickly and chase with a flavored drink (her choice=orange gatorade/vernors) and its done! If she can do it, so can you.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Had severe viral throat infection. Was prescribed for pain. Hated the dosage was in ML ( had to determine 15 ML = fluid oz on internet. I had 3+ glasses of water before bedtime, but had VERY little urine a couple hours later. Decided to stop aftr 1 dose

Shared reviews and ratings

norco 10 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/27/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

they are not strong enough even though I have been prescription it just not do the job and the amount of pain that i am in I just feel terrible all the time....any anxwers for me thanks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dickie | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works pretty good for a short time, but then it should becauce the bottle costs $200.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
futuremd205 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am currently taking this drug after a tonsillectomy. The taste is not that bad, it is like any other liquid medicine. It burns on contact but the pain is gone within minutes. Since tonsillectomy recovery is a two week process, you get used to the side effects (dizziness, etc). And as long as taken with food, nausea will not occur. Good luck with this medicine!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LindaO | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/6/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Flavor isn't great, but it works well for me. I had my stomach removed due to stomach cancer, so finding Meds of any kind that 1) work, 2) is absorbed in the small intestine, 3) is not an NSAID has been a challenge. The cancer is gone (caught very early) so I have to be careful of long term issues as well so I have kept my dose low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skyla425 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With out a doubt the hardest drug I've ever had to take. I'd rather have a suppository than drink this! Tastes so bad it makes me vomit and the dosage amount you have to take just to ease pain is to much. After a stomach surgery I wasn't allowed any pill larger than a skittle so I was prescribed this, it's so foul that I informed my Dr.and got fentanyl instead. Jäger tastes 5x better than this. Yuck!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silvertop | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had severe viral throat infection. Was prescribed for pain. Hated the dosage was in ML ( had to determine 15 ML = fluid oz on internet. I had 3+ glasses of water before bedtime, but had VERY little urine a couple hours later. Decided to stop aftr 1 dose

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dizzy Patient | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to have a cyst removed from my throat and this was prescribed as a pain reliever. It burns like fire going down and tastes horrible. I have also never been so dizzy in my life but I can swallow without pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having MAJOR toncil surgery for cancer, I found it to be the most difficult painful medicine that I could ever imagine. At one point I screamed with pain after the first swallow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teesters | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have a particularly bad case of Strep Throat and was prescribed the Elixir to help with the pain. And this has to be one of the worst prescription pain killers I've ever received. The only good thing about this garbage is how sleepy it makes me, which in turn allows me to zoink out. But I can only attempt to sleep so long as it's on my side and or my stomach because of fear of possibly voimiting. What little pain relife it does provide is done well before the "4-6 hour" dosage limit. If I ever get this as a prescription again, I'll be sure to come up with a reason to get something that I know will actually work, instead of waste my time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laurel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took a morphine this morning around 10:30 and still in lots of pain can i take another morphine or can i take lortab instead for in between

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SherryGabs | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had most of my stomach and small portion of small intestine removed 4 days ago. Was on morphine in hospital and was switched to Lortab elixir the day before discharge. The first couple of doses made me vomit, after that no more nausea. It does relieve pain, not totally, but well enough. The relief does not last 4 hours, however. I either have to suffer or take dosages more frequently.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/25/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is 7 and had his tonsils and adenoids removed 3 days ago. This medication does seem to help with pain but he has had very little appetite. We are giving him 4-5 mL every four hours, even throughout the night. I have been waking him up in the night to make sure he gets his meds. on-time. Keeping up regular doses is the only way to keep him from getting past the point where we can't even get the medicine down because he is crying so hard. He does not like the taste, but it forces him to drink some fluids to wash it down. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me a bit dizzy but works really well. Hardly no pain from adenotonsillectomy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
calluna13 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had major surgery twice within the last year and they sent me home with this both times. Although I'm sure it's safer to send home than a more potent drug, it doesn't quite kick the pain the same as in hospital ones do. Not impressed by it at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/15/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/21/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is nine and was recently given Lortab Elixer at the emergency room for a fractured foot. This was a huge mistake! The medicine had no sooner hit her mouth and it was projectile vomited straight back out. Why the nurse chose an alcohol based liquid I will never understand. This pain reliever is obviously not for children and I am horrified that it has not been labeled as such. Hopefully parents across the nation will complain to their pediatricians as I plan to do and help to keep this medication from traumatizing and possibly poisoning other children in the future. Jodi Kennedy- Mom Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed to me after I had fractured my in two places. I found this medication helpful in the treatment of pain due to its short onset and long duration. Also, two doses of this medication worked more effectively than four doses of liquid Motrin throughout the course of the day. I can only speak for myself but my insurance co-pay made this prescription cheaper than purchasing an OTC pain reliever (Tylenol/Motrin oral suspension). The narcotic effect is enjoyable, I can understand how people would abuse this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael65270 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im 21 years old. I have lesions and abcesses in my throat and they gave me Hydrocodone (lortab elixir) for the pain. The first couple doses didnt seem to work. But have been taking it almost two days now and I can eat and drink just fine now. I would recommend to just give it time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/26/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 8 year old son was put on this med because Tylenol w/codeine was ineffective after a tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy. This med has been fairly effective for pain, however he has had constant nausea, no appetite, sleeps all the time, and is "out of it" when he is awake.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/13/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son (2 1/2 y/o) fractured his femure. Dr gave this as medicine for pain. Gave him half a dose (2ml vs 4 ml) and son woke up screaming after a couple of hours. He looked terrified and was unable to calm him down. Heart rate rate was not normal, breathing was labored. Took him into ER and DR said nightmares are a common side effect for little children. Then got T3 in place of lortab. Highly encourage parents weigh their options prior to giving this med to young children.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More