Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

59 People found this comment helpful

I started taking Prilosec under direction of a gastroenterologist in 1992, which I think may have been very close to the when it was first available. I had severe Barrett's Esophagus and was having emergency endoscopies about once a year. I took it 365 days a year from about 1996 until early this year. The scarring in my esophagus has almost completely healed, which is wonderful. Unfortunately, I ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed 20 mg of Prilosec once daily over 10 years ago for GERD. It worked to reduce acid reflux in my throat but I have been experiencing severe constipation, bloated belly, water weight gain and pain throughout my abdomen for quite some time. I am planning on stopping the use of Prilosec in the hopes these uncomfortable symptoms will go away. I am due for an endoscopy/colonoscopy and am...

Shared reviews and ratings

A.C. | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Ulcer of the Duodenum
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for me, 20mg/day, for a gastro-duodenal ulcer, some gastritis too. I took it as prescribed for 30 days, while in my 20s. It fixed the wound, it dealt with the acidity, but in time it always came back in episodes of reflux, sometimes to the point of vomiting after some heavier food, as it was the only way to relieve the pressure from a filled stomach, mostly with acid. My MD would just prescribe some more to take "at need", which I did maybe 3-4 times/month in average for more than a decade. The reflux got worse with age and returned more and more often, even though I was pretty fit, 22 BMI, engaging in almost daily sports, so I took some more. Then I noticed the water accumulation, especially in my feet, which was horrible. I measured as much as 3-4 additional kgs of retained water. Feet swollen, pouches below the eyes, hands too. Skin was all puffy. My medic said it's my kidneys. Blood tests came fine though. Decided, by myself, after reading more into omeprazole, to replace it fully with famotidine. The rebound was pretty horrible for maybe 2 weeks after I completely stopped it, but 40mgs famotidine worked well enough, then 20, and now I will half that too see how it goes. Now my reflux is completely gone. I can finally run without acid, without burping, without stomach pressure, can finally eat normally without fear. No more nausea. No more vomiting. No more water retention, no more weight accumulation out of nowhere. This is a good medicine for a VERY short while, but most medics seem oblivious at the severity of its adverse effects. Be very careful with it. Would not recommend it unless your illness is unresponsive to the various other meds that deal with acidity. Personally I'm not touching it ever again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
franco | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/17/2020
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Omeprazole (prilosec) 40 mg for at least 25 years for severe gerd. It was so bad I couldn't drink water without getting reflux. The medicine worked almost right away and I have had relief for 25 years. I asked doctors over the years how long I could use it. They all said forever. I've been reading about users having all kinds of side effects I have had none/zero. I do take B12 1000 mg to offset vitamin issues but that's it. I spoke to my Internal Doc about how effective it and he said its been a "miracle drug" for people suffering from severe GERD (that was me) and to keep on taking it. I still take it daily.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/18/2020
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had stomach issues for the last 60 years. Prilosec was prescribed as soon as it became available. However, taking it every day made my stomach hurt so bad that I only took it when my stomach was upset and it did help. Then two years ago I was talking to a lady and she said she cannot take it daily but takes it 3 days a week, Monday, Wednesday and Friday so I gave that a try. Wow, what a difference. I avoid many foods that upset my stomach but sometimes it didn't matter what I ate, it upset my stomach. So have lived with very little stomach upset since I change to 3 days a week. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2020
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible side effects, arthritis symptoms, my whole body ached, joints, arms, legs, my skin lost all its glow, I looked and felt like I was 90. I stopped taking this and replaced it with apple cidar vinegar and water each morning, and I feel great! Would never take this again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XGuilt | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Simply put, this drug works. I've used it off and on for several years but now am using it daily and long-term per my doctor's advice. The drug's maker, P

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
choosey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2018
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ENT doctor prescribed Prilosec for a cough and throat inflammation caused he thought by reflux. I took it for ten days and it did seem to relieve my cough but I experienced chest tightness, severe breathing problem, and wheezing. I did not take anymore!!! I think this drug is just dangerous!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ivory | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been able to eat better and keep down my food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Omeprazole (prilosec) 20 mg for at least 20 years for severe gerd. It was so bad I couldn't drink water without getting reflux. The medicine worked almost right away and I have had relief for 20 years. I asked doctors over the years how long I could use it. They all said forever. But I always read where long term use can be bad. I can't complain because what I had before I took the medicine was horrible. I haven't had any major side effects that I know of. I have three stents and I have Type 2 diabetes associated with exposure to Agent Orange in Vietnam. I took Plavix with Prilosec for five years, but my research showed it didn't effect Plavix until you took about 80 mg daily. Since I took 20 mg I saw no side effect to the Plavix. I'm off Plavix now and have been for several years. I don't know if I will have any long term effect, but so far I haven't. I feel this drug did wonder for me compared to what I went through with constant GERD. I'm still taking it daily.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patty | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed to take this for 5 years. It depleted b12-neuropathy, folate-gingivitis calcium/magnesium-osteoporosis, zinc-low immunity causing bacterial infections in digestive system. Not discovered until certified nutritionist helped with blood test from LabCorp. Have been trying to recover for 3 years and will be life-long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
a1bill | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/14/2016
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has been working fine taken it for 10 to 15 years now before took Prevacid for about 5 to 10 years I also have Barrents Esophagus

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cobra | 75 or over | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/20/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed generic Prilosec about 8 yrs ago for severe reflux it has been working great. After reading the results of a recent study indicating a possible link to Altzimers I decided to stop "cold turkey". The 3rd day in the acid reflux returned WITH A VENGENCE. I will have to take my chances with the Altzimers connection. I cannot handle that burning acid in my throat. I can`t believe some of the side effects some of the reviewers are blaming on this drug everything but hang nails.This is a very effective drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justme1974 | Female | Patient
7/12/2015
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Prilosec now for almost 10+yrs.Needless to say I am not slowly weaning myself off this medicine cause it has now caused me to have a stomach full of polyps, low b12, anemia, weight gain, muscle cramps, spasms, and low magnesium levels as well. Yes it works wonders for gerd, but not that wonderful if it causes all this and now a warning that PPI's like Prilosec carries a higher risk of heart attacks too, no thanks! Everyone please check out this link to a complete

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2015
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began having some reflux during the night, depending on what I had eaten, although I still was having it even if I ate quite a few hours before going to bed. After one or two especially nasty experiences aspirating a nasty brew of stomach acid and whatever else, I scheduled a doctor's appointment. After determining from m history that I probably didn't have H. pylori, he prescribed 20mg Prilosec once per day 1/2 hour before meals. By the second day, the reflux and/or heartburn was pretty much gone. He had said to take it for 3 months and then assess the situation, but after a couple of weeks, Instarted to get sloppy about remembering to take it, especially 1/2 hour before a meal...probably stupid of me... However, I found that even though I began to occasionally have (milder) signs of heartburn again a week or two after completely quitting the medication, I could take one pill or possibly two pills over two days, things would completely clear up again for up to a week or so. Since I am kind of a minimalist on taking medications anyway, I am good with that...just taking it on an as-needed basis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnnieMacBee | 65-74 | Female | Caregiver
4/20/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr calls it GERD, nasty acid reflux, bending over can get really vile backwash, after eating I feel like I have a huge "bubble" that does not want to go up or down. Negative for ulcer and H.Pylori, I also take thyroid meds, hungry all the time. I take the 20mg Prilosec (generic) first thing in AM by bedtime it is worn off so I take a big slug of Maalox and sleep partially sitting up. I have put on a lot of weight, I avoid acidic or spicy foods & carbonation, vegetables are easier on the stomach if they are cooked not raw. Would like to get rid of the nauseous feeling, vile sour "wash" and too many headaches especially first thing in the morning. There has to be something better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/28/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 20 mg of Prilosec once daily over 10 years ago for GERD. It worked to reduce acid reflux in my throat but I have been experiencing severe constipation, bloated belly, water weight gain and pain throughout my abdomen for quite some time. I am planning on stopping the use of Prilosec in the hopes these uncomfortable symptoms will go away. I am due for an endoscopy/colonoscopy and am hoping I will not have polyps from the lack of stomach acid. God created stomach acid for a reason I imagine the lack of stomach acid has affected my digestion for quite some time now. I cannot eat certain types of food because they do not seem to digest properly..I also experience frequent flatulence..not a pleasant experience. I will deal with the rebound of going off Prilosec it has got to be better then I feel now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 40mg per day (prescribed) to treat Barrett's Esophagus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/22/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for a couple of years and it has worked as advertised. After reading some of the reviews, I have not experienced any of them. I do take a group of vitamin supplements daily. A multiple vitamin, also one C, D and E capsule. No problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meteorman | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from diverticulitis for years before trying omeprazole. It takes the pain away after 2 days. A real miracle. No doctor involved. Never without it. Thank you all . joe

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zan | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/3/2014
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Prilosec, prescribed by my Dr., for over 15 years. Over that time I have had increasing symptoms of joint pain, made made much by even very small amounts of caffeine. Also I have had very low vitamin D, B12, magnesium and probably other unknown nutrients. With my Doctor's approval, I lowered my Prilosec to 10mg. every other day, and now to none at all. I seem to be managing the reflux ok, and although it is too soon to be sure, my other symptoms seem to be going away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lilybird | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/16/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once I started taking it, if I tried to stop the acid reflux returned the next day. So frustrating since I never wanted to take this for a long period of time. How can I stop taking it and not have it return?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More