Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I have been receiving weekly infusions since 1999 and my PFTs have remained stable with the last one showing a slightly improved condition. Anyone with Alpha 1 should be on this on another proteinese inhibitor. It slows the progression and not on it, the deterioration happens rapidly.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I havenever taken it yet

Shared reviews and ratings

I just wanna feel OK | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/20/2020
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ever since the pharmacy made me switch from powder to liquid I have a difficult time doing anything. I have gone from mobility to exhaustion. I can not breath any better after my infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was started on this treatment late in the formation of symptoms. Dr. first had me take it 1 time per month and then every 2 weeks. As of the last month I have gone to once a week and am hoping for a much better control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tattoocindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/27/2009
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In have emphysema and I am 50. Theophelline gives me the shakes so I have to take Xanax and clonopin.Anyone use a different med? I talk 200mg 3 times a day and 10mg of steroids,once during the am and then at bed. Haven't gained a pound,cannot eat too muck because it depresses my diaphragm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kauaimama | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/16/2009
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been receiving weekly infusions since 1999 and my PFTs have remained stable with the last one showing a slightly improved condition. Anyone with Alpha 1 should be on this on another proteinese inhibitor. It slows the progression and not on it, the deterioration happens rapidly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nobucks | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/26/2008
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed in 1991 with A1AD and started weekly infusions May of 1992. This augmentation therapy has been a life saver for me. When diagnosed I was told that the disease had progressed so rapidly that I had approximately four years to live. Well, I’m still here and my PFT’s have dropped somewhat, but nothing like they were prior to infusions. Thank God I had a knowledgeable physician.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patricia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/14/2008
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Prolastin for nearly 20 years. I have found that my PFT's have declined but only slightly. I know this medicine is not a cure, but for me it has had great benefits. I work full time and do not have to use oxygen via cannula at this point in my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/5/2008
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has considerably slowed lung deterioration due to alpha-1, but does require a weekly (biweekly for some patients) infusion by a medical professional. It is also very expensive and so is feasible only for insured patients.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary kroening | 75 or over | Female | Patient
5/31/2008
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I havenever taken it yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/10/2007
Condition: Pulmonary Emphysema associated with Alpha-1-Proteinase Inhibitor Deficiency
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More