Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I am 49 years old and have not had a period for about three years. My doctor did some blood work and said I have started menopause. I was feeling horrible. I had hot flashes, anxiety, heart pounding, couldn't sleep, and was miserable. He put me on prometrium, 200 mg. daily to be taken before bed. This medication has changed my life. I feel normal again.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I started having significant memory loss and bad mood swings. Called Dr. 3 times-no help. Found problem myself.

Shared reviews and ratings

Chaz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me very dizzy, nauseous, and gassy. I am also belching non-stop and my joints ache. Not worth the hassle. I feel better without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skye | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started 12 days ago with combination estrogen cream to take 12/28 days for multiple severe hot flushes, night sweats and constant waking throughout the night. Has been absolutely life changing for me, I feel back to normal. Haven't experienced 1 of the side effects. I do take at bedtime though to avoid dizzy as it states and people report.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1stDayReaction | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had been taking 150mg compounded progesterone for months to treat hot flashes and sleep interruptions during menopause. Switched to 50 mg compounded and 100mg Prometrium. 1st dose was AWFUL. Within 30 minutes I felt drunk. I could barely walk. Next day I had a migraine and my stomach was bloated and uncomfortable and I was very fatigued. Prior to this, I had taken a different brand of progesterone as well as the compounded progesterone and had no side effects. I don't know what's in this drug, but it is definitely not good for my body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
concerned | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is round and rubbery. It is difficult to swallow. It gets stuck in my throat and has blocked my wind pipe so I had a hard time breathing, It's very painful. I tried everything to swallow it with water, food and it still stays lodged in the throat or wind pipe, I have to cough it up as it doesn't dissolve. It works wonders but the swallowing is difficult for me and wish they could redesign the shape of the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judy Diamond | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Prometrium in conjunction with Esdtradot 2 days ago. The side effects of Prometrium are horrible; dizziness, very tired, so what is the point of them at all? With so many nasty side effects listed, why bother to promote this product to women who are already going through the pains and misery of menopause?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hone | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me severe insomnia and upset my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/17/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been in surgical menopause since 2013 with horrible side effects from the estrogen only treatment. This medicine has given me my life back. I am finally able to sleep all night. No more depression or anxiety. I feel normal now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Normal Again | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from severe, frequent hot flashes. My doctor prescribed 100 mg vaginally at bedtime. Soon, my flashes subsided and I was also sleeping a lot better. A year later, she put me on DHEA and I slowly decreased the Prometrium without recurrence of the hot flashes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/15/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medication 4 years ago. I am pre-menopausal and it really helps with the mood swings, anxiety levels, hot flashes and sleeping (mostly) I have severe insomnia. My periods were never normal so I can't really speak about that side of things. But I am really glad the doctor prescribe this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps with sleep, stops night sweats and night time anxiety, helps control excess bleeding. Sometimes, seems as if a batch might not be as effective as previous, but overall, this stuff has been a lifesaver for me. My endometrial biopsies are back to normal after taking this for almost 2 years. I plan to continue taking this just about forever. It is good to take it at night because it does make you drowsy, but that is a benefit for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GoingToSeed | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am going to be 50 in a few weeks and have been taking prometrium for about 6 months. The peri-menopausal period of my life has been hell until prometrium. Now I no longer have the horrendous heavy bleeding (from 7 days to 3 days) and clots or extended bleeding anymore every 2 weeks. My ferritin and iron levels have normalize and I feel human again. I love this hormone replacement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheila | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2016
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took first dose and became so dizzy and light headed. I barely made it to the couch. I either passed out or fell asleep. Had serious cramps and very sleepy over next 24 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maryann | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/5/2015
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love it have been taking it for about 19 months and all abnormal cell growth is gone and I feel like a new woman....dizzy is the only side affect and since it is a bedtime drug it don't bother me.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cleigh14 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for 2 months and have experienced depression and severe mood swings, spotting (although the doctor was trying to convince me there's nothing to worry about with the spotting...the whole point of me taking this drug is so that I can get pregnant and sustain a pregnancy because I have super low progesterone levels; spotting is really terrifying to see when you're trying to get pregnant and think you're having a miscarriage), and tiredness. I think my doctor has no idea what she's doing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is very round and difficult to swallow. It stays stuck in my throat and is very painful. I tried everything to swallow it with water, food and it still stays lodged in the throat for the whole day until it dissolves. Too bad because it works wonders but the swallowing is difficult for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ms | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it at supper time. I get drowsy and dizzy. I'm glad I chose to take this during a time where I don't have to travel. I can deal with it as long as I continue taking in evenings. So far, I have seen little to no change in my bleeding. I have taken this 7 days as of 11/4/14.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cynthia7678 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on for a month, going to try a three month regiment . Help with dysfunctional vaginal bleeding , pre menopausal . No side effects, feel better , symptoms going away. Love this , feel I handle handle my life again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2014
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am peri-menopausal and had very heavy bleeding for a month. I was so anemic (red cell count 64) I needed an emergency blood transfusion. Thought the bleeding was due to menopause but an ultrasound revealed a fibroid. I rested for 2 weeks, am taking iron & 200 mg of prometrium at night. My bleeding stopped immediately, I have been advised to take it for 3 months until a followup appt. where it may be decided that I get a hysterectomy. I am concerned because I now have slight retinal ischemia in both eyes, caused by my anemia, and am worried that the prometrium may make it worse. Basically worried about blood clots though not sure if I need to be?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristig0404 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is poison! Went on it per my dr for Pms symptoms/ low progesterone. Within 4 days I was having severe panic/anxiety attacks, depression, and lethargy. Please think twice about using this as I am on day 8 off of it and still having panic, depression, and lethargy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More