Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

103 People found this comment helpful

i cannot understand all of the hype anout this medicine,i've used it since 1974 for shell shock i recived in the army.Now same doseage,my new doctors say it is habit forming and refuse to keep me on it,is it that the drug company wants more money? or some college student figured out a way to write a paper to get extra credit?it does not control me,i do not absue it and it works for me,i believe it...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

CHANGING OF COLORS SO OFTEN, FROM BLUE TO YELLOW

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous |
8/8/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son who was 18 at the time became addicted to Xanax, 25 years later he still suffers the side effects of his addiction. I would strongly suggest this drug not to be prescribed and look for other alternatives.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tjamal | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today Dr. prescribed me, I am wondering can it may cause weight loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
9/10/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patricia | 75 or over | Patient
8/20/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can this drug effect blood pressure?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicky | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/13/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am sleeping well. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it reduces anxitey and tension

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RMMGEST82 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/27/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does Xanax work hell yes it does. Is it addictive Hell yes it is. Before you start know what you are getting into. Have a discussion with your doctor about a plan on how long you will be on it, a plan to taper off it, and a long term plan to deal with your anxiety. Xanax is a band aid and it has serious side effects. Anyone who says it doesnâ??t is a flat out liar. It messes with your memory for starters. You build up a tolerance quickly and will need a higher dose to get your desired effect. Once you have taken enough for long enough you canâ??t just stop taking it. You can have seizures and die. Many periodontal know this and doctors donâ??t bother mentioning it when the give or out. My advice would be only take it when you really need it and try to find a way to deal with your anxiety long term without this drug. Get therapy and find a way to deal with the issues causing that anxiety head on. Easier said than done. Good luck I know how you feel and wish you the bestRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None yet! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
12/9/2019
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My veterinarian prescribed this drug for my dog's extreme anxiety during thunderstorms. It helps her so much,and frankly me too! LoL!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheryl | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/15/2019
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication 22 years ago after a complete hysterectomy. Not being able to take the hormone pills. This has worked great. I function very well with it. It's 2019, and all the dr's want to take you off it. Called control! Well it's too late, and I am thinking about the ER pill of this may keep it in my system longer and not having to take it 4 x daily. It will be like pulling teeth with the dr. But yes this works very well for Anxiety, panic attacks and etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LeeLee | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/5/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I previously took this medicine every day, along with my antidepressant which I have been taking for years. I now only have to take alprazolam as needed, if I have anxiety, or trouble getting to sleep and it works great. I guess if I wasn't on the antidepressant I would probably have to take the alprazolam daily. But I have had no problems with alprazolam being addictive, ever. It has helped me in the past when I've had severe anxiety attacks, and it now continues to help if I still have anxiety attacks, and problems getting to sleep. I'm happy to have this med, and would recommend it to anyone needing relief from anxiety or sleeplessness, etc.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

epileptic seizures

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stix | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/25/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am a w.m.over 50<60 have always had bad anxioty ADHD now AADHD been taking it bout 3yrs.realy helped dealing with my wife's terminal cancer we fought for four years. her death 1.5yrs past was an emotional killer.sank into super depression. alprazolam is the only thing that kept me from suicide or worse i am sure.it made me just clear enough to think about the people who truely have love for me when i did not.i am sure it helped me see a little clearity betwen the fine fine spaces between the bouts of TOTAL DEPRESSION.had no regaurd for life(mine or anybody within my five foot circle of my space). alpraz.ER was and is my only glimps of love within me and contol(so to speek)of my very very quick temper and rage, so i supoze(i am sure)put my depression in a bit of check for short piriods of time just for the short glimps of reality.rounded the rough edges of depression,anxioty,loss of love(hatetred for myself and anyones life) and was and is a lifesaver for myself and the fools(anyone wanting to confront or joke at my expence)who have no idea of the CRAZY thoughts in this confused and so messed up mush of a brain....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/22/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 0.5 Alprazolam about 50% of the time to aid sleep or if i think a situation is going to be very stressful. No bad side effects. Been five years. Competitive triathlete age group champion-no side effects maybe some gas which can be funny ! recommend .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/3/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I use it mainly for sleep, I also use it for anxiety. Being reduced to 1 mg for sleep and receiving only 30 per month leaves m with none for anxiety. What to.do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PharmaB | 45-54 | Female | Patient
2/7/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective also very habit forming. Withdrawal is horrendous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/20/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has helped me greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/11/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried or still use Ambein (12.5 mg), Lorazapam (2 mg) and Tamazapam (15 mg). Tamzapam is completely ineffective. Lorazapam requires 4.5 mg to put me to sleep). Ambein is effective if I use 18.25 mg). Xanax works quite well with 4 mg. If I want more than 4-5 hours sleep I take 12.5 mg Ambein with 2 mg of Xanax. I end up using various combinations of these medications because most doctors freakout at the prospect of habituation. One doctor told me at 66 years old I should take Xanax as little as possible so I get .5 mg tabs and take every other day. Like this is supposed to do something? .5 mg has no effect on occasional anxiety. I use Librium 25 mg on jet flights for anxiety and it works fine. Best all around drug for insomnia, anxiety, and muscle spasms is Valium but that's dangerous medication when taking Oxycondone. For basic insomnia Xanax works best for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cbrown5209 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/7/2017
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couldn't live my life without fear struggling everyday to get out of bed to go to work. And having panic attacks and blacking out at work. I now have my life back!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More