Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I have Erectile dysfunction (ED) disorder. I have been taking Cialis to counteract this problem. Since taking L-Lysine my problems have almost disappeared. I am no longer at the mercy of time. When my wife is ready I'm ready. My wife thinks I'm superman. Please pass this on!

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

severe!!! allergic reaction family doctor questioned why i would use product not tested by fda.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lysine | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

is this good for cold sores?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dot2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
energizeddiva | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to prevent cold sores. As long as I remember to take consistently, I do not get them. If I forget and a cold sore starts, I make a paste of l-lysine and water and put it on the coldsore and it stops it dead in its tracks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used for oral herpes.Not as effective on genital herpes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BL | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I USE IT (L-LYSINE) AS I HAVE HAD THE SHINGLES AND IT WORKS GREAT, JUST WISH THE PILL WAS SMALLER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BTH | 75 or over | Male | Patient
7/24/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE HAD SHINGLES TWICE. DR SAID I WOULD NOT. I USE ABOUT 1000MG OF L-LYSINE PLUS I TAKE 1000 VIT C- WITH ROSE HIPS AS NOT TO UP MY STOMACH. ITAKE I VIT C 1000MG AM AND PM USE 1000MG L-LYSINE EACH AM. THIS KEEPS THE PAIN DOWN AND THE ITCH DOWN , HAVE USED ABOUT 2 YEARS . I AM 84 YRS YOUNG , I CAN NOT DO WITH OUT THIS COMBINATION

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
7/19/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i use l-lysine everyday to lessen the outbreak of a coldsore and i double the dosage if/when a cold sore starts. I do not need to take a prescription of valtrex at all!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJ | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1000 mg daily to prevent and treat cold sores. I do not get them as often and I double-up on it when I have a break-out. Been taking for over 10 years and it really helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The Transporter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get cold sores often. L-Lysine, if taken upon first notice of a cold sore, makes it go away within 24-48 hours. I take 2 - 1000 mg every 4 hours for the 48 hours. That usually does the trick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoneWithColdSores | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Lysine to help in the aid of healing, or pre-treatment for cold sores, or Herpes Simplex. I always get a cold sore on my lip after having an illness or fever. I've found that if I take a does, a high does, of Lysine, the cold sore IMMEDIATELY begins to go away! Just recently, I had the flu and was sick for a week. Of course, I started to get a cold sore. I took my faithful Lysine, and it immediately started to disappear. Two days ago, I started to get what I thought were pimples below my lips, and above my chin. Right on the area where one ends and the other begins. There were several small sores, very spread out, so I didn't think much of it. They tingled just a bit, but not enough to where I would recognize them as Herpes Simplex 1. It dawned on me yesterday that they may be Herpes. I took Lysine last night, and the only evidence of any sores are a few dried out red spots!!! If you do take Lysine for cold sores, I hope you have the same results I had. I don't know it if would work for Herpes Simplex 2, but it wouldn't hurt to try! I have not taken this herbal remedy by a physician. However, I have not been told NOT to take them, either! Use your own discretion and common sense. When I take it, my initial does is 1500mg. After that, I take 1000 mg twice per day until the outbreak is completely gone. I hope this helps those that cannot afford prescriptions. I know I can't afford them, and the outbreak would be so brief, it's not worth the cost. Try Lysine, or L-Lysine, and see what YOUR results are!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

severe!!! allergic reaction family doctor questioned why i would use product not tested by fda.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DaddysGirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

L-Lysine has been wonderful for my skin! Living in Florida, I have had a dramatic change in my skin condition since beginning 6 months ago! I have combination skin and this has helped for me. Thumbs up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bbdoll | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/13/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for years to relieve mouth sores. On day my draining sinus were giving me a sore throat. I decided that, since that was no more than another mouth irritation, I took 2k mg of l-lysine in the am and 1k in the pm. By the next day, instead of losing my voice from the throat irritation, I no longer had a problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/2/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having frequent mouth sores that took about 10 days to heal. It was painful to eat, and even painful to talk. This supplement has reduced the mouth sores to almost none, and those that do appear, heal within two or three days. What a tremendous relief!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/15/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take L-Lysine to help with my cold sores. I take two each morning to keep them away. If I get one I take two in am and two in pm. Before I started taking this med. I had cold sores every month that lasted a week to two weeks. Now I get them if I skip L-lysine or if I get very sick. I also use tea tree oil extract on surface of cold sore to dry it very quickly!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from a skin condition called Ecezma that is caused by a food allergy. Anything with citric acid, or vitimin C will cause breakouts on my feet, hands, head and neck. They are not attractive at all when it happens. I started taking L-Lysine and have watched the breakouts dissapear, and can enjoy eating the foods that cause them. The only side effects that I have noticed is that if I have strained my self at work the L-lysine works to heal the muscles quickly causing some pain as if I have worked out very heavily. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/22/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ArrowHead54 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/27/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Erectile dysfunction (ED) disorder. I have been taking Cialis to counteract this problem. Since taking L-Lysine my problems have almost disappeared. I am no longer at the mercy of time. When my wife is ready I'm ready. My wife thinks I'm superman. Please pass this on!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/21/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with severe cold sores from birth. This is the ONLY medication that has helped. I take it daily to ward off sores. On the occassions when I do get a cold sore, I increase my dosage and the sore usually heals within 24 hours. I swear by this supplement! It has decreased my outbreaks by 90%!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More