Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

(If you don't respond well to popular anti-depressants, give this one a try!!!) I've taken almost every SSRI there is (well, it seems that way) and they all have made my depression, anxiety/panic disorder, paranioa, etc, worse. My reactions ranged from hearing things, imagining strange(r) things, enragement, increased depression, increased suicidal thoughts, hallucinations, etc. My doctor, at the...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I despise this drug. I was taking 100 mg and experienced such severe constipation I developed a UTI and pelvic pain. Ended up making my neuropathic pain even worse. I tried to lower dosage and it did nothing, still the same awful constipation and depressed feelings. If you are prone to experiencing side effects from drugs, DO NOT take this medication.

Shared reviews and ratings

Gary1126 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist gave me 150 milligrams to start! After 5 days I had to go to the emergency room. I can barely walk or eat,urinating is painful and my heart races just walking up the stairs. If I didnâ??t know him I would have thought someone was trying to kill me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/17/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Gastroenterologist put me on this medication for IBS D a little over a year ago. This medication has changed my life. No more diarrhea. If you have chronic diarrhea from IBS D, please talk to your doctor about this drug. I take the lowest dose of 25mg daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
madbecca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I DESPISE THIS MEDICATION. I experienced such severe constipation I developed a painful UTI, complete with burning pain and pelvic cramps. My doctor suggested lowering my dosage, but it did nothing. These two weeks have been the worst ever, thanks to this dreadful drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca Fesperman | 19-24 | Female | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I despise this drug. I was taking 100 mg and experienced such severe constipation I developed a UTI and pelvic pain. Ended up making my neuropathic pain even worse. I tried to lower dosage and it did nothing, still the same awful constipation and depressed feelings. If you are prone to experiencing side effects from drugs, DO NOT take this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucky Larry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking desipramine (the generic from Actavis) for depression since 2003, returning to it after trying other meds. It is the only one that helped, although high doses caused shortness of breath, low-back pain, nightmares, stress, and anxiety. The key has been finding the correct dose. An important discovery was that chocolate produces a synergistic effect. Taking it in the evening right after a large serving of dark chocolate and 10 ounces of milk allows me to keep the dose and prescription costs low. It is not nearly as effective without chocolate during the day. But a problem is that it is addictive. Increasing the dose made me more depressed but going down improved my mood, so finding the optimal one has been difficult. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willis | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/3/2017
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Desipramine for years, on and off, for Trigeminal Neuralgia. It works very well for my pain but causes me to be severely depressed, the more I increase the dose. I was originally prescribed this as a sub for nortrityline b/c it has less side effects. However, I had no energy at all, increased appetite (namely made me crave sweets), makes me cry a lot, & and causes weight gain. Eventually led to irritability, too. It's negatively effecting those around me as much as it is me. I have to find another med that helps my nerve pain as well as this does b/c the depression is just unbearable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/27/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smashley2006 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2015
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after starting a new bc I had the worst migraine of my life. I was blind and couldn't speak for over 8 hours, along with other miserable side effects. It caused a seemingly permanent change in blood pressure, vision, and gave me chronic headaches (all day every day for 5 months now). I've been on this med for two months for the headaches. started with 10mg, now I am at 50mg. I've lost 6 pounds in a couple weeks since last upping the dose. I get 1-3.5 hours of sleep a night. Out of the 10 meds I've tried this is the only one that has helped my headaches. I can now stay out of bed for the most part. It took my headaches to a constant dull level, I still have severe moments of pain, they don't seem to last as long. while this med helps some, my headaches effect me enough still that I have trouble keeping up in school, I have to take 15 hours next semester to graduate with my class for my bachelors degree. I don't think it's possible with the way I feel and how tired I get. :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
temporal lobe adhd | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All the other ADHD meds haven't worked and neither does this one. The Integrated Visual Auditory continuous performance test rated my ADHD so severe that I tested several decimal places below the 1 percentile. And I've tried all the on and off label drugs. Amphetamine Salts works the best and that is still not worth the dry mouth unless I'm behind on sleep. I've been on Desipramine for 5 weeks now starting at 75 and now up to 225. It gives me in order of severity: severe dry mouth (like all the others), somnolence(strong desire for sleep), sinus congestion, lowers my energy and motivation, and gave me a near death experience when I took desipramine 150, amphetamine salts IR 30 and propranolol IR 80 all at the same time without much breakfast or drink. Instead of helping get things done, it's making it even harder to get things done. All 3 use the same 2D6 enzyme and amphetamine and desipramine enhance each other which gave me several of desipramine's side effects. Caffeine works better than amphetamine for not interacting with desipramine, but still increases the dry mouth terribly. Looks like a cholinergic deficit but Galantamine didn't do anything. Pilocarpine relieves my dry mouth but doesn't solve the core attention problem.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jbree89 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2014
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First night on 50mg, Rx for pain, and woke up in severe joint pain, especially in hips. Anyone else had this issue? Otherwise, it made me feel happier, but definitely not enjoying the lack of pain relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

less depression but have some memory loss or confusion. Sleepy and not much energy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beth | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/8/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying almost every SSRI and 2 SNRIs this is the most effective and least side effects for me contrary to common reports. My only complaint is if I forget to take it I get super high energy (manic?) the next morning and vomit shortly after lunch. But as long as I take it regularly every night it helps me a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitty | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/6/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was given to me by my physician, Dr. Richard Ackerman to relieve some symptoms of depression and it has returned me to 'the joy of living'.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobby64 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist gave this to me for my depression. I still felt lethargic and unmotivated while taking it. Although it made me feel “non-depressed,” I didn’t feel happy, either. I still had trouble enjoying many of my usual activities, save for in a few short bursts. Going on too high of a dose made me feel drugged, anxious, grouchy, and... well, depressed. Although I played around with the time of day I took the lower dose, I still felt more like a tired zombie than a happy person, even if I didn’t have any emotional breakdowns. Also, my weight went up sixteen pounds in the three months I took it. Plus, it seemed to mess with my ability to form new memories. Although it helped a little, it certainly wasn’t the medicine that would save me. Keep in mind, though, that fifteen antidepressants have failed me, so I have a very stubborn case of it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dj | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/6/2013
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had painful symptoms of Fibromyalgia after a bad car accident. Disabling fatigue and aching. This drug made a world of difference in treating the pain of Fibromyalgia. Reduced pain levels by 80%. Taking 150mg daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BostonSensitive | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2013
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed an off-label use for migraines. I started on 25 mg and couldn't tolerate the side effects for 3 days. I had heart flutters (not the usual palpitations), headache, and my cognitive abilities were slowed. I felt drugged. Now, almost 60 hours later, I still feel weak and anxious. I took Desipramine many years ago for a couple of years. I take Sumatriptan for my migraines. I am hypothyroid. Other than that, I'm perfectly healthy and in good physical shape. I work and I am active in my community. I am shocked that I am so sensitive to such a small dose of Desipramine, but perhaps there's more to this than I know. This drug has not helped me at all and I cannot wait for it to leave my system completely.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/23/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flower918 | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this medication over 20 years ago for chronic fatigue syndrome. I couldn't wake up completely, felt like my brain was still sleeping when I did, and I could fall asleep at the drop of a hat. Barely functioning. This med. saved my life and allowed me to function again. Started with 10 mg and now take 50 mg. My biggest problem is I feel like I can't live without it and because it is so old, manufactures have stopped making it so the price continues to go up and I have no insurance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/25/2012
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was unable to walk due to pain in my feet (neuropathy). (PS I dont have diabetes)I tried over a dozen drugs and all caused horrible side effects. My doctor and I were about to give up when I tried desipermine. I SAVED MY LIFE and I was able to fuction in life again as long as I have rubber bottom shoes on at all times. I used this drug for over 20 years and then I started developing sharp pains in my head is I even missed one dose so we swicked to Cymbalta and that is doing better for me now. I would go back on this again if I ever need to though. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More