Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

99 People found this comment helpful

I am writing this letter to express my sincere gratitude for this medication - it has changed my life. I recently began lamictal in treatment of bipolar disorder. I had been on SSRI antidepressants since around the age of 20. I thought they were working, but yet, I was still extremely depressed, anxious, and unpredictable in my behaviors. I cried all the time, became angry frequently, and felt...

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

After reading over 200 reviews I have decided not to take this medication. This cite has been so helpful and I just wanted to thank everyone for their input and reviews.

Shared reviews and ratings

Twinkieheart | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This changed my friggin life! I have borderline personality disorder (a couple Drs have said rapid cycling bipolar, i say b.s.) there is technically no medication for BPD (that's abbreviation for borderline not bipolar.) I had sooooo much rage like confrontational and argumentative, telling people off and getting pissed off and irritated all day long. This changed that. I still get upset, this isn't magic mushroom land lol but it's nowhere near what it was! I haven't gained weight and have had no side effects. Very very little depression. Better than any antidepressant I've taken. It has helped increase my sex drive after 15 yrs of Prozac and other stuff destroyed it. It helps me feel "normal" like how i think other people feel. I'm able to play nicely with others without always boring their heads off. This isn't some cure all, I swear people take medicine and expect it to cure their bad habits and bad choices. You have to be grown up about your life and how you live. If you stay up till 4am and sleep all day your gonna feel like shit and it's gonna affect your mood. If you don't drink water and move around your gonna feel like crap and it's going to affect you, medication isn't going to all of a sudden give you tins of energy to lose weight or cure you in any way. Get CBT or DBT, therapy will help. Do your part. This medication for me has helped me handle my mood swings so i can be a better mom, friend etc just a better version of myself that was hidden under bpd. Give the medicine time too. Don't take it for a month and be like welp didn't work, give your body and chemicals time. If you take it in conjunction with other meds there's a chance the other meds might interact with this and cause issues, that's not necessarily this meds fault lol you gotta trial and error till you find your fit. Don't do drugs and drink alcohol and be like ugh I'm depressed this drug isn't working lol alcohol is a CNS depressant and will make your body feel like crap. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gladice | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for Anxiety/PTSD Just started taking it tonight, my insomnia & I are waiting for the drowsiness. Starting on 25 mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous29 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was apprehensive about taking this medication as I was never interested in dealing with my hypomania. I was also terrified of gaining more weight as I suffered from binge eating issues. Postpartum my symptoms became worse than ever. I also have PCOS and due to that, I am insulin resistant. After a horrible couple of months, I finally sought an appointment with my psychiatrist. After a couple of weeks, my binge eating had improved, noticeably. This happened because I was able to better manage my emotions and emotional eating. How exciting to have that as a side effect. I did make sure to communicate to my doctor that if I gained weight, my anxiety would worsen and I'd stop taking the medication. He prescribed Lamotrigine/Lamictal. I started with .25mg 2x a day for the first seven days. Then .50mg 2x a day. Aside from my binge eating improving, my explosive rageful outbursts have become less frequent. I can think a bit clearer and be my best self. Sleep has improved as well. When my anxiety is really bad, I take Gabapentin as needed. I take that up to 3x a day. 300mg per pill. I hope this helps others as much as it has helped me. I'm very optimistic and excited about the future for once! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/19/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using Lamictal for the past 7 years for Bipolar. It has worked amazing!!! Just put me in the right place. Only thing is I get a little speeded up, like coffee. So I try to limit my coffee intake or Im through the roof.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/30/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seriously increased my depression and my suicidal ideation skyrocketed. Especially with increased dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with major depression for years, went through all manner of treatments and medications and nothing helped. Made me worse, actually. Finally had a doctor that listened to me and diagnosed me with bipolar 2, and set me on this med. Changed my life. Went from a barely functioning person who was depressed or manic every three days to someone with average moods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnonE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am less depressed, anxious, and irritable on 50 mg of this med. My psychiatrist put me on it before trying a stimulant for adult ADHD because of a history of reacting to SSRIs. I wasn't expecting anything other than some protection from mania so the positive effects were a pleasant surprise. I had some itching when I first bumped up from 25 mg to 50 mg but It's not clear that the med was the cause because I was traveling and using a different soap. It subsided without any major rash and I'm not noticing any other side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacqui Upham | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this for almost 20 years and it’s iffy. At first I had fair control of my seizures but as I got older they got worse and I started taking Deprakote causing me to gain about 60 lbs, stop sweating, lose hair and plenty more. Along with my seizures getting worse and worse. When I was 21 I got a surgery done and haven’t had one since. I was taken off Deprakote and lost 62 pounds, stopped losing as much hair and can sweat a really small amount. Lamictal was doubled to 600 mg. I got all my weight back over the next few months, losing my hair again but more, got insomnia when I started taking it and now don’t fall asleep until 1- 4:30 am and have to get up at 5 for work, my face breaks out as if I’m not putting face medicine on every morning and night and even worse wearing a mask at work all day, start losing weight and then by day 3 it’s back, the powder makes it hard to swallow sometimes to. So people that it works with, lucky you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wwwww | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Simple Partial Seizures
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I take anticonvulsants for nocturnal seizures (I had 1-2/yr before meds, nothing too severe fortunately). When I began taking Lamictal, I immediately erupted in a burning facial rash so we scaled the dose back (and not stop it altogether for some reason). Progressively, my days began with vertigo/severe fatigue, my vision became blurry (optometrist saw no literal vision changes during testing), I had tremors periodically, my short term memory was practically non-existent, difficulty concentrating, dry mouth, my limbs felt weak/tingly, I had to stop working out because I'd tremble so badly from physical exertion (weights and cardio were both bad), I lost a massive amount of my already fine hair, I had deep, wailing crying spells out of nowhere, and I had an INCREASE in seizures! My doctors feared MS or something because of how bad the symptoms were becoming. I had a million tests done and wasn't diagnosed with a new health problem. The only health problem I've ever had are these occasional nocturnal seizures, ALL of these other things appeared once I began Lamictal. I was on this medication for 10 months, and the severity of the side effects began peaking around the 5 month mark. I'd never been so scared in my life. Why can't these pharmaceutical companies with their billions of dollars make medications that don't put a patient in an impossible position where they have to severely compromise their quality of life, mentally and physically. This just isn't worth it. Seizures are terrifying enough as it is. When I began randomly having seizures when I was 23, my worst fear was having to depend on prescriptions and what they would do to me. This medication confirmed those fears like no others have. We need more compassion in the pharmaceutical industry - big time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anxious | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for anxiety as I had already tried Zoloft and Pristiq with horrible results. This one made me feel great for 10 days. Then anxiety followed by extreme mood swings of anger and crying.. And finally the rash appeared. This medication is definitely not the drug for me. Too bad as the first 9 days I felt great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication for my depression after a suicide attempt as I had tried ssri's and had bad reactions. I have not been diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and have never had a manic or hypomanic episode. Honestly, I am confused about why they put me on a medication that can cause suicidal ideation after I had attempted suicide. I triaged up to 200mg as there were no positive symptoms on a lower dose. After 100mg I began having really bad panic attacks and which triggered my asthma. Since moving up to 200 mg I have had terrible symptoms which have prevented me from doing any work. I have had multiple asthma attacks when I typically only have one a year. In addition to this I have the following symptoms: dizziness, tremors, headaches, blurred vision, lack of coordination, abdominal pain, sleepiness, back pain, nausea, diarrhea, insomnia, dry mouth, sore throat, swelling of my tongue, fatigue, trouble walking, chest pain, sensitivity to light, chills, drowsiness, stiff neck, muscle pain, joint pain, trouble swallowing to the point of choking, little to no balance, upset stomach, and shakiness. Overall, I have had horrible symptoms at a higher dosage and still have seen no positive side effects (at a lower dose or the higher dose). I know my reaction has been extreme, but this medicine can have a positive reaction for someone else as each individual has their own body chemistry. I would just be cognizant that they don't discuss many of the negative symptoms. Additionally, I would warn people with breathing problems that they can get worse. Even though this drug says nothing about a negative reaction to asthma I am sure the symptoms affecting breath are what's causing the increased attacks. I would also be cognizant of the fact that prescriptions and the psychiatric world have a monetary value and that "Lamictal (name brand for lamotrigine) is one of GSK’s top-selling drugs."Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awful awful awful… 6 weeks of Lamictal/Latuda and I don’t sleep, agitated as hell, cry constantly, nausea, sensitivity to light, can’t drive and anger like I’ve never had. I’m Bipolar 2 and have been struggling in a sea of pharma toxicity. You’d think in 2022 there would be more options for treating Bipolar effectively. Not so much. This crap is poison. Steer clear…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have major depression disorder and I tried Lamictal for the first time a couple of months ago. Initially, I felt better the first day! I thought it was a lifesaver and thought I could not even get depressed if I tried. But after almost 3 months on the medication, I am again severely depressed and its not working anymore. I am unable to lose weight, in fact I did gain some weight, while dieting and walking 1.5 miles daily. I know my metabolism and this is not normal for me. The other side effects I experienced were double vision, terrible balance, zero short term memory, which is embarrassing while having conversations. I need to get off of this ASAP. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie126 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been treated for regular depression for years with little to no relief while on regular antidepressants but then I had a severe manic episode which then led to horrendous depression which was later diagnosed as bipolar depression. I’ve been on Lamictal for about 10 years now and it has helped my bipolar depression greatly along with a antidepressant. My doctor started me on a low dose and worked up and up and I had been on 300 mg for maybe 8 years but I had a nasty episode of mania followed by depression so I was bumped up to 400mg. At this point it’s working ok but I want to lower my dose because it’s a large dose. I also take Prozac and they work well with each other. My word of caution is that I experienced the absolute worst headaches all day every day for at least a week but as nothing worked for me in the past I waited to wait and see and they did go away in less than 2 weeks. I do also get some of the weird side effects like lots of canker sores. I never got the rash thank goodness Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrJay | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 200mg for just short of 2 years. Before starting on it, I was very willing to take anything to stop the rapid cycling regardless of side effects or personality changes it may cause. It did stop the rapid cycling and the side effects were tolerable for a long time- brain fog, vision blur/loss of depth perception/difficulty seeing in anything but well lit areas, muscle weakness, loss of balance, weight gain, and difficulty speaking. But it was after these two years that I realized it had also paused my life. I became too accepting of the limitations the side effects had put on my life and lost any sense of drive and I didn't feel one way or another about it. I really was a robot who just worked and slept for two years. Lamictal gave me 2 years to breathe and I'm thankful for that. But eventually I had to start trying other medications after admitting that the juice wasn't worth the squeeze anymore. I'd like to add that having reviews for medications is a strange concept to me. To see people reviewing them with comments like "STAY AWAY!" seems absurd and selfish- this isn't Amazon. Reactions to medications are very individual and what is terrible for one person can save another. Lamictal is one of the safer options for bipolar medications and is generally well tolerated by most. The rash is rare and is made rarer by starting at a low dose. Side effects tend to be very mild for most and go away after a bit (nearly all meds claim this, but it does seem accurate for the majority with Lamictal). So don't let the negative reviews deter you from one of the better options available. Maybe it's not the one for you but it's a good starting point. Good luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claire | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/10/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm currently on 150mg and I don't actually have any side effects, but it also does absolutely nothing. I haven't noticed any diference since I started using this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jobella | 55-64 | Female | Patient
12/26/2021
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a Registered Nurse for 25 years and I struggle with severe Rapid Cycling Bipolar disorder with mostly full blown manic symptoms and very little depression. I have been on Lithium Carbonate since 1993, and it used to work great but not anymore. It has caused me Chronic Kidney Disease Stage III, Hypothyroidism, and damaged retinas with associated night blindness. My provider started me on Lamictal prior to bedtime. I thought that I had no adverse effects from it; however, I became severely depressed with increasing suicidal ideation with plan and intent. I AM NEVER THAT WAY!!!! When I told my doctor, she advised me to discontinue the Lamictal. I then google searched the side effects, and it said you could become severely depressed and suicidal!!!!!!!!! I am lucky I am still alive!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on day three of 25mg Lamictal. It’s been life changing so far. I have Bipolar II and OCD and have never been on medication. I finally feel normal, I have energy, I’m showering everyday and have been looking forward to daily life. I have been less irritable, I haven’t had binge eating episodes, and I haven’t felt my mania at its height. My psychiatrist said it takes a couple weeks to feel, but I feel intensely better already. There are wide effects, so we are titrating my dosage. So far, I haven’t felt anything out of the ordinary except im not sleeping as much. I used to sleep a minimum of 9 hours a night and would feel lethargic (hello depression) every. Single. Day. The last two nights, I’ve gotten about 7 hours of sleep, awoken naturally, and felt GREAT in the morning. I take my dose everyday at 2:30 in the afternoon. It’s been wonderful. This could save your life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BadMedicine2020 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has too many dangerous side effects. I am 40 years old and got pregnant while on birth control and found out that Lamictal decreases the effectiveness of birth control among other things. I’ve also had persistent skin rashes, blurred vision, headaches, severe dry mouth, kidney pain, brain fog and still had horrible depression. The only side effect I was warned about was the allergic reaction when starting the medication. I’ve been on so many medications over the years that I didn’t read the entire novel of serious side effects that this drug causes. When I got pregnant I did some research and was shocked that this medication could be approved by the FDA. I now started micro dosing with psilocybin and it has helped more than the 10+ meds Ive tried (not while pregnant). Yet pharma and the medical industry try to discredit something that works and causes no long term side effects. I’d rather take something that doesn’t cause multiple organ failure and makes me bald. Beware of taking Lamictal and make sure you read about all of the side effects so you aren’t surprised. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LH | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2021
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug needs to be introduced very slowly or life threatening conditions can occur. I followed this protocol perfectly. I am already on 100 mgs Topomax and 100 mg Seroquel. I've had bulimia and struggled with addiction but since ceasing these behaviors my anxiety has worsened along with PTSD symptoms. Thus Lamictal. I tried 100 and had serious onset on flu like symptoms that resulted in me rushing to get Covid tested which was negative. I felt like death. All week I thought I was just sick with stiff neck, shoulders, high anxiety and no way could I drink caffeine. Finally I bumped to 200 and forget it my hand turned into a claw I felt horrible and I'm so dissapointed. While I feel like this is hitting correct receptors I just can't take this drug. Very scary. I hope these symptoms fade. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More