Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I WAS USING THIS SLEEP MED IN THE LATE 1960s AFTER BEING SEVERELY BURNT (2nd AND 3rd DEGREE). IT WAS THE ONLY TO HELP ME SLEEP THEN AND I HAVE BEEN ON IT FOR 9 YEARS SINCE HEART SURGERY IN THE YEAR 2000. IT STILL WORKS GREAT AND NO FEELING TO TAKE MORE THAN I STARTED WITH.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

i live in northern california and cannot find a doctor to help me with my 20+ years of insomnia.i take 60mgs of restoril a night even tho the highest dose is supposed to be 30mg , but even the 60 doesn't work anymore.i have tried ambien and it is the worst sleep aid ever , more like a bad trip than a good night's sleep . i sleep maybe 3 hours a night and am desperate to find a doctor willing to at...

Shared reviews and ratings

Harold | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/14/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have treatment resistant insomnia and have attended many sleep clinics and studies that provided all the benefits of a firm punch to the face. My new physician recommended Seconal to me as he said it has provided great results with his treatment resistant patients. Boy was he right, never had heard of Seconal before, but I now have gotten 8 hours of consistent sleep for the last 5 years. I take 200mg and have never felt the need to increase dosage as it has remained effective at this dosage. You do need at least a 2 hour empty stomach for full hypnotic effects though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dementia, wait what was i doing? | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't use the drug just looked it up to see what it was about. Im very satisfied with my results. Quite the fasinating drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Seconal for a couple of nights when I was pregnant with my daughter. I went into premature labor due to severe stress, and my OB gave it to me to calm me down (and knock me out). I slept so soundly those 2 nights, and calming my nerves helped stop my contractions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eats hit | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/28/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heavy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pepin | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/18/2012
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My patient sometimes feels very drowzy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wilhelmina Swift | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/18/2012
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used it about 20 yers ago, so there for it is hard for me to remeber,but it it seemed as it help me w/ my sleeping problem.2-12 Thank you. Wilhemina Swift

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
squiggles | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/14/2011
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i live in northern california and cannot find a doctor to help me with my 20+ years of insomnia.i take 60mgs of restoril a night even tho the highest dose is supposed to be 30mg , but even the 60 doesn't work anymore.i have tried ambien and it is the worst sleep aid ever , more like a bad trip than a good night's sleep . i sleep maybe 3 hours a night and am desperate to find a doctor willing to at least try me on secobarbital.all the reviews on this site have been favourable and i believe it would help me .any suggestions or doctors listening out there?and i am not soliciting , i am merely begging for help or advice . i need sleep . thanx .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2011
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine used right helps anxiety greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seconal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/5/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrific

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/15/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked the best for me. Sleep & anxiety, panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BUZMAN812 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/2/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I WAS USING THIS SLEEP MED IN THE LATE 1960s AFTER BEING SEVERELY BURNT (2nd AND 3rd DEGREE). IT WAS THE ONLY TO HELP ME SLEEP THEN AND I HAVE BEEN ON IT FOR 9 YEARS SINCE HEART SURGERY IN THE YEAR 2000. IT STILL WORKS GREAT AND NO FEELING TO TAKE MORE THAN I STARTED WITH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seconal X | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the best sleep aid of all time! Secobarbital is a "retro" drug that's been around since the 1940's. It's rarly scripted these days because it has a long history of addiction and overdose, but if used correctly Seconal is safe. I'm really lucky to get this med and it works wonders at putting me asleep. I take it at least 5 hours after eating so it will work better and faster. The only downside is that it can make you sleepy during the day and sometimes made my speach slurry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/4/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is only made by one manufatuer and has been off the market for six months. marathon pharma owns the rights now, and keep pusshing back the release date.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best sleep aid ever . . . forget Ambien.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nacevre | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2008
Condition: Severe Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

relax , accurate aand no side effect

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only drug I have found that works. J H

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More