Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

I was originally put on this for severe insomnia related to anxiety/depression due to a health issue I was dealing well with. I was put up to 150 mgs and stayed on it for a couple years. Yes, you are really tired at first but after a week or so and with a little caffiene you don't notice it anymore. It saved my life. I was hospitalized and the first night I took it I slept like a baby after 6 ...

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me 10 mg of this drug for sleep. Does it cause weight gain at this low dose?

Shared reviews and ratings

Amanda | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Make sure you have the next day to sleep if your side effects are like mine. I took it and about 30 minutes later I was out like a light. I woke up at 2 am trying to catch my breath like I had quit breathing. Went back to sleep and woke up for work at 3am. It was hard getting moving but once I got to work I was fine. After 3 hours at work I came home literally fell on my bed and passed out for 6 hours. Didn't hear the phone..nothing. Got up for about an hour and went back to bed for the night. Never again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skywlf | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an old med but it helps me for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prissy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/10/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 10mg.at bedtime and it has helped me stay asleep but takes about 2 hours to feel the effects. I always take it two hours before I plan on going to bed.Helps a little with anxiety but not much, more for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tinkerbell | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have major depression with anxiety and fibromyalgia. I'm using it for help sleeping. It works great most nights but sometimes I wake up off and on. I definitely sleep more with using it so any help is better than mine at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mojave | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Perhaps the 25mg is ineffective for a very large man. Perhaps 'tis ineffective as I have a natural resistance to anesthesia that may be reflected by this drug. I continue to be sleep deprived.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used to reduce anxiousness and to induce sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dardejak g mail.com | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this drug about 3 or 4 years ago, I have gained 35-40 pounds. I am taking 25mg. And I am stopping it as of yesterday. I hope I will lose this weight. I started taking it because my son passed away and I had a lot of anxiety. But I am stopping, I hope I am ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lalaa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I take this for pain because my pain is so bad from fibro, lupus and arthritis, I can't fall asleep or stay asleep and since starting it a week ago, I have been able to fall asleep without tossing and turning into, but I have had nausea, headaches, random dizzy spells and a strange rush feeling that makes my head feels cold and hot, detached and like I'm going to throw up. I have been on this for a week and a half at 10mg. While I like the sleep... I'm not certain I am going to continue this treatment. My heart does not feel right, it feels fluttery and I feel woozy. I'm also getting a very stiff neck and not sure if this is a symptom or not.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donttakethis | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for trouble sleeping and depression to try to replace Klonipin in the long run. READ WARNINGS & DO NOT TAKE! Got severe abnormal heartbeats, had to go to the hospital and monitor overnight to make sure no damage was done. And that was on the very lowest dose! Very scary experience, do not recommend. I feel much better now that I'm off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sadie09 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/10/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Doxepin for over a year now to help with sleep. I get migraines and lack of sleep was a trigger. It has done wonders as far as that is concerned! Whenever I wake up in the middle of the night now, I'm able to just roll over and fall right back to sleep. BUT, unfortunately, I believe it's also contributed to hair loss... as in chunks of hair coming out! Now I take another medicine, too, and if Doxepin is the sole reason, or if it's the combination of the two medicines, I don't know, but I DO believe it is a contributing factor. I'm afraid I'm going to have to retire this one and seek another sleep aid for awhile. It was nice while it lasted! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/6/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this medication for over 20 years for sleep problems associated with fibromyalgia. It works beautifully - I sleep all night with no day time drowsiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | Patient
4/6/2017
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleep 18 hr a day or more. Pain mostly removed except when horizontal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Doxepin for insomnia. I've been taking it for almost 3 months. I agree with other reviews about being very groggy. I also, have developed eye pain and severe neck pain. I don't take any other meds, so it must be from the Doxepin. I'm gonna stop taking it and go back to my doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/25/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

for this to be given at a 10mg dose and not to make me feel the least bit at ease, or sleepy was a little upsetting, especially when I need the relief that I was seeking at time of md visit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucky7 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/29/2016
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had traumatic brain injury on 12 12 2014, just from falling down basement carpeted stairs. My brain had midline shift, pieces of skull went into brain. My fantastic neurosurgeon gave me 2 hrs to live after removing skull to relieve pressure off brain. I was in coma, family was told if I did survive I would have to learn to walk and talk again. I am a miracle. This med and all the others that I am lucky enough to be on is the best, just as all my neurosurgeons. It has been a long road. On valentine's day I got appendicites, 3 days before my skull was replaced along with 5 pieces of titanium. I hade terrible reaction to the anesthesia. I was throwing up for 3 days, along with the day of skull replaced. Lucky neurosurgeons were able to do their fantastic job. The 2nd stitch that they removed, my head started bleeding. No big deal. If you see me now, you would never know what I have been through. I take 10 pills a day, but I thank God every single morning, before I get out of bed. I take 2 in morning and 3 before bed. Yhis is the 3th perscription I have tried. 3rd time really is a charm. I had no side effects. Michele, from pa, I love geisinger hospital, all employees, even the valet staff. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/17/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked wonders for me. I sleep through the night with no problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grandmakris | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had trouble falling asleep for years. Tired of taking addictive meds. 6 mg of this med and I was asleep in an hour and woke up feeling refreshed after 8 hours of sleep. Finally, something safe that works for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wifey4 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/16/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was given this drug due to not sleeping bc of restless legs... He has currently been on it about 1 week... Last night the effects started to show..I guess he might fall under the "rare" side effects but in the middle of the night... he ate a avocado peel and all, made kool aid spilling it everywhere covering the counter in it and splashing it onto the wall as well, took lids off of containers and then placed the lids in the fridge, opened a bottle of bloody Mary mix and drank it, took his little cigars and a lighter then placed them in a tall glass, took mouthwash and different hair products and placed them beside the toilet, etc etc etc.... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
William | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

New to Doxepin but have found it totally ineffective. I don't sleep and other popular sleeping pills have stopped working for me. Also, I have started to have hallucinations when I do fall asleep. Not sure if there's a connection but never had that problem before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom in Chicago | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't even last six months on Doxepin. I took it to help me with sleep. I'm bipolar, usually manic, and need an aid for sleep. Prior to being on Doxepin I was taking Thorazine. I later found out that being on too many antipsychotics was bad. I asked my doctor if there was anything we could do and he suggested trying Doxepin. He also said that it is an antidepressant and I was happy with that because I can use all the help I can get. I took Doxepin and was able to sleep fine. It was recommended for me to take one or two 50mg pills. I found that I needed two. a little more time passed. I was happily getting sound sleep and had no side effects from it. A little while later I had a problem! I had gained some weight. I kept taking it, hoping I would level off somewhere. After almost two months I decided to call it quits. I had gained 10 pounds. I didn't want to risk any more weight gain, which was a shame because the sleep was sound. Now I'm on Trazadone and I am a little apprehensive about it. It helps with sleep but I suspect it's making me nauseous or something. See, I'm on a lot of meds so it's hard to keep track. But I'm suspicious. As for the Doxepin, I'd say great sleep, but watch out for the weight gain. I hope it works for you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More