Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

i found that if i take it about 30-45 minutes after eatting with the 8 oz. of cold water, that i'm relatively fine, however, taking it on an empty stomach in the morning made me terribly nauseated and nothing helped stop it for about an hour or two. it's really helping clear up my skin when tons of otc stuff didn't.

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

Severe pain in stomach. Tightness in chest. Tingling in hands and face. I'm 17 years old and thought I was going to die in my bed. Went to emergency and was told to immediately discontinue. These symptoms lasted for another three weeks. I was terrified it would never end. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT

Shared reviews and ratings

LivingLifeWell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a persistent eye issue, the oil glands got clogged, and I experienced inflammation in my left upper and lower my eyelid. The drug helped. I experienced some stomach cramping and nausea on the first capsule. This subsided. I did not have any problems in week 1 and 2 and I thought I was fine being out in the sun. Week 3 arrived and brought a rash on my arms. Then it spread to both legs and my toes became swollen. I was very dizzy for a couple of days too. I got sores on my tongue and my lips blew up. I called my physician and confirmed I should stop taking the doxcycline and take Benedryl to combat the rash. I started taking Benedryl and hope to see improvement once the Doxycline is out of my body. I will put this drug on my sensitive list. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 100mg twice daily. I get pins and needle feelings in my fingers from this and the sun hurts badly especially on the extremities (toes, fingers, nose) not sure the side effects are worth taking it. I always feel hot to the touch, feverish even.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2021
Condition: Sexual Transmitted Disease Exposure from Sexual Assault
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE ON AN EMPTY STOMACH. Will clear all your problems up! Excellent drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
it works | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So like everyone else here, I felt so sick from this antibiotic that it was really hard to finish the week on it. BUT after suffering for 2 years from mild UTI symptoms (bloating, feeling the need to pee), this medication was the ONLY antibiotic to get rid of my awful uncomfortable symptoms. Even thought the medication made me sick (stomach ache, feeling like throwing up, dizzy, naseous), I would request to take this antibiotic next time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mg5003. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2021
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medicine twice in the last month. The first round did not work. The second round I am on a high dosage, once a day. The first couple weeks my skin looked and felt 80% better. I was so excited and relieved. I woke up last week and I was breaking out all over again. Red irritated bumps all over my face that burn and hurt. Getting worse and worse every day. I go back to my Derm next month. I dont have any side affects though. But I do also have to take after I eat because it is very upsetting to my stomachRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LSantomassino | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2020
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took two pills and haven't felt this good in a long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started tis for sinus infection. Has anyone else taken it for that. Just 1 dose & I am so nauseas & have a headache. So tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KarWar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection due to Deer Fly, Flea & Tick Bites
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to stop taking it after the 2nd pill. Made me extremely dizzy, nausea and bloating. Also experienced shakiness and just felt weak and sick. Couldn't handle the side effects so I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bdy77 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2020
Condition: Bacterial Skin Infection - Yaws
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this after I had a severe reaction to two wasp stings on my leg because the area felt warm so she suspected infection. I'm halfway through the ten day course and my leg is healed but my stomach has felt like it's full of lava and battery acid since the first dose. This med is brutal on stomachs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cw | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried every treatment possible for my acne and i have had it for over 6 years, GPs never want to refer me so i've been stuck on just creams and antibiotics, finally went back to my GP and he put me on doxy for 3 months at one a day and i'm a week out from finishing my second month. First 2 weeks > skin stayed the same Remaining 2 weeks of the month > skin broke out bad After 3 weeks on my second month, my acne is pretty much stable but still the same..maybe a little less acne on my face but that's about it. So far i haven't seen a massive difference to even recommend this drug, for the side effects i got was it worth it? no...being sick / feeling ill for a few hours after taking it even with food / eyes so sensitive i can't even drive at night. Still got a week and a month to go until i finish so we'll see but after almost 2 months on it i dont see any difference...and these people who keep saying "yay it works" are saying it because they've probably been on ZERO antibiotics before or any strong acne treatments so of course it works..until it comes back 3 months later..i'm going on Accutane if doxy doesn't work after 3 months. I have been on Lymecycline two times before going on doxy...so maybe that's why doxy doesn't work for me? so annoying how GPs just throw you on the same thing over and over or just don't refer you and keep you on antibiotics to the point of resistance..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2019
Condition: Upper Respiratory Infection caused by Pneumococcus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medicine has definitely cleared up my phlegm from being a color that wasn't desired. But I will say as much as the instructions online say take on an empty stomach, my bottle said take with food/snack. One morning I took the medicine without eating and I had to turn around from trying to go to work because my stomach was so upset. Definitely threw up every ounce of water I had that morning. So be careful. It may say no food online, but if your bottle says snack/food, just do it. AND...the caveat about the no calcium is definitely a nuisance. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lyme79 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2019
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am five days shy of taking this medicine for a month. My Dr. has prescribed taking 100mg, twice a day, for six weeks. I take the meds on a full stomach (and added in a high level , refrigerated probiotic to keep my flora and gut in check, as meds like Doxy tend to kill good bacteria along with the bad). I have had no nausea issues (b/c I take with food always) but my tummy has been a little "non predictable". Also, I got my period as usual but it was basically a NON event (more like a dream...little to no bleeding or cramping). Then, less than three weeks later, I got my period again, this time, VERY severe. I read that, for some women, they lose their periods altogether on this medicine. Has anyone else had the opposite occur? I am hoping this will be my last "cycle" on the meds. Lastly, about 3 weeks into taking Doxy, I had about 4 days of flu-like symptoms: low grade fever, aches, zero energy. Luckily, I think that has passed and will no longer be an issue (fingers crossed). I am optimistic that I will only need one round of Doxy and that the Lyme will be taken care of but recognize the complexities of this disease.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stacyrosesdad | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2019
Condition: Bacterial Skin Infection - Yaws
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While the boil that this medicine was prescribed has abated in the last 7 days I've been on Doxycycline Hyclate, the side effects are terrible. Nausea and abdominal pain/cramps are the primary complaints. Had I been informed about these side effects, I would have asked for a different antibiotic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wrgori | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums and Mouth
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started taking this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoanneS0 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a 2 week course of this for an infected boil I had to have lanced and drained. I'm on day 2, second dose, and I'm absolutely miserable. It's clearing the infection. I can already see improvement. But the side effects are killing me. Severe bloating, belching, nausea, dizziness. I was okay until the 2nd dose tonight. Then had to take an anti-nausea pill they gave me along with it, because I felt like I was going to throw up. And I got cold. Like ice water running along the surface of my skin. Only now, 2 hours after taking the anti-nausea pill, am i starting to feel better. Took it with a full glass of water, ate with it, too, because it made me feel better yesterday. Tonight it just walloped me. Calling the doc tomorrow for another med, because I don't think I tolerate another week and a half of this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took it for 3 days. But in this 3 days I was so sick. I vomited and was nauseous the entire time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TickHater#1988 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2018
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far have been on 100mg 2x day and it was ok up until a few days ago I started getting nauseous and loss of appetite. Im on day 14. No stomach pain or diarrhea or rash. Only nausea. Its way better than how the Lyme disease made me feel though. Hoping it clears up the Lyme, second time taking this drug. Second time having Lyme.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/21/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this medicine for long time now 20 MG twice a Day. everytime i stop this medicine acne comes back. As of now no side effects. I asked many Dr they said you can continue taking for long, no issues but i am not sure if i will have any issues in longer run. Can anyone recommend how to get rid of this tablet and still have clear skin?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2018
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given Doxy fot Lyme disease which was determined by symptoms because blood test was negative. I was able to tolerate it for the first two weeks but then blood in spool and very bad reaction to sunlight. I got blistered skin and rash on my arms , face and ears. Had to stop taking it I couldnâ??t leave the house.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pete9313 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2018
Condition: Acne Rosacea
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

things were great ! My ;acne; cleared up in 2 weeks, and stayed clear for almost 3 months. But then i had a totally different medical episode, and this new episode resulted in my stopping the usage of a steroid i had been previously taking. Within a week of stopping the steroid, i awoke one morning with a full body rash; a non itch rash from armpits to groin; a 'rash on trunk of body', which is noted as a possible side effect by doxycycline manufacturer. I have since needed to stop the use of the doxy; and 10 days later, my acne rash has returned...the drug worked well; but i obviously was able to postpone side effects until i just coudn't.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More