Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Eyes looked way better after one day of using this. Pink eye cleared up after a couple days. Its annoying to drop gel into the eyelid, but whatever, it worked!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Was prescribed erythromycin ointment for pink eye, after 10 days little improvement and it spread to the other eye.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Cornea of the Eye due to Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this ointment, to use in my eye for a week, after a work related mishap with a chemical cleaner. They had to flush my eye out with a saline solution via an I.V drip as there was no available eye wash stations for me to use. After reading the reasoning for being prescribed this medication, for treatment due to bacteria, it made me wonder why I was put on it in the first place.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
funraker | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2020
Condition: Inflammation of Eyelid Edges and the Lining of the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wear glasses and have to take them off to apply this ointment. Now the tip of tube is a blur, nor can I can tell how far the tip is to my eye. I guess. I can't even tell if there's ointment coming out, much less how much or where it's going! To me, this is absolutely an absurd application; utterly useless and a waste of money! Shame on them marketing such a product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: Inflammation of One of the Glands of the Eyelids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's been one day - 2 doses - and my eye is burning like crazy. I'm calling the ophthalmologist tomorrow to say I can't tolerate it. It's scaring me, quite frankly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michele S | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2019
Condition: Bacterial Inflammation of Cornea and Covering of Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used the Genteal eye lubricant before without issue, so I thought I wouldn't mind the Erythromycin ointment. Wrong. Not only is it messy and difficult to apply, it made my irritated eyes feel even worse. After using, it felt like someone put gooey sand in my eyes. It hurt and was highly irritating, and lasted for at least 5 minutes after using. I used this only twice and called the doctor to switch me to Tobramycin drops.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pink eye | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2019
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When applied, it doesn’t feel like it’s spreading in the eye like eye drops. It is messy and make the eye look like a greasy mess. It was not effective at all for me where drops usually begin working right away. My eye looks worse after using this for an entire day and my other eye is showing signs of infection now too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If there is an oral version of this, why in the world am I putting what feels like Neosporin directly into my eye? Gooey. Greasy. Blurry. Chance of contaminating the tip of the tube. It's hard to put in your second eye when your first eye is completely blurry and feels like sand. Give me drops. Give me pills. I promise I'll take them on time, for twice as long if I don't have to deal with this nonsense.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Orlando | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/14/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this ointment for a style. I have had this now for over a month. I’m using the second tube and it has done nothing. A waste of money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2018
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it's a gooey greasy mineral-oil gel just like over the counter triple-antibiotic ointment at the dollar store, except you get a lot less and it costs a lot more. I went to the doctor asking for liquid antibiotic 'drops' that would be easy to use, but she prescribed this junk instead. A new sterile tube of triple antibiotic ointment (without any anti-pain additive) is really the same as this except with a different antibiotic mix.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kbishop86 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Eye Infection in Newborn
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this after a couple scratches on my cornea and it prevented an infection along with easing my pain. It is a little awkward at first to get the gel into the eye but you get used to it quickly. My doctor advised putting the gel onto to lower part of my eye then closing my lid and rolling my eyes to distribute the gel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2017
Condition: Bacterial Infection of the Eyelid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HappyinVA | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2016
Condition: Inflammation of Eyelid Edges and the Lining of the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Six months ago, whitehead pimples developed around my left eyelid and eyelashes. Optometrist prescribed lid cleaning, 5 minute warm compress and application of drug twice a day for 2 weeks. Eyelash infection cleared up in less than a week but continued for 2 weeks as directed. A few days ago, left eye became irritated by eyelash hair in eye socket and had a reoccurrence of a pimple on left eyelash and I am now reapplying treatment which had lessen the irritation but waiting for swelling to go.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awkward to use. Goopy right after application. Exceptionally effective for me! I got it on Friday afternoon and both eyes were screaming red and super inflamed and puffy. By Sunday morning my pink eye had completely cleared up and my eyes were white again. I am still using it now (on Monday) but I'm a believer of its effectiveness!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2015
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eyes looked way better after one day of using this. Pink eye cleared up after a couple days. Its annoying to drop gel into the eyelid, but whatever, it worked!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2015
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience has been easy. My only concern is that I wasn't told how long I should use this. After 4 days it looks and feels better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor gave me this for pink eye due to allergies it made things worse my eye itched so bad I could scratch it until it bled feels like poison ivy in the eye would have liked drops or something that made me better not worse...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had pinkeye several times, and this ointment, by far, has been the worst treatment option! The thick gel makes the eyes blurry for quite some time, and produces more watering and discomfort than I've ever experienced while using drops. I hate this stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed erythromycin ointment for pink eye, after 10 days little improvement and it spread to the other eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2012
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did not help at all, the pink eye spread!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gpllml | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a corneal abrasion. I was told the medication was painful to use and was also given a prescription for percocet which I actually had to use as the pain was so great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RhondaVI | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2012
Condition: Pink Eye from Bacterial Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using this medication for pink eye for the last 24 hours, I have not seen any improvement. If anything my eyes feel more irritated than they did before I started the treatment. I had pink eye once before and was prescribed Bleph which worked really well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More