Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I have tried nearly every known drug, be it stimulant or non-stimulant to treat my AADD. Desoxyn has changed my life. It also helps tremendously with my depression. I remember things I need to do, I can focus on tasks until they are complete. I can also remain calm during "normal" stressors throughout my day, whereas before taking Desoxyn I would "flip out." I owe my life to this drug. The...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I lost my boyfriend, my friends, and my family's respect taking this medicine. It is completely addictive and only worked for my symptoms for the first couple years i took it. I've been taking it for 7 years. You can never get enough to accomplish your day...

Shared reviews and ratings

Eli James | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only complaint I have is after taking I have no appetite for up to 4 hours. My doctor said to take it with food but that makes me slightly nauseous. My hyperactivity has indeed gone down, though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mousezyla | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/10/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me, this worked better than any other ADD medication I have tried (and I have been through them all, trust me). Clarity and focus have been greatly improved; my only drawbacks are having to take 5/day and being treated like a crackhead when picking up at a local pharmacy (picture asking for meth at a pharmacy...you get the picture). As with any stimulant, it should be monitored extremely carefully by the prescribing doctor and effectiveness will depend on the individual. For me, it is great.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yo3bald | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a review I sent to my Dr after 2 months on Methamphetamine for ADD:Just FYI as a medical provider Re; Desoxyn; They have very much changed the formula from 20 years ago when I took it last. This has been confirmed by 2 of my friends who did very short stints on desoxyn too; works great for about a week THEN you cannot eat - period. it literally makes you sick to try and force feed yourself. additionally and very strange, you feel dead headed and sluggish (probably from the lack of nutrition) BUT, you absolutely cannot stop moving and doing things, cannot sit down or stop but really have no clarity (The anti ADD med?) kinda zombie like. and 3 pills can last up to18- 20 hours!!! Quite awful. My 2 friends had the same experience. I am 6 ft tall and went down to 158 lbs at one point when my healthy weight is 170 (lowest) 180 (perfect). I don't know what the draw of meth is but I thought you would like to know these things as an ANP if the subject ever came up for you especially since 3 different people had the same experience. Dangerous drug!!! Great for weight loss albeit a very dangerous way to lose weight - totally useless for ADD!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/20/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

more energy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tvsteven | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes my life so much easer. consentration is fanamanol reading is enjoyable sitting still and waiting with out getting up and down passing able to wath tv with out surfing my soicial skills are better lisen with out interruping been on it most of my life very help ful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roger | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/1/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug gave me strength and energy to clean the hole house in witch i dont have much often. Also I love going to the gym and feeling the endorphins gives me a wonderful feeling of accomplishment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rhbm | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine controls my psychosis and depression, I am pleasant, effective, sharp and engaged in ways I have never been capable of without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiger | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2013
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helped me loose weight

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mitich56 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/25/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
january | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking Vyvanse for ADD (not hyperactive) for about a month. Works very well, but I would HIGHLY suggest sticking to recommended doses, the consequenses of abuse can be quite servere.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/24/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taxing to take on regular basis, but basic focus is better. Leaves a person feeling worn out, tired, no energy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mcgaffler | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/12/2011
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kmel10 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would like to warn people not to take this drug because once you have taken it it is very hard to function the same without it please hear my advice and listen to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray4WVU | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/9/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

without this drug i have trouble keeping my thought process in order, this helps me from falling into severe depression and allows me to focous on the task at hand. I am an industry professional and many lives depend on my decisions thank GOD for desoxyn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ohliz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/10/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bringbackdesoxyngradumet | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/2/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My issues started in grade school, my reading comprehension was terrible and I could not focus on class projects for more than a few minutes without being distracted. I didn't realize there was such a disease as ADD until 10th grade when a teacher discovered that I had an issue and ADD wasn't recognized by the medical community till later in my life. I somehow managed to graduate high school despite this problem, but in 1987 I went to my family doctors and explained to him my symptoms. He started treating me with 15mg Desoxyn and it has since changed my life. I can now function normally in society, I am socially interactive and read books without comprehension problems . I was on the 15mg tablets until they discontinued them in 1999. I am now on the 5mg tablets but from experience they don't work nearly as well as the 15mg gradumet tablets. I see all the other ADD medications made in extended release forms but not Desoxyn. Why is this? I contacted Abbott the original manufacturer of Desoxyn and was told they were working on a new time release formula. This has been going on 11 years now, the medical community needs to concentrate on the good uses of the medication and not the negative ones. I've never had a bad side effect from Desoxyn in 23 years and I can trult say it has changed my life!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
2/24/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
2/18/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More